Drum Racks Utilizing Warp/Time Stretch

Share your wishes for the future of Ableton Live
TYLRbass
Posts: 277
Joined: Tue Aug 30, 2011 8:51 pm

Re: Drum Racks Utilizing Warp/Time Stretch

Post by TYLRbass » Tue Jul 30, 2013 2:21 pm

setzer_ wrote:
TYLRbass wrote:I remember the covert operators coming up with some kind of solution for this, couldn't find the blog post
its probably an extreme hack job way around it but I'd love to see it anyways,

BUMP
I'm having the hardest time tracking it down.. I'm pretty sure it was the covert operators but I'm not certain.. Tried just about every combination of keywords I could think of and still no luck.

"If you set the sample length in simpler to the minimum, switch on loop and automate the sample start time to go from 0 to 100% over say a bar (assuming your sample is one bar long) then you'll get a kind of granular timestretch.

In a drumrack you'll probably want to assign Sample Start for each of your samples to a macro knob and automate that."

Found that chunk of info in this thread - viewtopic.php?f=1&t=128016

Sounds very similar to the hack that I was thinking of but there was a video so you may be able to track it down if you look hard enough..
Image

JuSchu
Posts: 122
Joined: Sat Mar 08, 2008 5:12 pm
Location: Wuppertal (Germany)

Re: Drum Racks Utilizing Warp/Time Stretch

Post by JuSchu » Wed Jul 31, 2013 1:58 am

+1

This missing feature was really a step backward with the introduction of the drum rack.
The Impulse drum sampler has the timestrech/pitchshift feature but simpler/sampler not.
And this while timestreching is one of Livs main features.

TYLRbass
Posts: 277
Joined: Tue Aug 30, 2011 8:51 pm

Re: Drum Racks Utilizing Warp/Time Stretch

Post by TYLRbass » Thu Aug 01, 2013 2:08 pm

JuSchu wrote:+1

This missing feature was really a step backward with the introduction of the drum rack.
The Impulse drum sampler has the timestrech/pitchshift feature but simpler/sampler not.
And this while timestreching is one of Livs main features.
Impulse has time-stretch but it still didn't quite work for loading a loop into a drum rack cell, which is what I am personally after..
Image

makeem
Posts: 40
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2005 10:43 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Drum Racks Utilizing Warp/Time Stretch

Post by makeem » Wed Aug 14, 2013 11:01 am

+1


Aaron B
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue May 07, 2013 5:29 pm

Re: Drum Racks Utilizing Warp/Time Stretch

Post by Aaron B » Thu Sep 05, 2013 5:34 pm

+1 :)

X-ACTO
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Sep 06, 2013 7:43 pm

Re: Drum Racks Utilizing Warp/Time Stretch

Post by X-ACTO » Fri Sep 06, 2013 7:46 pm

+1

This is really annoying.

marra
Posts: 291
Joined: Sat Jul 31, 2010 7:08 pm

Re: Drum Racks Utilizing Warp/Time Stretch

Post by marra » Sat Sep 07, 2013 4:07 pm

keep requesting folks!

setzer_
Posts: 32
Joined: Wed Jul 22, 2009 9:12 am
Contact:

Re: Drum Racks Utilizing Warp/Time Stretch

Post by setzer_ » Wed Nov 13, 2013 3:49 am

BUMP. I'm never going to give up. Ever.

D'Jango
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Jan 02, 2014 12:21 am

Re: Drum Racks Utilizing Warp/Time Stretch

Post by D'Jango » Tue Jan 07, 2014 11:21 pm

BUMP!

Come on Ableton this should be easy to integrate, its almost pointless to have awesome warping features but the drum racks can't take advantage of it, syncing tempo to sliced samples should have been a no-brainer...For my workflow this has been a crucial gripe of mine with Live.

jbodango
Posts: 521
Joined: Tue Oct 05, 2004 11:25 pm
Contact:

Re: Drum Racks Utilizing Warp/Time Stretch

Post by jbodango » Tue Jan 07, 2014 11:38 pm

Why not run a Consolidate command on your warps prior to import? I do it all the time. Works like a champ.

setzer_
Posts: 32
Joined: Wed Jul 22, 2009 9:12 am
Contact:

Re: Drum Racks Utilizing Warp/Time Stretch

Post by setzer_ » Thu Jan 23, 2014 3:05 am

BUMP!
jbodango wrote:Why not run a Consolidate command on your warps prior to import? I do it all the time. Works like a champ.
And if you decide to change the tempo ? all is lost..
And if you decide to edit the stretching of one of your sample slices after laying out midi data ? you have to backtrack heavily and re-consolidate.

Both very hackjob methods to something that can be implemented by ableton rather easily....

jbodango
Posts: 521
Joined: Tue Oct 05, 2004 11:25 pm
Contact:

Re: Drum Racks Utilizing Warp/Time Stretch

Post by jbodango » Thu Jan 23, 2014 5:08 am

Fair enough, I have a tendency to repeat my efforts.
Typically the next round yields better results.

majestics
Posts: 18
Joined: Sun Mar 15, 2009 11:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Drum Racks Utilizing Warp/Time Stretch

Post by majestics » Sat Feb 08, 2014 1:22 pm

So, seeing as Ableton have no intent on adding this feature does anyone know what other DAW/software has this function?

davidb63
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2013 5:33 pm

Re: Drum Racks Utilizing Warp/Time Stretch

Post by davidb63 » Sat Feb 08, 2014 4:16 pm

Why is ableton ignoring this feature request?

Post Reply