64 bit

Share your wishes for the future of Ableton Live
alvarog
Posts: 68
Joined: Sat Oct 07, 2006 10:30 am
Location: Spain

64 bit

Post by alvarog » Sun Nov 28, 2010 5:54 pm

hello, i work on a 64 bit Win 7 OS and would like that live 8 does not bore me anymore with the "out of memory" message anymore... considering that i have 8GB of RAM :evil:
AMD Phenom II X4 | 8GB DDR3 | Raptor 10.000rpm RAID 0 | Win7 Ultimate 64bit | Suite 8 + VSTis | RME Fireface400 | KORG MicroKONTROL | 7 string custom electric guitar

fhyio
Posts: 40
Joined: Sat Apr 17, 2010 5:39 pm

Re: 64 bit

Post by fhyio » Tue Dec 07, 2010 3:51 pm

x2 for 64-bit

fl0w
Posts: 56
Joined: Sun Jun 28, 2009 11:28 am

Re: 64 bit

Post by fl0w » Tue Dec 07, 2010 3:57 pm

x3

jojo191519
Posts: 34
Joined: Thu Mar 25, 2010 9:47 am

Re: 64 bit

Post by jojo191519 » Mon Dec 13, 2010 1:37 am

i don't see the need to upgrade until this happens tbh

JBlongz
Posts: 506
Joined: Sat Feb 28, 2009 4:29 pm
Location: NYC
Contact:

Re: 64 bit

Post by JBlongz » Tue Dec 21, 2010 12:53 am

64bit is not some fantasy that we ignore anymore. Its really happening. I have 60,000 Kontakt presets and the whole EastWest collection. I have 16GB in my Mac Pro, but Live struggles at 3GB. This sucks because Live is a game changer logically. However instability and ram limitation are stressing me out. 'Freeze' and' flatten' are great features implemented in Live that should never go away, but I use that feature in a totally different way (creating audio copies for midichop while preserving the original midi). <-- I just gave away a secret there. But my point is that we need more ram support. And if you (Ableton) want to stay ahead of the game, then be the one to step it up...even if you have to partner with some scary scientists.
rMBP Quad 2.8GHz, 16GB, 1TB SSD | UAD Apollo 8
JBlongz YouTube

J.D
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Oct 18, 2006 1:29 am

Re: 64 bit

Post by J.D » Tue Dec 21, 2010 2:11 am

Same here i got 8 gigs and can't use a lot of it :( i think Before Ableton Creates anymore efx or softsynths they should work on releasing Live64 bit

SWAN808
Posts: 94
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2008 5:17 pm

Re: 64 bit

Post by SWAN808 » Tue Dec 21, 2010 2:37 pm

needs to be done

ChadThomas
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Jun 12, 2010 8:39 pm

Re: 64 bit

Post by ChadThomas » Wed Dec 22, 2010 8:13 pm

Same here,
I'm using a Core i7 MacBook Pro, and I won't upgrade until Live gets a clue and releases a 64 bit version. Even using the simplest functions make it crash.
"The secret to creativity is knowing how to hide your sources."
-- Albert Einstein

2.66 GHz Intel Core i7 MacBook Pro 4 GB RAM, MOTU 828MKII

Saxer
Posts: 384
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 2:43 pm
Location: Frankfurt/Germany

Re: 64 bit

Post by Saxer » Thu Dec 23, 2010 10:13 am

+1

for the use of bigger sample libraries.
not everybody uses live for complete synthbased music.

JBlongz
Posts: 506
Joined: Sat Feb 28, 2009 4:29 pm
Location: NYC
Contact:

Re: 64 bit

Post by JBlongz » Sat Dec 25, 2010 4:10 pm

Saxer wrote:+1

for the use of bigger sample libraries.
not everybody uses live for complete synthbased music.

Exactly. Ableton, with the help of all its sound partners cannot compare with EastWest or Native Instruments. Of all my plugins, those are the center of my production. My clients are constantly awed by them. But when Live crashes in a session, the first thing I hear is "You should try them in ProTools"...I HATE PRO TOOLS, even though I'm a guru of it. Live is like the ugly girl friend who does the best tricks, but suffers from frequent seizures.
rMBP Quad 2.8GHz, 16GB, 1TB SSD | UAD Apollo 8
JBlongz YouTube

jace_(nz)
Posts: 67
Joined: Sun Feb 15, 2009 12:03 pm
Location: Manchester Uk

Re: 64 bit

Post by jace_(nz) » Mon Dec 27, 2010 11:21 am

Is Deffo Needed,Most new Computer/laptops here in the UK are now only coming with 64bit versions of windows! 32Bit windows is fast becoming a thing of the past.

kayhel
Posts: 52
Joined: Tue Oct 26, 2010 2:52 pm

Re: 64 bit

Post by kayhel » Mon Jan 10, 2011 11:39 am

+1
Bitwig 1.0, Live8 Suite Boxed, Studio One Professional, Melodyne Assistant
Komplete Ultimate, Sylenth, Ozone5

trilo
Posts: 111
Joined: Tue Apr 07, 2009 11:28 pm
Location: San Francisco
Contact:

Re: 64 bit

Post by trilo » Tue Jan 11, 2011 7:53 am

+1, as well as optimized hyper-threading.

Efraim
Posts: 16
Joined: Fri Jan 16, 2009 11:24 pm

Re: 64 bit

Post by Efraim » Sun Jan 16, 2011 3:19 pm

+1 for 64 bit.
Make it.

JBlongz
Posts: 506
Joined: Sat Feb 28, 2009 4:29 pm
Location: NYC
Contact:

Re: 64 bit

Post by JBlongz » Mon Jan 17, 2011 2:52 pm

I wonder if Ableton is even working on it at least.
rMBP Quad 2.8GHz, 16GB, 1TB SSD | UAD Apollo 8
JBlongz YouTube

Post Reply