[awi] Live8 and Omnisphere

Post Reply
u4ia
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Jul 02, 2005 3:26 pm

[awi] Live8 and Omnisphere

Post by u4ia » Mon Jan 26, 2009 3:05 pm

Just wondering if anyone has had any luck getting these two to work together. I've had a couple of crashes already (which I sent to ableton) when working with the omnisphere plugin.

I can get the plugin to load and play notes, but if I save the project and reload later it crashes, or if I try to configure any automation it crashes as well.

Tarekith
Posts: 17634
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2005 11:46 pm
Location: Ableton Forum Administrator
Contact:

Post by Tarekith » Mon Jan 26, 2009 3:12 pm

Confirmed. I can load a plug in and use it fine, but as soon as I try and load a saved project, Live 8 b3 crashes.

TamGig
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Aug 26, 2003 2:01 pm
Location: Québec, Canada

Post by TamGig » Mon Jan 26, 2009 3:21 pm

The tweaking of the Part Level slider causes crashing too. But I see a different behavior between the AU and VST version.
MacBook Pro 2,6 gHz, PreSonus Firepod, Live 7 Studio, Korg Triton LE, Omnisphere, Guitar Rig 3, padKontrol, UC-33, VSTs and stuff

IP
Posts: 751
Joined: Tue Mar 04, 2008 8:55 pm
Location: Greece

Post by IP » Mon Jan 26, 2009 6:51 pm

projects with Omnisphere and other many Vst's are opening normally without problems over here

winxp pro sp3

Reinhold Z
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Oct 10, 2008 8:16 am
Location: Los Angeles
Contact:

Post by Reinhold Z » Mon Jan 26, 2009 9:45 pm

yep. it works fine in realtime, but if you try opening a project file with an instance (au), it just crashes

Mac OS X 10.5.3

Alex
Posts: 4006
Joined: Wed Apr 03, 2002 1:07 pm
Location: Ableton Headquarter

Post by Alex » Tue Jan 27, 2009 12:09 am

Please verify if that still happens with the latest beta, Live 8.0b4.
http://forum.ableton.com/viewtopic.php?t=105953

Regards,
/Alex

Reinhold Z
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Oct 10, 2008 8:16 am
Location: Los Angeles
Contact:

Post by Reinhold Z » Tue Jan 27, 2009 2:07 am

Alex wrote:Please verify if that still happens with the latest beta, Live 8.0b4.
http://forum.ableton.com/viewtopic.php?t=105953

Regards,
/Alex
yeah, it's still happening

Tarekith
Posts: 17634
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2005 11:46 pm
Location: Ableton Forum Administrator
Contact:

Post by Tarekith » Tue Jan 27, 2009 2:10 am

The set loaded fine this time, but as soon as I went to open the Omni GUI, then Live crashed.

u4ia
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Jul 02, 2005 3:26 pm

Post by u4ia » Tue Jan 27, 2009 3:15 am

Yeah I am still getting crashes trying to reopen sets that have Omnisphere or trying to do anything with the parameters. This is with the AU version.

But I did just try the VST version and that one seems to behave a little bit better. I was able to configure parameter automation and it seems to survive saving and reopening, so maybe its just the audio unit version?

hazeltine
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2005 8:16 am

Post by hazeltine » Wed Jan 28, 2009 12:27 pm

yes, crashes here as well with beta4 and updated omnisphere. can't load any projects with it.

Alex
Posts: 4006
Joined: Wed Apr 03, 2002 1:07 pm
Location: Ableton Headquarter

Post by Alex » Tue Feb 24, 2009 3:57 pm

Hi folks,

please give it another try with the latest beta, Live 8.0b13.
We fixed several plug-in related issue there.

regards,
/Alex

Tarekith
Posts: 17634
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2005 11:46 pm
Location: Ableton Forum Administrator
Contact:

Post by Tarekith » Tue Feb 24, 2009 4:48 pm

Still having some weird problems with Omni in b13, though it doesn't seem to be crashing Live. Namely after adjusting anything in the Omni GUI with the mouse, I need to click back on Live's GUI somewhere before I can play the synth. Otherwise midi notes (and qwerty keyboard) are ignored by Omni.

Alex
Posts: 4006
Joined: Wed Apr 03, 2002 1:07 pm
Location: Ableton Headquarter

Post by Alex » Tue Feb 24, 2009 5:02 pm

Hi Tarekith,

in that case, please open another thread for this one. I will close and move this one here.

Regards,
/Alex

Post Reply