Fix automation and metering latency

Share your wishes for the future of Ableton Live
ethios4
Posts: 5377
Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2003 6:28 am

Fix automation and metering latency

Post by ethios4 » Wed Mar 10, 2010 10:11 pm

Many of us have noticed that automation and metering does not seem to be delay compensated. For example, there is a delay from when a sound occurs and when it shows up on the meters, and the delay seems equal to the amount of delay compensation going on. The same is true for automation.

It is very difficult to correctly write automation since everything has to be shifted over so that it sounds as expected. For example, if you want to draw a volume automation so that the volume is at 0% then jumps to 100% at the transient of a kick drum, you may have to shift the volume change so that it lines up correctly, depending on the plugins currently running.

The same applies for the meters. A kick drums plays and the meter registers it some hundreds of milliseconds later, depending on the plugins currently running.

http://forum.ableton.com/viewtopic.php?f=1&t=129443

paulmaddox
Posts: 82
Joined: Sun Jan 03, 2010 9:44 pm

Re: Fix automation and metering latency

Post by paulmaddox » Wed Mar 31, 2010 9:26 am

+1000

This is really really annoying when using live in a studio scenario.

Maybe it could be a preference like in Logic if there are negative implications for live use to having automation PDC'd.

dna598
Posts: 858
Joined: Tue Sep 23, 2008 3:42 am

Re: Fix automation and metering latency

Post by dna598 » Thu Apr 01, 2010 4:28 pm

+1

I was astounded when I changed buffer settings and realised all my automation was out of sync.
I cant remember if my old logic 5 had this issue, but this definiteley limits potential cpu usage for hefty automated mixdowns especially with LIve being that bit hungrier.

Sometimes I think I am wasting time with this program, compensating for its quirks, just having a lot fun and telling myself its all fine. I wish it wasnt so, but this issue really bugs.
ctrl + left/right = select transient

ctrl + shift + left/right = select between transients

ctrl + space = play selection

kayhel
Posts: 52
Joined: Tue Oct 26, 2010 2:52 pm

Re: Fix automation and metering latency

Post by kayhel » Tue Oct 26, 2010 6:42 pm

Hi Ableton Support,

i would like to raise my hands on this as well. I do make extensive use of 3rd party plugins and I am not even able to follow my song - not via the level meters which just make some kind of weird random looking lightshow, neither via the position marker which is one second before the actual song position! It is not possible to work on an arrangement with this situation and totally unusable for me if this will not be solved!

I just wonder that audio is all in sync - the maths for the visual stuff + automation should be easy then??

I would consider this as a serious bug!

I just bought the suite before one month but wasn't aware of such a big problem!

cheers
Kay
Bitwig 1.0, Live8 Suite Boxed, Studio One Professional, Melodyne Assistant
Komplete Ultimate, Sylenth, Ozone5

kayhel
Posts: 52
Joined: Tue Oct 26, 2010 2:52 pm

Re: Fix automation and metering latency

Post by kayhel » Tue Oct 26, 2010 7:04 pm

Bitwig 1.0, Live8 Suite Boxed, Studio One Professional, Melodyne Assistant
Komplete Ultimate, Sylenth, Ozone5

ethios4
Posts: 5377
Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2003 6:28 am

Re: Fix automation and metering latency

Post by ethios4 » Tue Oct 26, 2010 7:04 pm

kayhel wrote:I just wonder that audio is all in sync - the maths for the visual stuff + automation should be easy then??
That was my thought as well.

ErnstEiswürfel
Posts: 83
Joined: Sun Apr 27, 2008 8:20 pm
Location: Berlin

Re: Fix automation and metering latency

Post by ErnstEiswürfel » Mon Dec 19, 2011 5:31 pm

any news on this?
for me it's the biggest problem with ableton.

rchrdnsh
Posts: 107
Joined: Mon Mar 01, 2010 10:23 am
Location: Los Angeles, USA
Contact:

Re: Fix automation and metering latency

Post by rchrdnsh » Mon Dec 19, 2011 7:29 pm

+10000000000000000000000000000000000

I have to nudge my automation with all 3rd party plug-ins based on the amount of latency set. While it's doable, it's a HUUGE time drain and mind-f#%k in general. I run mostly 3rd party plugs from companies like NI, Camel Audio, Izotope, Fab Filter, etc..., so the problem can get really bad, especially when the latency is set above 500 samples. For example, I usually throw a Fab Filter Pro-Q on every channel, so I have to adjust my automation on the literally every track that HAS automation. NO BUENO!

This HAS TO BE ADDRESSED in Live 9. It's a horrible little glitch in an otherwise great piece of software.

Please make this a top priority!

Richard Nash

ErnstEiswürfel
Posts: 83
Joined: Sun Apr 27, 2008 8:20 pm
Location: Berlin

Re: Fix automation and metering latency

Post by ErnstEiswürfel » Mon Dec 19, 2011 8:14 pm

i also change latency back and forth quite a bit while i work, so always need to remember at which latency the automations were originally drawn (i make it part of the project name by now)..
it's especially bad when you want to increase latency as the project grows. i always need to predict where it's gonna end up..
:roll:

kayhel
Posts: 52
Joined: Tue Oct 26, 2010 2:52 pm

Re: Fix automation and metering latency

Post by kayhel » Wed Dec 21, 2011 2:13 pm

Hi Again,

not making music for half a year now because of this issue. :( Still i dont want to switch to another DAW again, but could there please be a statement on when (or even if) this will be solved.

many thanks
Bitwig 1.0, Live8 Suite Boxed, Studio One Professional, Melodyne Assistant
Komplete Ultimate, Sylenth, Ozone5

kayhel
Posts: 52
Joined: Tue Oct 26, 2010 2:52 pm

Re: Fix automation and metering latency

Post by kayhel » Mon Dec 31, 2012 2:25 am

Hi ableton, any progress here?????
Bitwig 1.0, Live8 Suite Boxed, Studio One Professional, Melodyne Assistant
Komplete Ultimate, Sylenth, Ozone5

kayhel
Posts: 52
Joined: Tue Oct 26, 2010 2:52 pm

Re: Fix automation and metering latency

Post by kayhel » Thu Nov 28, 2013 9:50 pm

Hi ableton,
Any progress here?
See me next year in the next line;-)
Bitwig 1.0, Live8 Suite Boxed, Studio One Professional, Melodyne Assistant
Komplete Ultimate, Sylenth, Ozone5

yudhisthira
Posts: 25
Joined: Tue Nov 26, 2013 11:29 pm

Re: Fix automation and metering latency

Post by yudhisthira » Fri Nov 29, 2013 8:59 pm

+1000 no more skins or plugins thanks, just this please

yudhisthira
Posts: 25
Joined: Tue Nov 26, 2013 11:29 pm

Re: Fix automation and metering latency

Post by yudhisthira » Wed Dec 04, 2013 8:08 am

bump

theslowrevolt
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jun 28, 2011 10:46 pm

Re: Fix automation and metering latency

Post by theslowrevolt » Sat Jan 04, 2014 10:09 pm

Bump ?

This is an crippling deficiency for me… and to discover it very late in an album production process is particularly depressing.

I'm seriously considering moving platform.

Post Reply