Pause Button

Share your wishes for the future of Ableton Live
Tarekith
Posts: 17847
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2005 11:46 pm
Location: Ableton Forum Administrator
Contact:

Re: Pause Button

Post by Tarekith » Tue Jan 23, 2018 6:56 am

No. It would be at least $11 to fix that.

Sadly, the Live 8 beta is over so you missed your chance. Feel free to submit a suggestion on the Live 10 centercode site or the feature wishlist forum though.
Tarekith
Ableton Forum Administrator
Inner Portal Studio - Professional Audio Mastering

IBSmart
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Feb 12, 2020 9:03 pm

Re: Pause Button

Post by IBSmart » Wed Feb 12, 2020 9:05 pm

None of the suggestions on this forum seem to work with Live 10 Standard. They all result in either of two things: Either the recording automatically goes back to the beginning with the user recording over what was just recorded or else there is a requirement to create some silent or dead space before recording again. Is there a way to pause, just like in a simple recording, and then start recording again EXACTLY where you left off?

[jur]
Site Admin
Posts: 2884
Joined: Mon Jun 01, 2015 3:04 pm
Location: Ableton

Re: Pause Button

Post by [jur] » Thu Feb 13, 2020 7:06 pm

Arm the record button (make sure in your Preferences that you’re not starting playback when pressing record), hold Shift and press your space bar...
Ableton Forum Moderator

WilmarBoer
Posts: 43
Joined: Mon Jan 13, 2020 11:10 pm
Contact:

Re: Pause Button

Post by WilmarBoer » Fri Feb 14, 2020 11:32 am

The possibility to switch the shift-spacebar vs spacebar behaviour in the preferences would do it for me. I would like to have the current shift-spacebar as spacebar and vice versa. Or to have a general preferences setting to set spacebar behaviour.

jonljacobi
Posts: 660
Joined: Sat Dec 30, 2017 3:36 am

Re: Pause Button

Post by jonljacobi » Fri Feb 14, 2020 9:43 pm

You could use keymapping software.

DWDWDW
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Jul 18, 2020 9:23 pm

Re: Pause Button

Post by DWDWDW » Sat Jul 18, 2020 9:41 pm

I'm also looking for a way to do this with the simple press of a reassigned sustain foot pedal. Press and hold to pause, try out different notes for the next move then let up to resume recording. This way I can keep my creative process linear and I don't have to disrupt my mind / hands off the moment to do something with the computer. Thanks.

wayouthere
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Nov 12, 2020 12:19 am

Re: Pause Button

Post by wayouthere » Sat Nov 14, 2020 8:01 am

Yep, 17 years later, still no pause button! Dear Ableton, what users really want is a pause button they can map MIDI to. Very ridiculously simple request. Ableton Live 11 is set to release soon, here's your chance! Go big, be bold, add a freggin PAUSE BUTTON!!

MallorcaMalle
Posts: 25
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2020 10:35 am

Re: Pause Button

Post by MallorcaMalle » Sat Nov 14, 2020 8:02 pm

In "Cub.." pausing is default when pressing stop but there is a checkbox in the preferences: "Jump to playback start position at stopp" so you can set it the way you need it. This way you can continue to use SPACE on keyboard or STOP button on midi hardware and it either pauses or goes back to last start position...

ldecola
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Jan 09, 2021 2:14 am
Contact:

Re: Pause Button

Post by ldecola » Sat Feb 27, 2021 11:55 pm

Looks to this newbie that there's no convenient way to PAUSE - maybe I can map a key on my MPK 249 to do that...
Lee De Cola
ldecola.net

Valkon
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Apr 22, 2018 6:07 pm

Re: Pause Button

Post by Valkon » Mon Apr 26, 2021 9:46 am

It looks like the creation of the "Pause" button in Live is impossible, in principle?!

jonljacobi
Posts: 660
Joined: Sat Dec 30, 2017 3:36 am

Re: Pause Button

Post by jonljacobi » Mon Apr 26, 2021 6:13 pm

The stop button pulls double-duty, in effect it is a pause button. You just press play again to continue, or hold shift while you hit the spacebar.

Valkon
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Apr 22, 2018 6:07 pm

Re: Pause Button

Post by Valkon » Sun May 16, 2021 9:07 pm

Try it yourself to implement this "double-duty" from the controller (if Live positions itself as a DAW for live performances?!) ...

MallorcaMalle
Posts: 25
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2020 10:35 am

Re: Pause Button

Post by MallorcaMalle » Mon May 17, 2021 6:56 am

shift+space

Valkon
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Apr 22, 2018 6:07 pm

Re: Pause Button

Post by Valkon » Thu Jun 10, 2021 6:41 pm

MallorcaMalle wrote:
Mon May 17, 2021 6:56 am
shift+space
We are talking about ONE button (which can be assigned to a controller control through MIDI mapping).

Dallon426
Posts: 91
Joined: Tue Jul 03, 2018 2:08 pm

Re: Pause Button

Post by Dallon426 » Sat Jun 12, 2021 6:09 am

Not just pause but full transport controls. Jesus

Post Reply