freezing tracks with sc comp

Share your wishes for the future of Ableton Live
Post Reply
spacecat
Posts: 210
Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2007 8:30 pm

freezing tracks with sc comp

Post by spacecat » Mon Feb 02, 2009 11:42 am

hi all=)

as the title says: i want to be able to freeze tracks with sc..

greets =))

Amaury
Posts: 5884
Joined: Mon Mar 20, 2006 6:59 pm
Location: Ableton Headquarters
Contact:

Post by Amaury » Mon Feb 02, 2009 11:53 am

Hi,

Let's think about it: in session view, you have a track sending dignal to the side-chain. Which clip from that track should be chosen while freezing the track holding the side-chain device?

We may need a compromise there (i.e. scene-per-scene), but I'm interested in hearing your opinion.

Regards,
Amaury
Ableton Product Team

GilJ
Posts: 20
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 9:40 am

Post by GilJ » Tue Feb 03, 2009 9:11 am

Hi,

I think it's a good idea to go on a scene-per-scene basis, while freezing a track with a sidechained effect.

Cheers.

madlab
Posts: 1382
Joined: Fri May 02, 2003 6:38 am
Location: France

Post by madlab » Tue Feb 03, 2009 10:45 am

amaury, this seems to be a practical way to think it.
Aboard from V. 1
MBP 2.5 Ghz I7 16 Go SSD OSX 10.12
MBP 2.3 ghz I7 16 Go SSD + HD 10.8.5 iPad2+Mira+Lemur/PadKontrol/BCR2000/ Livid Code+DS1
RME FF UC Live 9.7.7 MFL Max 8 + Max 7.3.5
Madlab sound unit / objects, guitar, electronics / end_of_transmission

spacecat
Posts: 210
Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2007 8:30 pm

Post by spacecat » Tue Feb 10, 2009 12:22 pm

hi gang=)

thx for your replies=)

i was thinking in terms of simply capturing the output of that given channel and freeze it- on the fly;) - if i make another audio track and route the audio from the sidechained track into it , it also records fine... (this is in arrangement view)

how would a scene per scene basis best be described?

greets, thx n merry music making;)

jlgrimes
Posts: 1533
Joined: Mon Jan 22, 2007 1:55 am
Location: Atlanta, Ga

Post by jlgrimes » Wed Feb 18, 2009 5:41 pm

Amaury wrote:Hi,

Let's think about it: in session view, you have a track sending dignal to the side-chain. Which clip from that track should be chosen while freezing the track holding the side-chain device?

We may need a compromise there (i.e. scene-per-scene), but I'm interested in hearing your opinion.

Regards,
Amaury
I would be happy if both tracks are frozen even.

Amaury
Posts: 5884
Joined: Mon Mar 20, 2006 6:59 pm
Location: Ableton Headquarters
Contact:

Post by Amaury » Wed Feb 18, 2009 5:50 pm

jlgrimes wrote:
Amaury wrote:Hi,

Let's think about it: in session view, you have a track sending dignal to the side-chain. Which clip from that track should be chosen while freezing the track holding the side-chain device?

We may need a compromise there (i.e. scene-per-scene), but I'm interested in hearing your opinion.

Regards,
Amaury
I would be happy if both tracks are frozen even.
That's not really the problem: the problem is, for the track receiving the side-chain, you've got to decide where the signal (which clip) comes from. Easy in Arranger, subject to trouble in Session view.

Regards,
Amaury
Ableton Product Team

sanosdole
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu Feb 18, 2010 10:37 am

Re: freezing tracks with sc comp

Post by sanosdole » Fri May 13, 2011 7:56 pm

What about tracks that don´t have clips in the session view?

I do not require freezing for the session view, I need it for mixing complex projects...

dna598
Posts: 858
Joined: Tue Sep 23, 2008 3:42 am

Re: freezing tracks with sc comp

Post by dna598 » Tue May 24, 2011 8:44 pm

Amaury wrote:
That's not really the problem: the problem is, for the track receiving the side-chain, you've got to decide where the signal (which clip) comes from. Easy in Arranger, subject to trouble in Session view.



Regards,

Amaury
Hey Amaury,

don't you think having it in arrange view is better than nothing?

As the previous user stated, freezing comes in particularly useful on big cpu sucking arrangements.
ctrl + left/right = select transient

ctrl + shift + left/right = select between transients

ctrl + space = play selection

miro
Posts: 33
Joined: Thu Jul 16, 2009 8:15 am

Re: freezing tracks with sc comp

Post by miro » Wed May 25, 2011 9:46 am

talking about freezing: I'd LOVE to have the option of freeze - "flatten to a new channel" option, instead of "overwriting"
the existing channel..

Post Reply