Automation curves

Share your wishes for the future of Ableton Live
Post Reply
Bayley
Posts: 36
Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2010 2:14 pm

Automation curves

Post by Bayley » Sun Jan 09, 2011 3:14 am

The ability to choose a point of automation and treat it like a bezier curve (like for an exponential buildup for example) also point snapping to the grid would be nice...

Wendals
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Dec 31, 2010 12:06 pm

Re: Automation curves

Post by Wendals » Sun Jan 09, 2011 12:49 pm

Why this has not been fixed yet is PUZZLING! Ableton please read the thousands of posts requesting this function over the past 5 years!

kingrad
Posts: 92
Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2007 11:11 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia

Re: Automation curves

Post by kingrad » Sat Feb 19, 2011 9:29 am

Snapping the automation points exactly to the grid would save so much time, like for when you want to cleanly mute a send for example

improbabilitist
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Nov 03, 2009 11:13 am

Re: Automation curves

Post by improbabilitist » Sat Feb 19, 2011 11:38 am

kingrad wrote:Snapping the automation points exactly to the grid would save so much time, like for when you want to cleanly mute a send for example
Have you tried drawing the automation in draw mode while being in a specific grid size?

kingrad
Posts: 92
Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2007 11:11 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia

Re: Automation curves

Post by kingrad » Sat Feb 19, 2011 9:38 pm

What I tend to do is put the automation point on the grid line, zoom right in and I can see that infact the automation point isnt exactly on the grid, I keep zooming and adjusting until it is right on, this takes a while

improbabilitist
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Nov 03, 2009 11:13 am

Re: Automation curves

Post by improbabilitist » Sun Feb 20, 2011 9:27 pm

Yeah I see what you mean. I always make sure I select draw mode (Ctrl+B in my case) when I want to be precise, and if I want a more 'customized' envelope, I'll just go out of draw mode and edit the automation further.

ninox_rufa
Posts: 94
Joined: Tue Apr 07, 2009 8:26 am

Re: Automation curves

Post by ninox_rufa » Tue Feb 22, 2011 1:57 am

kingrad wrote:What I tend to do is put the automation point on the grid line, zoom right in and I can see that infact the automation point isnt exactly on the grid, I keep zooming and adjusting until it is right on, this takes a while
Did you know that automation isn't delay compensated anyway? The automation on the timeline is an illusion. On playback those events will occur earlier in time than they've been drawn. How much earlier is in proportion to the total latency of the track.
MBP 2.3GHz QCore i7 4GB | Ultralite mk3 | 10.7.4 | Logic Pro 9.1.6

kingrad
Posts: 92
Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2007 11:11 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia

Re: Automation curves

Post by kingrad » Tue Feb 22, 2011 10:43 am

I didn't know that

improbabilitist
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Nov 03, 2009 11:13 am

Re: Automation curves

Post by improbabilitist » Tue Feb 22, 2011 12:08 pm

kingrad wrote:I didn't know that
http://forum.ableton.com/viewtopic.php?f=1&t=157048
Now you know :)

Tweaking Knobs
Posts: 1162
Joined: Fri Jun 09, 2006 5:36 pm
Location: Berlin
Contact:

Re: Automation curves

Post by Tweaking Knobs » Fri Sep 16, 2011 10:49 am

Bayley wrote:The ability to choose a point of automation and treat it like a bezier curve (like for an exponential buildup for example) also point snapping to the grid would be nice...


+1

Post Reply