Multi-takes, Comping and separate Time and Loop Selections!

Share your wishes for the future of Ableton Live
adXok
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat May 16, 2009 5:25 pm
Contact:

Multi-takes, Comping and separate Time and Loop Selections!

Post by adXok » Sat Sep 11, 2010 8:41 am

The title of the topic speaks about itself.

Multiple-takes: record between loop points only where time selection is (thus separate Time and Loop Selections are needed)

Comping: some basic multi-takes editing

Just do It.

William
Posts: 423
Joined: Thu Nov 18, 2004 8:04 pm
Location: Atlanta, GA

Re: Multi-takes, Comping and separate Time and Loop Selections!

Post by William » Sat Sep 11, 2010 7:49 pm

Please. Please add track comping. Please.
Soundcloud: http://soundcloud.com/rimby

i7-3770K 3.5GHz
16GB RAM
256GB SSD, 1TB 7200HD

Windows 8

Live 9

jbodango
Posts: 521
Joined: Tue Oct 05, 2004 11:25 pm
Contact:

Re: Multi-takes, Comping and separate Time and Loop Selections!

Post by jbodango » Sat Sep 11, 2010 9:24 pm

Its called session view. Look into it. ;-)

posssu
Posts: 1117
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2006 12:58 am

Re: Multi-takes, Comping and separate Time and Loop Selections!

Post by posssu » Mon Sep 13, 2010 12:34 pm

jbodango wrote:Its called session view. Look into it. ;-)
Well not really... You can do multi-takes in both views, but doing quick comparisons and sewing together a proper take from multiple separate takes is a pain. And creating a comp take like this in session view for a vocal track for example is not practical at all.
Juhana Lehtiniemi - Film composer with Ableton Live

n8tron
Posts: 173
Joined: Thu May 26, 2005 8:57 pm

Re: Multi-takes, Comping and separate Time and Loop Selections!

Post by n8tron » Mon Sep 13, 2010 2:31 pm

it would be nice, when recording in session view, if you could set ableton to make a new clip after a specified amount of bars, and the new clips would somehow stack up so you could comp them. I'm just not sure how this would be implemented into Live without bloating it a bit...

posssu
Posts: 1117
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2006 12:58 am

Re: Multi-takes, Comping and separate Time and Loop Selections!

Post by posssu » Tue Sep 14, 2010 8:07 am

n8tron wrote:it would be nice, when recording in session view, if you could set ableton to make a new clip after a specified amount of bars, and the new clips would somehow stack up so you could comp them. I'm just not sure how this would be implemented into Live without bloating it a bit...
Maybe you could "unfold" any clip in Live, which would expand the contents of the clip in "comp view". Like unfolding a group track, but vertically. Same would work in Arrangement view. Would be quite cool actually, but I don't know how it would function with non-multitake clips...
Juhana Lehtiniemi - Film composer with Ableton Live

n8tron
Posts: 173
Joined: Thu May 26, 2005 8:57 pm

Re: Multi-takes, Comping and separate Time and Loop Selections!

Post by n8tron » Tue Sep 14, 2010 2:56 pm

posssu wrote:
n8tron wrote:it would be nice, when recording in session view, if you could set ableton to make a new clip after a specified amount of bars, and the new clips would somehow stack up so you could comp them. I'm just not sure how this would be implemented into Live without bloating it a bit...
Maybe you could "unfold" any clip in Live, which would expand the contents of the clip in "comp view". Like unfolding a group track, but vertically. Same would work in Arrangement view. Would be quite cool actually, but I don't know how it would function with non-multitake clips...
That's a great idea. Maybe the comp view could also be an editing view as described here: http://forum.ableton.com/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=149683

I think all this could be down in the clip window at the bottom.

marcel_brunner@gmx.net
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2007 8:31 pm

Re: Multi-takes, Comping and separate Time and Loop Selections!

Post by marcel_brunner@gmx.net » Sun Oct 03, 2010 9:38 am

Definitely, it can be done in a new separate instrument that allows for voice/instrument recordings. This would give some additional benefits when it comes to manipulation (e.g. built-in Melodyne engine). And it would be the most less disruptive option to the overall workflow of Live.

madlab
Posts: 1382
Joined: Fri May 02, 2003 6:38 am
Location: France

Re: Multi-takes, Comping and separate Time and Loop Selections!

Post by madlab » Sun Oct 03, 2010 7:30 pm

Now recording a rock duet called 'jesus is my girlfriend' and I sure miss that. I hve to go back and forth betwen arrangement and session to store takes and edit them without cluttering the arrangement with lots of useless audio tracks.
Aboard from V. 1
MBP 2.5 Ghz I7 16 Go SSD OSX 10.12
MBP 2.3 ghz I7 16 Go SSD + HD 10.8.5 iPad2+Mira+Lemur/PadKontrol/BCR2000/ Livid Code+DS1
RME FF UC Live 9.7.7 MFL Max 8 + Max 7.3.5
Madlab sound unit / objects, guitar, electronics / end_of_transmission

EX
Posts: 114
Joined: Fri Feb 23, 2007 5:55 pm

Re: Multi-takes, Comping and separate Time and Loop Selections!

Post by EX » Thu Nov 04, 2010 6:15 pm

William wrote:Please. Please add track comping. Please.
Yes.

MPGK
Posts: 678
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2009 10:57 am
Location: Hamburg

Re: Multi-takes, Comping and separate Time and Loop Selections!

Post by MPGK » Fri Nov 05, 2010 5:35 pm

EX wrote:
William wrote:Please. Please add track comping. Please.
Yes.
Double-yes.

claytonsquire
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri Oct 09, 2009 5:31 pm

Re: Multi-takes, Comping and separate Time and Loop Selections!

Post by claytonsquire » Mon Aug 22, 2011 8:26 pm

+1

Not generally a big fan of Logic, but the way they do comp tracks is pure awesome.

JulienFunk
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Aug 02, 2012 4:16 am
Location: New York
Contact:

Re: Multi-takes, Comping and separate Time and Loop Selections!

Post by JulienFunk » Mon Apr 22, 2013 2:24 am

+111

bldbld
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Apr 17, 2013 8:57 pm

Re: Multi-takes, Comping and separate Time and Loop Selections!

Post by bldbld » Tue Apr 23, 2013 3:54 pm

+1000

So much time lost to split your takes, create new tracks for preview , define sections, group yours different "takes tracks", etc ...

And there's no samples markers (to defines sections) as an alternate solution (like "take1 / take2 / etc").

I'm trying ableton and I a bit sceptic about moving from my DAW to Ableton 'cause of the lack of some features : limited drumrack/simpler (envelopes, view), no sample editing, no well-managed multi-takes capabilities, no loop markers, can't freeze multi-output VSTi, etc. Of course there're also great features but ... Wait and see.

warrenwarren
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Sep 13, 2014 12:47 am

Re: Multi-takes, Comping and separate Time and Loop Selections!

Post by warrenwarren » Sun Sep 14, 2014 12:52 am

+1 million

Post Reply