Editing multiple MIDI Clips data in one Clip window.

Share your wishes for the future of Ableton Live
rchrdnsh
Posts: 107
Joined: Mon Mar 01, 2010 10:23 am
Location: Los Angeles, USA
Contact:

Editing multiple MIDI Clips data in one Clip window.

Post by rchrdnsh » Wed Oct 20, 2010 7:52 am

This is something Pro Tools does really really well. I want the ability to edit multiple instruments MIDI data simultaneously in one window. It works like this:

1. Every track has a different main color, separate from the clip colors, or Live could even use the clip colors if it wants to.
2. When I select multiple regions in the Session or arrange views, the MIDI contents of every selected clip show up together in the Detail view, and can be edited together.
3. Each different instrument would be colored based on the color choice from number 1 above, so that they are easily identifiable. Velocity would work like it does now, fading out as it gets softer, but the track/clip color would be used for each instrument, rather than all red, so as to differentiate the instruments contents from each other. These colors would be utilized in the velocity lane below the notes as well.

The reason I want this is such. Sometimes I wanna see if I have clashing notes in different parts, or I am editing a horn section or something and want to see the trumpets and trombones, etc... all at once, rather than one at a time, which would speed up my writing process a lot!

Here's another related feature that would be awesome. The ability to move MIDI notes from one clip to the next inside the detail view! The note would change color and be part of the other region then. This would be fan freaking-tastic to be able to do! I shit you not! This would be awesome. Write a horn section in one VI then break it out manually super quickly, rather than having to copy the clip to every instrument, then delete all the notes that I don't want in every clip! This takes forever and is very annoying to do! Simply select the notes I want in the trombone, right click the notes and say move to trombone clip, and there they go!

This would all be based on selection, which I think is a great way to add functionality without adding complexity. I can select only the area I want to work on, or entire tracks as well. Pro Tools is a bit clumsy in this regard, because you can only select whole tracks in the the track selection window on the left of the GUI. Not as easy as I'd like it to be.

That's all for now, I believe.

MP
Last edited by rchrdnsh on Sun Oct 24, 2010 6:43 am, edited 2 times in total.

pepezabala
Posts: 3498
Joined: Mon Jun 07, 2004 4:29 pm
Location: In Berlin, finally

Re: The Ability to edit multiple MIDI Clips at once!

Post by pepezabala » Wed Oct 20, 2010 8:54 am

yes, yes, yes!

poof
Posts: 56
Joined: Sun Oct 10, 2010 8:34 pm

Re: Editing multiple MIDI Clips data in one Clip window.

Post by poof » Mon Oct 25, 2010 6:11 am

3rd'd. cubase has had this for years now, why is this not the standard? I see why most ableton users work on a mac, fisher price toys for fanboys.

Der_Makrophag
Posts: 377
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2005 11:06 am

Re: Editing multiple MIDI Clips data in one Clip window.

Post by Der_Makrophag » Fri Oct 29, 2010 2:18 pm

sounds pretty cool!
My English is not perfect, I know... Sorry about that.

Greetings from Germany!

P.S. to wishlist forum users: Please search for former requests. Otherwise they will be splitted into many small ones and we are loosing impact!!!

posssu
Posts: 1117
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2006 12:58 am

Re: Editing multiple MIDI Clips data in one Clip window.

Post by posssu » Sat Oct 30, 2010 6:41 pm

Yes yes yes!!! +1
Juhana Lehtiniemi - Film composer with Ableton Live

designx
Posts: 28
Joined: Sat Feb 28, 2009 12:31 am

Re: Editing multiple MIDI Clips data in one Clip window.

Post by designx » Sat Sep 17, 2011 7:54 pm

Yes about time now as this feature is something that makes me turn to Logic rather than stick with Ableton when I need this option.

Muzik 4 Machines
Posts: 769
Joined: Thu Oct 22, 2009 9:35 am

Re: Editing multiple MIDI Clips data in one Clip window.

Post by Muzik 4 Machines » Sat Sep 17, 2011 8:44 pm

YES, logic had that forever and its one of the coolest feature, seeing all notes on all tracks and editing layer by layer, so much easier than always double click on another clip to see notes, then back at clip 1 to edit, especially since live always mess up the zoom between 2 clips so its never the same from clip to clip

alb13
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Jan 07, 2013 10:40 am

Re: Editing multiple MIDI Clips data in one Clip window.

Post by alb13 » Sat Nov 09, 2013 3:18 pm

Something like this?

Image

miekwave
Posts: 752
Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2012 8:49 pm
Location: Austin, TX
Contact:

Re: Editing multiple MIDI Clips data in one Clip window.

Post by miekwave » Sun Nov 10, 2013 12:51 am

What kind of sorcery is this?
alb13 wrote:Something like this?

Image
Check out some of my soundtracks. Also Ableton Live Performance video.

ImageImage

Funmichi
Posts: 36
Joined: Sun Jan 27, 2013 12:01 pm

Re: Editing multiple MIDI Clips data in one Clip window.

Post by Funmichi » Mon Nov 11, 2013 1:13 pm

yes something like this BUT there are many helpful features are missing like for unisono editing: midi source as shadows in the background and a clip based multiple midi editing.

marcoskohler
Posts: 333
Joined: Fri Aug 04, 2006 3:13 am

Re: Editing multiple MIDI Clips data in one Clip window.

Post by marcoskohler » Sun Dec 01, 2013 10:24 pm

Bump, this feature would be such a workflow enhancer!

avaris
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2007 7:13 pm
Location: new england

Re: Editing multiple MIDI Clips data in one Clip window.

Post by avaris » Tue Dec 03, 2013 7:42 pm

This is the #1 reason I can't use Live and stick with Studio One. Almost every DAW can do this. Come on Ableton!

moscom_musik
Posts: 152
Joined: Mon May 08, 2006 9:57 pm

Re: Editing multiple MIDI Clips data in one Clip window.

Post by moscom_musik » Sat Dec 07, 2013 9:20 am

+1 for this too. Hopefully it does not require a rewrite ;)
Macbook Pro Retina 2015, Live 9 Suite, Push, and a bunch of plug-ins I like :)

_ceone
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Mar 16, 2010 12:00 am
Location: marseille France
Contact:

Re: Editing multiple MIDI Clips data in one Clip window.

Post by _ceone » Sun Jul 06, 2014 1:13 pm

+1 this feature is strongly needed: please ableton implement it ASAP.
Ableton live 9.1.3 / Dell XPS Studio 8100 / NI Maschine
http://www.myspace.com/ceonlephonque

lg3
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2011 1:55 am

Re: Editing multiple MIDI Clips data in one Clip window.

Post by lg3 » Tue Dec 09, 2014 4:14 pm

Sorely needed for Midi devices that record muliple channels at the same time. E.g. midi guitar.

I dont know what this screenshot is but I hope it's in the dev backlog.

Post Reply