Page 1 of 1

IS THIS A GOOD MACHINE? PLEASE, ANYONE KNOWS?

Posted: Wed Apr 25, 2007 8:57 am
by myztmuzic
HI, FOLKS! THIS IS PRETTY URGENT TO ME, SINCE IT'S AN EXPENSIVE ORDER, AND I DON'T WANNA WAIST MY MONEY ON MY NEW RIG :!: SO PLEEAAASE, ANYONE WHO CAN ENSURE ME THIS IS A GOOD DEAL OR NOT? I REALLY APPRECIATE ANY COMMENTS AND/OR CORRECTIONS/IDEAS/THOUGHTS ON THIS BEFORE THE ORDER IS LOCKED..

Just ordered this yesterday, got an "open order", so I can change or cancel any item ca.1-2 days ahead. Any suggestions/thoughts about this setup? I will run Live 6.x with Operator and Sampler, Reason 3.x, Stylus RMX 1.5, UAD-1 PCI, some Native Instr. VSTi's and different VST's, as most of us got, and hopefully I don't have to buy a new interface -it depends on if it copes with Presonus Firestation on mLAN2-protocol (1394) and Yamaha mLAN Tools 1.5.5, witch is what I got in my rig for the moment -and works excellent.

This is my order:

CPU:
1.00 322635 Intel Core 2 Duo E6700 2.67GHz Socket
LGA775, 4MB, BOXED w/fan

MAINBOARD:
MSI 975X Platinum PowerUP Ed., I975X,
Socket-775, ATX, GbLAN, ViiV, PCI-Ex16

GRAPHIC:
MSI GeForce 8600GT 256MB OC GDDR3,
PCI-Express, 2xDVI-I, Tv-Out, Retail

HD:
4 items of: Western Digital Raptor X 150GB SATA
16MB 10000RPM

RAM:
Kingston DDR2 HyperX PC9600 2048MB CL5,
Kit w/two matched HyperX 1GB DDR2

TOWER:
Chieftec Mesh Medium Tower Silver
w/USB/Firewire 400W PSU ATX 2.0,24/20pin

OS:
Microsoft Windows XP Prof. X64 Eng OEM

FLOPPY/DVD:
Sony Floppydisc 3,5" 1,44MB Silver, intern

Samsung DVD-burner SH-S183A SATA Black OEM

COOLING:
Thermaltake iCage,5,25" FanCage with 120mm Fan

Noctua NF-S12-800, 120mm Fan, 800RPM,
8 dB(A)

Noctua NH-U12F, 4 Dual-Heat-Pipes, 120mm
fan,17dB(A),socket 775/754/939/940/AM2

Akasa Ultra Quiet Amber fan 92mm,
1400 RPM, 29.0 CFM, 18.0 dBA

Anybody knows about any bugs/conflicts or any else that doesn't make sense? ANY feedback/comments are very welcome! Too bad to be broke without reason :|

Cheers,
Jo

yep

Posted: Wed Apr 25, 2007 12:13 pm
by mudmaxx
looks quite good.

Posted: Wed Apr 25, 2007 12:16 pm
by Shoma
dude, thats one hell of a machine *thumbs up*

Posted: Wed Apr 25, 2007 10:01 pm
by myztmuzic
Thanx allot! I'll keep it as is, I think..

Posted: Thu Apr 26, 2007 9:47 pm
by mechcon
how much is that rig going to be? and have you compared the price of that to a mac pro? believe it or not, but the mac pro are very competitive price-wise compared to some brand-name pc towers i.e. dell or hp.


food for thought mate! :) otherwise WOW nice rig!

Posted: Fri Apr 27, 2007 10:19 am
by myztmuzic
Round about NOK 22 000,-/USD 3696,2. Pricey, but what the hell, I'm used to be broke and make music on empty stomach :wink: Most of my software works with both Mac and PC, but I think the order is closed by now anyway. Have been thinking about a Mac Pro, as u mentioned. Anyway, thanks allot for opinions and thoughts! Really appreciate it :D

Posted: Fri Apr 27, 2007 11:05 pm
by leinad
Don't get WinXP 64 now!!! you'll have a hard time with drivers and I'm not even sure if Live runs on it.

A floppy drive???? we're in '07!

The graphics card is way to expensive, one in the 7xxx range is more that sufficient, else wait and buy one later if you care about directx 10. 128mb ram is enough.

Buy 2 of those Raptors, one for you samples and one for your os/apps, then get 2 additional 500GB 7xxxRPM samsungs.
--edit-- wait, if you pan to do a RAID, then get 3 raptors, 1 for os and 2 for a raid for the samples, 1 500GB samsung. No raid needed for os/apps.
--end edit--


get 4 GB of RAM (save that geforce) you'll be able to use only 3, but if you upgrade in the future to WinXP 64 you'll have the 4GB in matched pairs.

Maybe that 400W is a bit weak, but it might do the job.

That's gonna be a nice system.

Posted: Sat Apr 28, 2007 2:09 pm
by myztmuzic
Thanx, just removed one Raptor and added one 500Gb Samsung. Doubled the RAM as well, but since I got XP on my old rig, I'll try the XP64-ed. If it sucks, I switch to XP32. Haven't heard about any issues with what I'm gonna use on my system for a long while, so I'll give it a go.

Thanx allot!

Now I wonder if the Raptor will work with the mainboard; Raptor is SATA-150 and the mainboard is SATA-300. Will there be any conflicts?

Cheers
Jo

Posted: Sat Apr 28, 2007 3:53 pm
by leinad
No, no conflicts with SATA, I use one of them as well on a SATAII board.

You really need to check if your plugins and other software runs on WinXP64, it looks like Live does, but some VST's don't.

The only benefit at this point which you're getting by using 64bit is that you'll be able to load more samples into ram, but only if the software supports it, it needs to be compiled specifically for 64bits. You are risking a lot, only for a feature which you'll probably won't. If you are really unsure, then don't buy WinXP, get a cr*cked 64bit version and test your setup for a week, if it works go and buy the 64bit version, else buy the 32bit version.