not showing the track the track that is playing

Share your wishes for the future of Ableton Live
Post Reply
dj_huck
Posts: 261
Joined: Wed Jul 13, 2005 1:19 pm

not showing the track the track that is playing

Post by dj_huck » Sun Jul 05, 2009 4:55 am

when using the apc40 to look at track ableton only shows the track in the scene of the last track that was played. not always the track that is playing. if i play a track in column 1 scene one then play a track in column 2 scene 2 it will only show the track for the columns that are in that scene 2. hence if i hit track selection button 1 now it will show the track in scene 2 not in scene 1, even tho scene 1 is the track that is playing in column 1.

MrH
Posts: 79
Joined: Tue Mar 31, 2009 8:33 am

Re: not showing the track the track that is playing

Post by MrH » Sun Jul 05, 2009 12:41 pm

I would love this to be resolved too.

I think showing the details of the clip playing in the selected track would be a great help. Particularly for DJing.

Even if it was just a option.
Live 8 I 13" Macbook Aluminium I Akai APC 40 I Korg PadKontrol

www.ozgoode.com
www.twitter.com/ozgoode

dj_huck
Posts: 261
Joined: Wed Jul 13, 2005 1:19 pm

Re: not showing the track the track that is playing

Post by dj_huck » Sun Jul 05, 2009 2:06 pm

i do not think it should even be an option. it should just be the way it works.who needs to see the waveform of an arbitrary track that is not even playing ?

Amaury
Posts: 5884
Joined: Mon Mar 20, 2006 6:59 pm
Location: Ableton Headquarters
Contact:

Re: [amo] not showing the track the track that is playing

Post by Amaury » Tue Jul 14, 2009 2:04 pm

Hi,

There is a missing functionality with the APC, which is "show me the currently playing clip on that track". If we were using the "clip/track" button for that, the scene focus would also have to jump, when pressing the button. Because displaying a clip also means selecting it which in turn means highlighting the scene where it sits. May not be very desirable, at least not always.

Anyway, that is not a Live 8 bug and I'll move the thread in the Feature wishlist forum, so that it doesn't get lost, and can be discussed.

Regards,
Amaury
Ableton Product Team

Post Reply