Noob MIDI Question about recording>>>

UHE is now closed. For Technical Support from Ableton, please go here: http://www.ableton.com/support
Jbo99

Noob MIDI Question about recording>>>

Post by Jbo99 » Sat Sep 17, 2005 10:54 pm

Ok, this will probably seem like a dumb question since im new to MIDI and recording. When I record a midi track from my yamaha keyboard, how do I get the exact same sound as I am hearing from the keyboard such as a piano, synthesizer chord etc. instead of the midi presets such as (allison, belish, vocalic etc) using Live 4.1.2??

Machinate

Post by Machinate » Sat Sep 17, 2005 11:22 pm

you need a midi track without a midi instrument on it. Set the midi out of the track to go back into the yamaha. Also, you may need to switch "local" off, if you have such a thing on your keyboard.
mbp 2.66, osx 10.6.8, 8GB ram.

Jbo99

Post by Jbo99 » Mon Sep 19, 2005 5:28 am

im not exactly sure what you mean?

i just want to import the sound from the keyboard, but it seems as if there is no way to do that.. unless i record from a mic, but then the quality is poor..

*sigh why does MIDI have to be so hard?

Winterpark

Post by Winterpark » Mon Sep 19, 2005 5:58 am

you gotta think of midi as being like the piano roll for an old pianola player piano....

it doesn't actually have any sound information... it just tells something else how to play it.

you won't need to mic the keyboard unless it doesn't have an audio output....

you will need to connect the audio output from you keyboard into your soundcard, or 'line in' of you computer.

hope that helps a bit

-m
web | fb | sc | twt | bc

James the Ant

Post by James the Ant » Mon Sep 19, 2005 7:09 am

1. Hook up your keyboard to the computer (or your soundcard)
2. Go to preferences
3. Select your MIDI device and make sure the ON button is highlighted
4. In the session view click on MIDI From, select the Yamaha
5. Then click on MIDI To, select the Yamaha
6. Done.

kinkajou