multiple midi editing and inline editing

Share your wishes for the future of Ableton Live
Rold
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2011 6:10 pm

Re: multiple midi editing and inline editing

Post by Rold » Fri Apr 22, 2016 8:24 pm

S4racen wrote:I'll just put this here for now... Forthcoming from Chaos Culture @ Isotonik Studios....

Image

Cheers
D
Holy shit that looks awesome!!! Can't wait.

Stromkraft
Posts: 7033
Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2014 11:34 am

Re: multiple midi editing and inline editing

Post by Stromkraft » Fri Apr 22, 2016 10:54 pm

Great S4racen but we need this natively too.
Make some music!

InLight-Tone
Posts: 67
Joined: Tue Dec 31, 2013 11:55 pm

Re: multiple midi editing and inline editing

Post by InLight-Tone » Sun Apr 24, 2016 3:56 pm

+11111111111111111111111111111

for multi part midi editing already, jeesh (and a proper mixer as well ;)

Idonotlikebroccoli
Posts: 1203
Joined: Thu Aug 11, 2005 12:29 pm
Location: Norway

Re: multiple midi editing and inline editing

Post by Idonotlikebroccoli » Sat May 21, 2016 9:28 am

Idonotlikebroccoli wrote:
Idonotlikebroccoli wrote:Gah. I'm working on some music, and realised I need to transpose one of the songs. Would have taken me literally one second with layered MIDI editing, but in Live, I need to enter every individual clip.
Same situation now.

Sophisticated Audio to MIDI functionality? You got it! Transposing MIDI clips? Sorry, mate.
+1 in 2016. I'm tired of jumping between clips.

Also, as the topic title suggests, inline editing in arrangement view would be very useful.
Please vote! Live 10's "multi" clip editing should allow selection+editing of multiple clips in one action:

(L10-SUG-0228) Multiple MIDI transpose

viewtopic.php?f=3&t=228094

S4racen
Posts: 5377
Joined: Fri Aug 24, 2007 4:08 pm
Location: Dunstable
Contact:

Re: multiple midi editing and inline editing

Post by S4racen » Sun May 22, 2016 3:22 pm

I'm not down voting this to be native in the slightest, i think it's essential....

Here's a solution in the meantime....

https://vimeo.com/167623116

http://isotonikstudios.com/chaos-cultur ... ip-editor/

Cheers
D

Idonotlikebroccoli
Posts: 1203
Joined: Thu Aug 11, 2005 12:29 pm
Location: Norway

Re: multiple midi editing and inline editing

Post by Idonotlikebroccoli » Mon May 23, 2016 2:47 pm

^ Fantastic! You're a lifesaver! I needed to transpose a whole section of a large project I'm working on. Before you posted, I was ready to enter clips, ctrl+a, hit down arrow, repeat a hundred times, and cry.

I sent you a mail with some improvement suggestions, but this is definitely worth the money. It just feels so right to edit several clips like this!
Please vote! Live 10's "multi" clip editing should allow selection+editing of multiple clips in one action:

(L10-SUG-0228) Multiple MIDI transpose

viewtopic.php?f=3&t=228094

djredwood
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Feb 16, 2011 1:08 pm

Re: multiple midi editing and inline editing

Post by djredwood » Mon May 23, 2016 10:31 pm

Agreed

Mikkel
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Aug 22, 2009 7:28 pm

Re: multiple midi editing and inline editing

Post by Mikkel » Sat May 28, 2016 9:31 am

Thanks so much for the Chaos Culture - MultiClip Editor. I just bought it even though it should be a feature in Live.

It makes midi composing incredibly more intuitive. I have been looking for this feature for some time and it boggles my mind this isn't just available in Ableton Live. This is a feature in FL Studio (ghost channels) and is immensely powerful when composing in midi.

Please Ableton, just make this feature already. There are so many users - myself included - in this thread requesting it.

S4racen
Posts: 5377
Joined: Fri Aug 24, 2007 4:08 pm
Location: Dunstable
Contact:

Re: multiple midi editing and inline editing

Post by S4racen » Sat May 28, 2016 9:57 am

Mikkel wrote:Thanks so much for the Chaos Culture - MultiClip Editor. I just bought it even though it should be a feature in Live.

It makes midi composing incredibly more intuitive. I have been looking for this feature for some time and it boggles my mind this isn't just available in Ableton Live. This is a feature in FL Studio (ghost channels) and is immensely powerful when composing in midi.
I'm not even that quick using it and it saves so much time!

Cheers
D

sporkles
Posts: 3192
Joined: Sun Feb 18, 2007 8:43 pm
Location: Schmocation

Re: multiple midi editing and inline editing

Post by sporkles » Sun May 29, 2016 3:49 pm

Good job you got this out in time before Live 10, where it still won't be implemented. :x

I think I'll have to try this out when I get some studio time eventually - it looks great!

amg56
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Feb 21, 2016 2:17 am

Re: multiple midi editing and inline editing

Post by amg56 » Sun Jun 05, 2016 1:32 am

+1. I switch on Cubase just because it's so much quicker for harmonic development. Wish the basics like multiple superimposed midi track view were available.

moe
Posts: 25
Joined: Sat Dec 09, 2006 3:09 pm

Re: multiple midi editing and inline editing

Post by moe » Mon Jun 06, 2016 7:56 pm

if Live 10 doesn´t include this I´m forced to go to another daw. I feel like I´m creatively stuck without that feature.
Mac Pro 3.1
UAD Apollo

nicogrubert
Posts: 152
Joined: Sat Jan 20, 2007 7:02 pm
Location: Zurich, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: multiple midi editing and inline editing

Post by nicogrubert » Thu Jun 09, 2016 7:52 am

moe wrote:if Live 10 doesn´t include this I´m forced to go to another daw. I feel like I´m creatively stuck without that feature.
+1
It's really frustrating not seeing all notes from other midi clips in just one view.

crackinkid
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2016 12:17 pm

Re: multiple midi editing and inline editing

Post by crackinkid » Sat Jun 18, 2016 12:29 pm

+1

The First Post is from 2009! Ableton is almost getting to version 10 and yet there's still no multiple midi editing... wtf? how is this even possible?! Almost every other daw can do this, Ableton seems to give a rats ass about our wishes...

This shouldn't be a feature we have to buy additonally!

Toryn
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Jul 08, 2015 4:45 pm

Re: multiple midi editing and inline editing

Post by Toryn » Wed Jun 22, 2016 3:04 pm

+1,000 to everyone else's request here. It is getting shameful that Ableton does not yet have this feature. You are essentially thumbing your nose at any of your users (like me) who work in film, TV, video game, or orchestral composition.

If there is some little-known technical reason why Ableton cannot implement this, please at least tell us so we can make informed decisions about whether to stick with Ableton as our DAW.

If there are no technical hurdles, then for sweet Jesus please get this done already. I will give Ableton until version 10 to implement this (flawlessly), or else after 4+ years of pure Ableton love, I will switch over to Cubase, which makes all of this oh so easy.

Post Reply