NI Battery kits >> Drum Racks presets

Share your wishes for the future of Ableton Live
Post Reply
alvarog
Posts: 68
Joined: Sat Oct 07, 2006 10:30 am
Location: Spain

NI Battery kits >> Drum Racks presets

Post by alvarog » Wed Feb 03, 2010 6:26 pm

Hi,

maybe it is a bit adventurous to suggest, but if it were possible, i would love to see that Live is capable of importing .kit, .kt2 and .kt3 files (Native Instruments Battery drum kits) onto Lives's Drum Rack / Instrument Rack presets, in the same way that .nki's files have the menu option 'import onto library' on Live's browser. Therefore i'll be using Live devices exclusively which would be good for the project stability and so on.


Greetings all.


Edit: actually there is a workaround to this: save the Battery kit in Kontakt as nki and then import this one onto sampler. But i would love be using drum racks all the way instead Battery. Yes i know, i am a Live addict!! :)
AMD Phenom II X4 | 8GB DDR3 | Raptor 10.000rpm RAID 0 | Win7 Ultimate 64bit | Suite 8 + VSTis | RME Fireface400 | KORG MicroKONTROL | 7 string custom electric guitar

ScarKord
Posts: 89
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2008 9:56 am
Location: Purley, UK
Contact:

Re: NI Battery kits >> Drum Racks presets

Post by ScarKord » Thu Feb 04, 2010 4:11 pm

Actually, this would be really useful. I never fire up Battery anymore, but it does have some great kits with it. I suppose I could manually create drum racks using the samples but that would be so painful :)

Great idea.
ScarKord - Electronic music, remix and sound design
http://www.scarkord.com
http://www.reverbnation.com/scarkord

Jersey Garcia
Posts: 73
Joined: Thu Dec 20, 2007 11:20 pm

Re: NI Battery kits >> Drum Racks presets

Post by Jersey Garcia » Thu Feb 04, 2010 5:01 pm

it would be nice if you could drag and drop samples from various kits in battery into drum racks. that would make me very happy.

JBlongz
Posts: 506
Joined: Sat Feb 28, 2009 4:29 pm
Location: NYC
Contact:

Re: NI Battery kits >> Drum Racks presets

Post by JBlongz » Thu Feb 04, 2010 7:52 pm

I agree. Especiallly since I still make most of my kits in battery for cross-application compatibility
Last edited by JBlongz on Thu Feb 04, 2010 10:36 pm, edited 1 time in total.
rMBP Quad 2.8GHz, 16GB, 1TB SSD | UAD Apollo 8
JBlongz YouTube

loydb
Posts: 178
Joined: Wed Jan 06, 2010 9:28 pm

Re: NI Battery kits >> Drum Racks presets

Post by loydb » Thu Feb 04, 2010 8:41 pm

Yes, better Battery 3 integration would be fantastic!
MFOS Ultimate Expand-o-tron Build Log: http://www.electro-music.com/forum/view ... 797#308797
MFOS Mini-Controller Build Log [FINISHED!]: http://www.electro-music.com/forum/view ... hp?t=42968

jeff_u
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Oct 13, 2009 7:21 am

Re: NI Battery kits >> Drum Racks presets

Post by jeff_u » Mon Feb 08, 2010 11:01 pm

+1
Image

darkenedsoul
Posts: 1223
Joined: Wed Jul 28, 2004 10:21 pm
Location: Massachusetts, USA
Contact:

Re: NI Battery kits >> Drum Racks presets

Post by darkenedsoul » Wed Feb 17, 2010 10:39 pm

Jersey Garcia wrote:it would be nice if you could drag and drop samples from various kits in battery into drum racks. that would make me very happy.
If I am not mistaken you can do this with certain kits (those that aren't .kit/kit2/kit3) like orchestral and timpani for 2 examples. There are some samples of some kits but not a ton of them,i.e. all....

I will have to look into this Kontakt idea and save them off and an .nki file and bring that into a rack. I didn't know we could import those files! Seriously, I had no idea so I'll be looking at that for importing into my library (once I figure out how it goes/works).

mike
http://www.darkenedsoul.net - main website
Ableton Live 8.x/9.x : NI Komplete 8 : Home built 4690K 16GB 500GB SSD, 1TB 7200, 2x2TB.

duro
Posts: 37
Joined: Wed Sep 15, 2010 5:58 pm

Re: NI Battery kits >> Drum Racks presets

Post by duro » Wed Sep 15, 2010 5:59 pm

+ 1,000,000 This would make me so happy :D :D :D :D :D

Post Reply