All times are UTC

 
 



Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Can't make my MIDI keyboard work with Ableton :(
PostPosted: Fri Mar 16, 2012 3:03 pm 

Joined: Wed Mar 14, 2012 3:20 pm
Posts: 3
Hey guys, i just bought the Akai MPK25 and i've been very excited to start working with it, but so far i haven't been able to make it work with Ableton at all :(. I use mac and i already had a version of Ableton suite 8 installed on it, i plug the Akai to the computer and it powers on, but when i go on Ableton preferences and to MIDI Sync, but on MIDI ports it doesn't show me anything. It doesn't seem to recognize my keyboard. The thing is i tried to install the very same keyboard on my old laptop which is a windows and it has Ableton live 8 installed on it, and it worked! Do you think it could be the version of Ableton suite that i'm using on my macbook? does the Akai only work with Ableton live? i'm so confused... i will be thankful for life if someone helps me figure this out


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Can't make my MIDI keyboard work with Ableton :(
PostPosted: Sat Mar 17, 2012 10:28 am 

Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2007 5:34 pm
Posts: 929
Location: canuhduh
You could try selecting a control surface from the drop down menu.. Then something might show up in the midi ports section.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Can't make my MIDI keyboard work with Ableton :(
PostPosted: Sat Mar 17, 2012 1:17 pm 

Joined: Fri Aug 29, 2008 5:30 pm
Posts: 679
Fire up Garageband and see if it's recognized there.

_________________
Motif XF, Evolver, Moog Voyager, Live9


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Can't make my MIDI keyboard work with Ableton :(
PostPosted: Sun Mar 18, 2012 2:04 pm 

Joined: Wed Mar 14, 2012 3:20 pm
Posts: 3
When i try to open Garageband and my MIDI is connected this message comes up: "GarageBand has detected a MIDI timeout. Please restart your computer, then relaunch GarageBand. If the problem persists, update the drivers of all connected MIDI devices (including audio drivers with MIDI functionality) to the latest version. For instructions on removing older drivers, consult the manufacturers' documentation." what is going on??? i only have this akai midi keyboard connected, and i know nothing about drivers.. please help.
How to i select a control surface from the drop down menu? I'm sorry guys, i'm new to all this so all help/explanation is much appreciated. thanks :)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Can't make my MIDI keyboard work with Ableton :(
PostPosted: Sun Mar 18, 2012 2:26 pm 

Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2007 5:34 pm
Posts: 929
Location: canuhduh
annasbraga wrote:
How to i select a control surface from the drop down menu? I'm sorry guys, i'm new to all this so all help/explanation is much appreciated. thanks :)


In all honesty.. do the included lessons, and check out the manual if you're having issues figuring out a drop down menu / selecting a control surface..
It will help lots.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC

 
 

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group