All times are UTC

 
 



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Undo/Immediate rerecord
PostPosted: Fri Jan 12, 2018 11:48 pm 

Joined: Sat Jun 07, 2008 10:38 pm
Posts: 77
Location: Sydney, Australia
Hi All
I asked for this a long time ago...hmm 10 years or so I think...and sure it must be a commonly asked request
Can there be an Undo command that waits for the next quantisation start before deleting and immediately start recording a new clip on the next cycle? Maybe call it 'Retake'?
Everyone else may not need it but often during a loop take, if Im not happy with the current take, I would like to keep playing so the next take seamlessly picks ups and there is no interruption to the flow and replaces the currently recording one but only at the next cycle.
PLEASE PLEASE make it part of the M4L api.

Ideas?

Cheers
Mark


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Undo/Immediate rerecord
PostPosted: Sun Jan 14, 2018 7:07 am 

Joined: Sat Jan 08, 2011 9:53 pm
Posts: 319
IMage_Engine wrote:
Hi All
I asked for this a long time ago...hmm 10 years or so I think...and sure it must be a commonly asked request
Can there be an Undo command that waits for the next quantisation start before deleting and immediately start recording a new clip on the next cycle? Maybe call it 'Retake'?
Everyone else may not need it but often during a loop take, if Im not happy with the current take, I would like to keep playing so the next take seamlessly picks ups and there is no interruption to the flow and replaces the currently recording one but only at the next cycle.
PLEASE PLEASE make it part of the M4L api.

Ideas?


Why does this have to be a part of the Max For Live API specifically? At first read it would appear to concern audio or MIDI recording to clips and if so wouldn't appear to involve Max For Live. Maybe I'm missing something.

At least when overdubbing in a loop my experience is that this works with MIDI tracks. Did your request concern audio recordings?

_________________
Basic gear info: Macbook Pro with macOS 10.12, Ableton Live Suite version 9 (64bit) with Ozone, Push and APC20 as controllers.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Undo/Immediate rerecord
PostPosted: Sun Jan 14, 2018 7:52 am 

Joined: Sat Jun 07, 2008 10:38 pm
Posts: 77
Location: Sydney, Australia
Audio and midi..not specifically for M4L...what I'm thinking is as realtime process. It's a feature request...api only reflects the core system. I guess the question is...could that type of function be cobbled out if current api features or is it so intrinsic ie such a natural part of a live looping process that it deserves core functionality..seems like a strong candidate for feature request.
Cheers


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Undo/Immediate rerecord
PostPosted: Sun Jan 28, 2018 9:52 am 

Joined: Sat Jun 07, 2008 10:38 pm
Posts: 77
Location: Sydney, Australia
Dont worry about it Ableton. Trivial to do with M4L...but once you use it...you realise non M4L users would really benefit.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Undo/Immediate rerecord
PostPosted: Mon Jan 29, 2018 12:24 pm 

Joined: Sat Jan 08, 2011 9:53 pm
Posts: 319
IMage_Engine wrote:
It's a feature request...api only reflects the core system. I guess the question is...could that type of function be cobbled out if current api features or is it so intrinsic ie such a natural part of a live looping process that it deserves core functionality..


I think it should be a core feature. I'm not fully understanding your suggestion, but it sounds interesting.

_________________
Basic gear info: Macbook Pro with macOS 10.12, Ableton Live Suite version 9 (64bit) with Ozone, Push and APC20 as controllers.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Undo/Immediate rerecord
PostPosted: Mon Jan 29, 2018 9:02 pm 

Joined: Sat Jun 07, 2008 10:38 pm
Posts: 77
Location: Sydney, Australia
mikb wrote:
IMage_Engine wrote:
It's a feature request...api only reflects the core system. I guess the question is...could that type of function be cobbled out if current api features or is it so intrinsic ie such a natural part of a live looping process that it deserves core functionality..


I think it should be a core feature. I'm not fully understanding your suggestion, but it sounds interesting.


To put it another way...you are in the middle of a loop take and realise there's a fault with the take...so rather than wait...you execute the retake, which deletes the clip on the fly and starts recording at the next cycle...to the obserer...play is uninterrupted and it's only 1 click so it's much less distracting. No one knows any different
Hope that makes more sense


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC

 
 

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group