Recording green circle

UHE is now closed. For Technical Support from Ableton, please go here: http://www.ableton.com/support
Locked
boyinabox
Posts: 104
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2005 3:49 pm

Recording green circle

Post by boyinabox » Tue Aug 16, 2005 8:41 am

How do you record the greed circle in Live when i load up a vst ther is a black box and a controller with a green circle that you can drag around i was tweeking and recording but it only recorded the notes played and not the mangled mess i was making with a rapid mouse movement Sqeel Squelch!...
"If you going to shoot, shoot! dont talk" cicco - the good the bad and the ugly.

zion15
Posts: 176
Joined: Sat Jul 09, 2005 7:19 am
Contact:

Post by zion15 » Tue Aug 16, 2005 10:25 am

as far as i remember, you can't record automation to clips - you have to record it to arrange.
| http://www.lumeet.net/ | neverstoplovingmusic |

RePeter
Posts: 421
Joined: Sun Nov 28, 2004 12:42 pm

Post by RePeter » Tue Aug 16, 2005 11:17 am

the green circle... the x/y controller?

if you want to automate that you need to assign a controller to each of the parameters ( x and y), which you can find underneath the black box which contains the green circle... as far as i know you can not record the movements of it directly, but you can get the same results this other way.

Peter
MBP 2.4 & a shit load of Faderfoxes!

icedsushi
Posts: 1652
Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2005 8:36 pm

Post by icedsushi » Tue Aug 16, 2005 5:50 pm

Yes, I'm pretty sure of that too, just confirming what the others said.

Dragging your mouse doesn't create any midi information. You have to make sure there is midi information is going into the track by assigning the x & y parameters to a midi controller. Then the automation can only be recorded on the arrange page.

Locked