All times are UTC

 
 



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Multi-takes, Comping and separate Time and Loop Selections!
PostPosted: Sat Sep 11, 2010 8:41 am 

Joined: Sat May 16, 2009 5:25 pm
Posts: 15
The title of the topic speaks about itself.

Multiple-takes: record between loop points only where time selection is (thus separate Time and Loop Selections are needed)

Comping: some basic multi-takes editing

Just do It.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Multi-takes, Comping and separate Time and Loop Selections!
PostPosted: Sat Sep 11, 2010 7:49 pm 

Joined: Thu Nov 18, 2004 8:04 pm
Posts: 444
Location: Atlanta, GA
Please. Please add track comping. Please.

_________________
Soundcloud: http://soundcloud.com/rimby

i7-3770K 3.5GHz
16GB RAM
256GB SSD, 1TB 7200HD

Windows 8

Live 9


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Multi-takes, Comping and separate Time and Loop Selections!
PostPosted: Sat Sep 11, 2010 9:24 pm 

Joined: Tue Oct 05, 2004 11:25 pm
Posts: 429
Its called session view. Look into it. ;-)

_________________
http://www.soundcloud.com/jda


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Multi-takes, Comping and separate Time and Loop Selections!
PostPosted: Mon Sep 13, 2010 12:34 pm 

Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2006 12:58 am
Posts: 1113
jbodango wrote:
Its called session view. Look into it. ;-)


Well not really... You can do multi-takes in both views, but doing quick comparisons and sewing together a proper take from multiple separate takes is a pain. And creating a comp take like this in session view for a vocal track for example is not practical at all.

_________________
Juhana Lehtiniemi - Film composer with Ableton Live


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Multi-takes, Comping and separate Time and Loop Selections!
PostPosted: Mon Sep 13, 2010 2:31 pm 

Joined: Thu May 26, 2005 8:57 pm
Posts: 160
it would be nice, when recording in session view, if you could set ableton to make a new clip after a specified amount of bars, and the new clips would somehow stack up so you could comp them. I'm just not sure how this would be implemented into Live without bloating it a bit...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Multi-takes, Comping and separate Time and Loop Selections!
PostPosted: Tue Sep 14, 2010 8:07 am 

Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2006 12:58 am
Posts: 1113
n8tron wrote:
it would be nice, when recording in session view, if you could set ableton to make a new clip after a specified amount of bars, and the new clips would somehow stack up so you could comp them. I'm just not sure how this would be implemented into Live without bloating it a bit...


Maybe you could "unfold" any clip in Live, which would expand the contents of the clip in "comp view". Like unfolding a group track, but vertically. Same would work in Arrangement view. Would be quite cool actually, but I don't know how it would function with non-multitake clips...

_________________
Juhana Lehtiniemi - Film composer with Ableton Live


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Multi-takes, Comping and separate Time and Loop Selections!
PostPosted: Tue Sep 14, 2010 2:56 pm 

Joined: Thu May 26, 2005 8:57 pm
Posts: 160
posssu wrote:
n8tron wrote:
it would be nice, when recording in session view, if you could set ableton to make a new clip after a specified amount of bars, and the new clips would somehow stack up so you could comp them. I'm just not sure how this would be implemented into Live without bloating it a bit...


Maybe you could "unfold" any clip in Live, which would expand the contents of the clip in "comp view". Like unfolding a group track, but vertically. Same would work in Arrangement view. Would be quite cool actually, but I don't know how it would function with non-multitake clips...


That's a great idea. Maybe the comp view could also be an editing view as described here: viewtopic.php?f=3&t=149683

I think all this could be down in the clip window at the bottom.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Multi-takes, Comping and separate Time and Loop Selections!
PostPosted: Sun Oct 03, 2010 9:38 am 

Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2007 8:31 pm
Posts: 3
Definitely, it can be done in a new separate instrument that allows for voice/instrument recordings. This would give some additional benefits when it comes to manipulation (e.g. built-in Melodyne engine). And it would be the most less disruptive option to the overall workflow of Live.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Multi-takes, Comping and separate Time and Loop Selections!
PostPosted: Sun Oct 03, 2010 7:30 pm 

Joined: Fri May 02, 2003 6:38 am
Posts: 1265
Location: France
Now recording a rock duet called 'jesus is my girlfriend' and I sure miss that. I hve to go back and forth betwen arrangement and session to store takes and edit them without cluttering the arrangement with lots of useless audio tracks.

_________________
Aboard from V. 1
MBP 2,3 ghz I7 4Go RAM OS 10.8.5 X-station/iPad2+Mira+Lemur/PadKontrol/BCR+BCF2000/ Livid Code
RME FF UC Live 9.0.6 / 9.1.1 + MFL + Max 6.16 Yeepee !
Madlab sound unit :/: sounds FX, objects, guitar and electronics :/: end_of_transmission


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Multi-takes, Comping and separate Time and Loop Selections!
PostPosted: Thu Nov 04, 2010 6:15 pm 

Joined: Fri Feb 23, 2007 5:55 pm
Posts: 116
William wrote:
Please. Please add track comping. Please.


Yes.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Multi-takes, Comping and separate Time and Loop Selections!
PostPosted: Fri Nov 05, 2010 5:35 pm 

Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2009 10:57 am
Posts: 678
Location: Hamburg
EX wrote:
William wrote:
Please. Please add track comping. Please.


Yes.

Double-yes.

_________________
My Webs
My Clouds


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Multi-takes, Comping and separate Time and Loop Selections!
PostPosted: Mon Aug 22, 2011 8:26 pm 

Joined: Fri Oct 09, 2009 5:31 pm
Posts: 24
+1

Not generally a big fan of Logic, but the way they do comp tracks is pure awesome.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Multi-takes, Comping and separate Time and Loop Selections!
PostPosted: Mon Apr 22, 2013 2:24 am 

Joined: Thu Aug 02, 2012 4:16 am
Posts: 2
Location: New York
+111


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Multi-takes, Comping and separate Time and Loop Selections!
PostPosted: Tue Apr 23, 2013 3:54 pm 

Joined: Wed Apr 17, 2013 8:57 pm
Posts: 5
+1000

So much time lost to split your takes, create new tracks for preview , define sections, group yours different "takes tracks", etc ...

And there's no samples markers (to defines sections) as an alternate solution (like "take1 / take2 / etc").

I'm trying ableton and I a bit sceptic about moving from my DAW to Ableton 'cause of the lack of some features : limited drumrack/simpler (envelopes, view), no sample editing, no well-managed multi-takes capabilities, no loop markers, can't freeze multi-output VSTi, etc. Of course there're also great features but ... Wait and see.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 

All times are UTC

 
 

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group