Fold My Scale

Share your wishes for the future of Ableton Live
Post Reply
ze2be
Posts: 3483
Joined: Mon Apr 12, 2004 2:17 am
Location: Europe

Fold My Scale

Post by ze2be » Tue Nov 10, 2020 7:21 pm

I have no idea what scale I just made, but I like it and I want to fold it with all the octaves available.


In fact I never start with a locked scale, I jam and play around until I find something I like. Like probably most people do.


For example it could be incorporated in the gui with first hitting the fold button, then the scale button, (now both are active) while having no scales selected in the scale menu. Aka «Fold My Scale»


(Post written during Live 11 beta)

jonljacobi
Posts: 729
Joined: Sat Dec 30, 2017 3:36 am

Re: Fold My Scale

Post by jonljacobi » Tue Nov 10, 2020 8:51 pm

You can do this now, albeit not dead easily. See my post on constraining with Drum Racks.

ze2be
Posts: 3483
Joined: Mon Apr 12, 2004 2:17 am
Location: Europe

Re: Fold My Scale

Post by ze2be » Tue Nov 10, 2020 10:18 pm

jonljacobi wrote:
Tue Nov 10, 2020 8:51 pm
You can do this now, albeit not dead easily. See my post on constraining with Drum Racks.
Thanks. Its cool, but to much work around for me. Especially when jamming out musical ideas it must go at once, or I loose my flow.

Prefer to be able to fold and de-fold on the fly, like current fold but with full octaves, aka "Fold My Scale".

jonljacobi
Posts: 729
Joined: Sat Dec 30, 2017 3:36 am

Re: Fold My Scale

Post by jonljacobi » Tue Nov 10, 2020 11:36 pm

Understandable. Who knows? Seems like a performance-oriented feature. Maybe in 10.2. If you've already got notes, drag them to the left beyond the beginning of the clip, then hit the fold button. Only works for one clip though.

ze2be
Posts: 3483
Joined: Mon Apr 12, 2004 2:17 am
Location: Europe

Re: Fold My Scale

Post by ze2be » Tue Nov 10, 2020 11:41 pm

jonljacobi wrote:
Tue Nov 10, 2020 11:36 pm
Understandable. Who knows? Seems like a performance-oriented feature. Maybe in 10.2. If you've already got notes, drag them to the left beyond the beginning of the clip, then hit the fold button. Only works for one clip though.
Yes, something like that could work. Or even better: Fold a clip like normal, but let us see all the octaves too! aka "Fold My Scale".

jonljacobi
Posts: 729
Joined: Sat Dec 30, 2017 3:36 am

Re: Fold My Scale

Post by jonljacobi » Wed Nov 11, 2020 12:18 am

Hah. They just added it to 11. LOL.

ze2be
Posts: 3483
Joined: Mon Apr 12, 2004 2:17 am
Location: Europe

Re: Fold My Scale

Post by ze2be » Wed Nov 11, 2020 12:20 am

jonljacobi wrote:
Wed Nov 11, 2020 12:18 am
Hah. They just added it to 11. LOL.
Where did you read that? :)

jonljacobi
Posts: 729
Joined: Sat Dec 30, 2017 3:36 am

Re: Fold My Scale

Post by jonljacobi » Fri Nov 13, 2020 6:35 pm

I'm sure you've found the info by now. Congrats!

ze2be
Posts: 3483
Joined: Mon Apr 12, 2004 2:17 am
Location: Europe

Re: Fold My Scale

Post by ze2be » Sun Nov 21, 2021 3:11 pm

I have set of this sunday to learn all the new futures of Live 11.

I can still not get it to fold my own scales.. Been through the tutorials, and the manual.

Does not seem possible. I don't think it is possible.

jonljacobi
Posts: 729
Joined: Sat Dec 30, 2017 3:36 am

Re: Fold My Scale

Post by jonljacobi » Wed Nov 24, 2021 10:00 pm

I was wrong, you can only fold they're own scales. But if you just created a scale, you can just use the plain fold. To keep it, drag the notes off the grid to the left, then fold, then save the clip and use it as a template.

ze2be
Posts: 3483
Joined: Mon Apr 12, 2004 2:17 am
Location: Europe

Re: Fold My Scale

Post by ze2be » Wed Nov 24, 2021 10:35 pm

..and actually one of the ableton guys tipped me that you can shift up arrow a norrmaly folded scale, and as such increase the octave range of the fold.

So that sort of works.. :)

jonljacobi
Posts: 729
Joined: Sat Dec 30, 2017 3:36 am

Re: Fold My Scale

Post by jonljacobi » Sat Nov 27, 2021 6:24 pm

Nice.

Post Reply