32 bit floating point

Share your wishes for the future of Ableton Live
Post Reply
A5htar
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Oct 14, 2009 2:07 pm

32 bit floating point

Post by A5htar » Mon Nov 23, 2009 8:45 pm

Is there change you guys are going to implement support for 32 bit floating point sample recording and payback.
i know 24 bit is posible but why not 32 ?

kind regards,

G.D.Matteoni
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu May 07, 2009 9:21 am
Location: Turin (ITALY)

Re: 32 bit floating point

Post by G.D.Matteoni » Mon Nov 23, 2009 10:45 pm

:!: No converters are capable to record at that bit rate. 32 bit floating point is the rate of Live's engine
All the files imported and used are at 32 bit, it helps when processing and mixing digital files, but the hardware AD converters are at max 24 bit.

I'm not sure of that, but maybe reading that someone will answer us more specific. 8)

steff3
Posts: 330
Joined: Sat Jul 10, 2004 10:16 am

Re: 32 bit floating point

Post by steff3 » Tue Nov 24, 2009 7:20 am

Well, as someone pointed out - recording 32bit does nothing when your converter is 24bit. Also, 32bit is 24bit information with an 8 bit transformation exponent, so the actually info of 24bit and 32bit is the same - the difference is that 32bit has the exponent and can be shifted flexibly. But if you converters clipped the sound - it is clipped .... (There are a few scenarios where may be usefule - e.g. if you have a MIO and process the audio in the MIO before recording you can record the 32bit processed audio stream).

Anyways, I am not sure about recording, but you can play back 32bit audio files in Live since - well, very long time. I would think you can even record it - never tried it to be honest because, well, see above.

hope that helps

best

G.D.Matteoni
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu May 07, 2009 9:21 am
Location: Turin (ITALY)

Re: 32 bit floating point

Post by G.D.Matteoni » Thu Nov 26, 2009 11:08 am

steff3, what's that MIO you are talking about? :roll:

steff3
Posts: 330
Joined: Sat Jul 10, 2004 10:16 am

Re: 32 bit floating point

Post by steff3 » Fri Nov 27, 2009 8:07 am

MIO - Metric Halo Mobile IO interfaces .... (www.mhlabs.com)

You can record 32bit float in Live ... I used JackOSX to stream audio from another program and recorded it ....

hope that helps

EdRyan
Posts: 64
Joined: Thu Jan 29, 2009 2:37 pm

Re: 32 bit floating point

Post by EdRyan » Tue Dec 01, 2009 5:14 pm

Image

There is the answer.

EdRyan
Posts: 64
Joined: Thu Jan 29, 2009 2:37 pm

Re: 32 bit floating point

Post by EdRyan » Tue Dec 01, 2009 5:17 pm

Actually that gives me a question.

Is this 32bit float or fixed maths.

32 bit fixed math is beyond the range of 24 bit convertors anyway.... but 32 bit float has a range of 1500 dB. Which is ridiculous for recording. I can understand it's use in processing, but recording ?

Post Reply