Record only selected Session tracks in Arrangement?

UHE is now closed. For Technical Support from Ableton, please go here: http://www.ableton.com/support
Locked
digid
Posts: 174
Joined: Sat Nov 28, 2009 10:29 pm

Record only selected Session tracks in Arrangement?

Post by digid » Sun Mar 11, 2012 9:52 pm

I am switching back and forth between Arrangement and Session view, and I both have some pre-arranged material in Arrangement, and some scenes ready in Session view.

However, I notice that when I record scenes into Arrangement, tracks that already exist at the point where I want to record, is erased. That's not what I want.

Is there a way to record what's happening in Session only to *selected* tracks in Arrangement? So that tracks with pre-existing material aren't erased during the recording process?
Listen to my lovely electroacoustics on Soundcloud: http://soundcloud.com/digidada

digid
Posts: 174
Joined: Sat Nov 28, 2009 10:29 pm

Re: Record only selected Session tracks in Arrangement?

Post by digid » Mon Mar 12, 2012 9:47 pm

Anyone who has any experience with this?
Listen to my lovely electroacoustics on Soundcloud: http://soundcloud.com/digidada

yur2die4
Posts: 6383
Joined: Sat Oct 03, 2009 3:02 am
Location: Menasha, Wisconsin
Contact:

Re: Record only selected Session tracks in Arrangement?

Post by yur2die4 » Tue Mar 13, 2012 12:53 am

Closest I can guess is trying record arm buttons being off on tracks you don't want recorded on, and turning overdub ON so that instead of things beig Replaced (erased), they get recorded over (that is for midi tracks mostly)

digid
Posts: 174
Joined: Sat Nov 28, 2009 10:29 pm

Re: Record only selected Session tracks in Arrangement?

Post by digid » Tue Mar 13, 2012 10:34 am

That suggestion seems to work fine when I just trigger individual tracks in the Session window, but problems arise when I use scenes in Session view.

Seems there is no way to record on just some tracks in Arrangement when using a scene from Session - this will automatically record onto ALL tracks, no matter if they are armed or not.

Strange design decision by Ableton. Guess I will just have to wait until Live 9 for a fix. Some time in 2014, then. ;)
Listen to my lovely electroacoustics on Soundcloud: http://soundcloud.com/digidada

crumhorn
Posts: 2503
Joined: Fri Sep 26, 2008 6:04 pm

Re: Record only selected Session tracks in Arrangement?

Post by crumhorn » Tue Mar 13, 2012 10:53 am

Try the "Remove Stop Button" function (on the right click context menu)

The stop button in an empty slot tells Live to stop playing clips on that track. By removing the stop button Live will carry on playing whatever clip was already playing on the track.
"The banjo is the perfect instrument for the antisocial."

(Allow me to plug my guitar scale visualiser thingy - www.fretlearner.com)

lyovino
Posts: 509
Joined: Thu May 27, 2010 3:29 am

Re: Record only selected Session tracks in Arrangement?

Post by lyovino » Wed Mar 14, 2012 3:06 am

If you have tracks in the Arrange and then record a new clip in Session, why not just click on the clip and touch the Tab key.
Now drop it onto a track in the Arrange .. there's no need to rerecord it agin if you know where you want to place it.
iMac, Intel Core i7, 2.8 GHz, 16GB
Yosemite, Live 9.xx Suite (64- bit)
Push, Apogee Ensemble

Locked