Reason Rewire Latency?

UHE is now closed. For Technical Support from Ableton, please go here: http://www.ableton.com/support
thracks

Reason Rewire Latency?

Post by thracks » Sun Mar 11, 2007 4:44 pm

Hello,

This is my first post here. I'm new to Live, coming from DP. So far I'm giddy with joy at the concept of Live. I'm loving everything about it..... except rewiring Reason.

I hooked up reason via Rewire and started using Live MIDI clips to trigger Reason. The result- horrible latency. Since I'm new here I did a search of the forum and came up with some very informative threads.......

http://www.ableton.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=25534

http://www.ableton.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=30254

This was not the answer I was hoping to find. Coming from DP, Rewire was always just slightly off. But not like this. It has rendered Reason unusable to me. Luckily I have plenty of other soft synths and samplers to keep me going, but I'd love to use Reason.

Am I missing something? Or is there a fix out there?

Thanks, and I look forward to learning more about Live here.
MacBook Pro 13" | OS 10.6.8 | DP 7.2 | Live 8.2.5 | APC 40 | NI Audio 2 DJ | Reason 5 | Record 1.5

leedsquietman

Post by leedsquietman » Sun Mar 11, 2007 5:24 pm

Reason 2.5 works great for me rewired to Live 6 on my Dell Inspiron 9100 laptop running XP sp2, 3.2 Ghz p4 processor and 1 GB ddr, 60 Gb7200 internall HDD and 300 GB 10000 rpm external USB 2.0 hdd.

Make sure your latency settings are a low as you can get, I find 128 samples acceptable. This needs to be set in Live as Reason is the slave.

Synthbuilder

Post by Synthbuilder » Sun Mar 11, 2007 8:04 pm

I have posted quite extensively on this topic over the last year or so, so I won't go into any huge detail here.

The key things to get Reason to play in sync is any one of the following:

1. Don't engage PDC in Live
2. Use Reason's own sequencer and devices to play itself.
3. Don't use any VSTi or VST in Live.