All times are UTC

 
 



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 34 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: Retrospective record
PostPosted: Sun Aug 09, 2009 7:54 pm 

Joined: Sat Dec 16, 2006 3:02 pm
Posts: 274
Location: The Studio
Ya but its sods law that I play the best stuff whilst in the sound design stage usually because I'm not pressuring myself to play well. I will try allways having record enabled but I'm guessing it wont be that practical.

_________________
Synth Editors and Patches


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Retrospective record
PostPosted: Sun Aug 09, 2009 8:53 pm 

Joined: Wed Dec 31, 2008 8:40 am
Posts: 2230
maybe run a master mixdown to some other type of recording device.. You just want to be able to record it, hear it, and then replay it or do you guys actually want that recorded clip EXACTLY how it was when you forgot to press Record? You could just run your master outputs to a tape recorder or something like that so that you can always go back and listen and then try and replay what you did..


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Retrospective record
PostPosted: Mon Aug 10, 2009 10:49 am 

Joined: Tue Sep 23, 2008 3:42 am
Posts: 746
outershpongolia wrote:
maybe run a master mixdown to some other type of recording device.. You just want to be able to record it, hear it, and then replay it or do you guys actually want that recorded clip EXACTLY how it was when you forgot to press Record? You could just run your master outputs to a tape recorder or something like that so that you can always go back and listen and then try and replay what you did..


absolutely not :roll:

emef wrote:
not rocket science is it?


no mate, this feature request is not rocket science.

8O

_________________
ctrl + left/right = select transient

ctrl + shift + left/right = select between transients

ctrl + space = play selection


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Retrospective record
PostPosted: Mon Aug 10, 2009 2:15 pm 

Joined: Sat Jul 13, 2002 5:08 pm
Posts: 333
Location: blackpool
haha


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Retrospective record
PostPosted: Mon Aug 10, 2009 2:39 pm 

Joined: Wed Dec 31, 2008 8:40 am
Posts: 2230
The smilies add a little more dickhead to the response :evil:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Retrospective record
PostPosted: Sat Aug 15, 2009 3:17 am 

Joined: Tue Apr 07, 2009 4:00 am
Posts: 37
Location: Montreal
+1 for this, but only if it's enabled for audio too. MIDI alone isn't worth it (for me), it can be done real easy with a simple max patch.

hmm, i might patch that for you guys one of these days.. :lol:

_________________
Gear i use: a computer with software on it and a couple of boxes with knobs.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Retrospective record
PostPosted: Wed Sep 16, 2009 11:27 am 

Joined: Tue Sep 23, 2008 3:42 am
Posts: 746
Bump

used retrospective record to capture all the BEST BITS .
all of this IN LOGIC, which is bit of a shame seeing as ableton cannot do it.

Another reason for logic users that i work with NOT to jump ship. damn!

_________________
ctrl + left/right = select transient

ctrl + shift + left/right = select between transients

ctrl + space = play selection


Last edited by dna598 on Thu Sep 27, 2012 10:58 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Retrospective record
PostPosted: Wed Oct 07, 2009 5:11 pm 

Joined: Tue Sep 23, 2008 3:42 am
Posts: 746
bump

decided i need the old retro record along with session automation (hell, retro record for that please too). can you imagine THAT??

you could just tweak away and then call up bars upon bars of "in the moment" magic!

Hitting a creative wall here, cos i want to perform each section of the tune with effects automation as midi loops and scenes in session view.
I do not want to visit the arrange page until its time to see the captured scenes as an arrangement and bounce it.
And I want to create those sceenes from "retro recorded" passes that i have trimmed/cut to length. (think build ups,drops, flourishes etc) Tell me if im dreaming.

Anyway im wandering into a session automation request now.
I think that the conceptual rewrite Robert Henke speaks of (viewtopic.php?f=1&t=98393&hilit=+midi+lfo) is due another brainstorm at ableton hq. I hear you can record the automation to cells in maschine so perhaps the functionality i desire is only a few years away.

_________________
ctrl + left/right = select transient

ctrl + shift + left/right = select between transients

ctrl + space = play selection


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Retrospective record
PostPosted: Thu Oct 15, 2009 1:23 am 

Joined: Wed Aug 20, 2008 4:07 am
Posts: 375
Location: Los Angeles
another bump on this feature request.

_________________
Macbook 2.1 GHZ-4GBRam-Live6.0.11-Deckadance-Ultralight MK3-ReMote SL 25-2x Stanton scs3d
http://soundcloud.com/michael-ohagan
http://www.youtube.com/michaelohaganmusic
unitedaudioartists@hotmail.com
http://www.myspace.com/michaelohagan912


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Retrospective record
PostPosted: Thu Oct 15, 2009 8:55 pm 

Joined: Thu Sep 28, 2006 12:15 pm
Posts: 2025
Location: Portugal
There are plugins that do that, kinda.
Put them in your master channel or a resampling channel, set a buffer size, like 5min or 15min, and it constantly records everything you're doing (in audio only afaik).
When you played something you liked, you stop it and retrieve the wav file.

A bit awkward, but could be a good workaround for now.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Retrospective record
PostPosted: Thu Oct 15, 2009 10:53 pm 

Joined: Wed Dec 31, 2008 8:40 am
Posts: 2230
^^ at least you can hear what you played.. I never need retro record so that I can bounce a part and actually use it, I just need to hear what I played and how the groove went, then I'll usually just recreate it.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Retrospective record
PostPosted: Fri Oct 16, 2009 5:48 am 

Joined: Sat Jul 10, 2004 10:16 am
Posts: 330
also loved that one in Cubase .... (I did not like the implementation how it is done in Logic a lot, but in Cubase it was not bad)


best


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Retrospective record
PostPosted: Wed Oct 28, 2009 8:09 pm 

Joined: Fri Sep 26, 2003 3:29 am
Posts: 4657
dna598 wrote:
bump everytime i need it.


needed it last night working with 2 others on a minimal house track.

a short excerpt from the scene:

guy1: " hey!! whatever you just did, do it again!"

me: "OK"

shortly thereafter....

Guy2: " nah, whatver youre doing now, its not what you were doing before"

me : " I NEED RETROSPECTIVE RECORD"

The End. (NOT)



ableton live please, YOU HAVE MISSED SOMETHING CRUCIAL HERE.




yep-- that is standard situation NO1 when jamming with people together,,,

jamming versus block moving... what shall be the main focus of ableton live?
more block mover features ore more jammers features?

_________________
mac book 2,16 ghz 4(3)gb ram, Os 10.62, fireface 400,


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Retrospective record
PostPosted: Fri Oct 30, 2009 7:48 pm 

Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2008 1:47 am
Posts: 95
dna598 wrote:
bump

decided i need the old retro record along with session automation (hell, retro record for that please too). can you imagine THAT??

you could just tweak away and then call up bars upon bars of "in the moment" magic!

Hitting a creative wall here, cos i want to perform each section of the tune with effects automation as midi loops and scenes in session view.
I do not want to visit the arrange page until its time to see the captured scenes as an arrangement and bounce it.
And I want to create those sceenes from "retro recorded" passes that i have trimmed/cut to length. (think build ups,drops, flourishes etc) Tell me if im dreaming.

Anyway im wandering into a session automation request now.
I think that the conceptual rewrite Robert Henke speaks of (viewtopic.php?f=1&t=98393&hilit=+midi+lfo) is due another brainstorm at ableton hq. I hear you can record the automation to cells in maschine so perhaps the functionality i desire is only a few years away.


Yes this is an essential feature, I would also love session automation. Would just make the feature 10 times better.

Retro record for MIDI only is good enough for me but they have to cater for all.

_________________
Image

http://soundcloud.com/debrecini

http://www.audiojelly.com/?a=singles/261710


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Retrospective record
PostPosted: Mon Nov 02, 2009 11:39 pm 

Joined: Fri Jan 13, 2006 3:35 am
Posts: 2647
Location: Cydonia on the 4th Planet
emef wrote:
or just hit record and play stuff, pull out the good bits

not rocket science is it?



I was thinking the same thing. That being said, if they do implement a feature like that, I would definitely want to be able to turn it off.

_________________
H20nly wrote:
fuck Bitwig.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 34 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next

All times are UTC

 
 

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group