Live 3.03 sluggish

UHE is now closed. For Technical Support from Ableton, please go here: http://www.ableton.com/support
The Kooky Scientist
Posts: 117
Joined: Fri Dec 14, 2001 7:08 am
Location: Salem, MA
Contact:

Live 3.03 sluggish

Post by The Kooky Scientist » Tue Mar 30, 2004 3:52 pm

My usual performance set in Live usually has about 110 scenes of clips. I've noticed that when now opening that set in Live 3.03 that screen redraws are very sluggish. Moving faders with my remote Doepfer Pocket Fader and using Keys for audio mutes reacts slowly.

I assigned more memory to Live 3.03 than Live 3.01 and still have poor performance.

Using 4 outputs of an Emagic emi2/6 also.

This is on an Apple G4 titanium laptop, 500 mb RAM, OS 9.2.2.

Any solutions/suggestions ?
Looks like I'll still be using Live 3.01 for Live gigs.
telepathic regards,
fRED

Guest

Post by Guest » Tue Mar 30, 2004 4:05 pm

for live I'd use 3.0.2 over 3.0.1 or 3.0.3---my 2 cents

The Kooky Scientist
Posts: 117
Joined: Fri Dec 14, 2001 7:08 am
Location: Salem, MA
Contact:

Post by The Kooky Scientist » Tue Mar 30, 2004 4:10 pm

I never grabbed 3.02 If I remember correctly, most of the fixes were for Windows machines.

Is this why you prefer 3.02 Guest ?

krikor
Posts: 303
Joined: Sun Oct 05, 2003 10:42 pm
Location: paris france
Contact:

Post by krikor » Tue Mar 30, 2004 4:32 pm

i had the same problem with a session from 3.02 to 3.03 in OS9.2.2. So i sticked to 3.02 for the moment... I didn't try on panther yet...

krikor
Posts: 303
Joined: Sun Oct 05, 2003 10:42 pm
Location: paris france
Contact:

Post by krikor » Tue Mar 30, 2004 4:34 pm

But for me 3.02 was better than 3.01, some of the plugs i use didn't work in the 3.01 version...

Pitch Black
Posts: 6444
Joined: Sat Dec 21, 2002 2:18 am
Location: Auckland New Zealand
Contact:

Post by Pitch Black » Wed Mar 31, 2004 5:23 am

Hi krikor, kooky - (sorry, I don't mean to hijack your thread :oops: )

Can you tell me if you are getting another anomaly with 3.03 under OS 9.2.2?

Here's whats happening for me: As soon as I load a song in 3.03 created in an earlier version my Tibook hard drive goes into constant action, constant moving/accessing sounds (like when the 'book is booting up). These happen as soon as the song is loaded and go on for ever, before I even hit play. This happens with all songs opened in 3.03, but never in 3.02 or earlier.

At least one other tibook user can confirm this. I emailed C. Klein at Ableton but he mailed back saying could I please repeat the question - I thought it was pretty easy to understand:
3.03=constant HD activity, whether song is playing or not.
3.02=normal HD activity when song is playing.

I have re-emailed and am still waiting for a reply.

Again, sorry to hijack your thread, but if you can shed any light I'd be incredibly grateful - I don't want to work my HD into an early grave :?
BTW can't say I've noticed any GUI slowdown with 3.03 - but I haven't been using 3.03 much at all.

cheers and thanks

paddy

Tibook 500
1Gb ram
OS 9.2.2
40Gb internal IBM Travelstar 5200 rpm HD
Live 3.03
RME Cardbus/Multiface
MBP i5 2.53GHz | OSX 10.12.6 | Live10.0.4 | Fireface800 | Push 2
https://soundcloud.com/paddyfree

dm

Post by dm » Wed Mar 31, 2004 6:00 am

i agree with both kooky scientist and pitch black on these 3.0.3 issues. i use ibook 700/640ram/9.2.2 and also experience sluggish behavior and alot of hard drive overdrive. 3.0.2 has been the best version yet for me, i only upgraded as i usually like to have the most recent one, but this time ive gone back to 3.0.2 for the time being.
sorry i cant help with tchnical answers pitch black......

Pitch Black
Posts: 6444
Joined: Sat Dec 21, 2002 2:18 am
Location: Auckland New Zealand
Contact:

Post by Pitch Black » Wed Mar 31, 2004 6:05 am

thanks dm - nice to know I'm not the only one having this.
I'll be sticking to 3.02 in the meantime as well.

cheers
paddy
MBP i5 2.53GHz | OSX 10.12.6 | Live10.0.4 | Fireface800 | Push 2
https://soundcloud.com/paddyfree

Alex
Posts: 4006
Joined: Wed Apr 03, 2002 1:07 pm
Location: Ableton Headquarter

Post by Alex » Wed Mar 31, 2004 2:05 pm

Hi folks,

this is definitely an issue with Live 3.0.3 mainly on Os 9 but also on Os X. We're working on a solution for this.

Meanwhile you can also use the "Options.txt" mechanism to fix this behavior.
So place a text file called "Options.txt" into the Preferences folder:
"...\Preferences\Ableton\Live 3.0.3\Options.txt".

Add the following Line there:
"-DontLogExceptions"


sorry for the inconvience,
regards,
Alex

Alex
Posts: 4006
Joined: Wed Apr 03, 2002 1:07 pm
Location: Ableton Headquarter

Post by Alex » Mon Apr 05, 2004 4:02 pm

Hi all,

the "sluggish" behaviour should be fixed within latest Live 3.0.4.
http://www.ableton.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=7424

Sorry for the initial bug and the release of 2 updates in 2 weeks.

regards,
Alex

Beatworld
Posts: 350
Joined: Mon Jul 14, 2003 12:57 am
Location: Perth, Australia
Contact:

Post by Beatworld » Wed Apr 14, 2004 6:31 am

The suspense is killing me.

Has 3.04 fixed this issue for you guys ?

I'm the other guy in the world still using OS 9.2.2 exclusively :lol:

Pitch Black
Posts: 6444
Joined: Sat Dec 21, 2002 2:18 am
Location: Auckland New Zealand
Contact:

Post by Pitch Black » Wed Apr 14, 2004 10:23 am

Hi Beatworld,
3.04 has certainly fixed the rampant HD activity. Can't say tho if the GUI is any more or less faster...

HTH
MBP i5 2.53GHz | OSX 10.12.6 | Live10.0.4 | Fireface800 | Push 2
https://soundcloud.com/paddyfree

Beatworld
Posts: 350
Joined: Mon Jul 14, 2003 12:57 am
Location: Perth, Australia
Contact:

Post by Beatworld » Wed Apr 14, 2004 11:06 am

Thanks for that paddy


It was the rampant HD that I thought sounded nasty !!

The $64K question.....are you now using 3.04 all the time?

cheers

murray

nobbystylus
Posts: 1067
Joined: Sat Feb 21, 2004 4:32 pm
Location: london

Post by nobbystylus » Wed Apr 14, 2004 12:35 pm

To be honest i've found all the versions from version 3.0 to be Sluggish, i've had consistent drop outs, and screen redraw problems with all versions (on my powerbook G4/400 512 meg ram, 10 gig HD, 80 gig External FireWire, Mac os 10.3.3 and on my other machine, g4/867, 768meg ram, Mac os 10.3.3), the only things that have helped have been reducing track count (no more than 12), and regular system optimising (cocktail and ONYX, and DiskWarrior) despite the fact that the CPU never registers more than 40-50%. The screen redraw slowness i can cope with, but audio drop outs are not nice at all.. especially when gigging. I tried it in os 9, and it was no better. I just think Ableton need to optimize this software, for OSX, and for G4s, and for dual processor machines, and just generally need to optimize it!!!!
http://www.myspace.com/wardclerk
http://www.myspace.com/bighairufreqs
LIVE 8.21/ Reaktor 5.51/VDMX/Quartz Composer

The Kooky Scientist
Posts: 117
Joined: Fri Dec 14, 2001 7:08 am
Location: Salem, MA
Contact:

Post by The Kooky Scientist » Wed Apr 14, 2004 2:51 pm

I'm having no problems with Ableton Live 3.04 on an Apple Powerbook G4 1 ghz in OS 9 and OS X now.

Thanks for the update Ableton.

the kooky scientist

Locked