All times are UTC

 
 



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Freeze/Flatten to MONO
PostPosted: Sat Jul 02, 2011 7:00 pm 

Joined: Tue May 20, 2003 12:13 pm
Posts: 210
Location: Shrewsbury, UK
I record a lot of tracks in mono, guitars, vocals, bass, etc and having everything flatten to stereo is a waste of CPU and hard-drive space.

So the option in the right click menu of 'flatten to mono' and 'freeze to mono' would be a big help.

I wouldn't mind the option of creating 24 bit files, either...

_________________
Athlon64 X2 4400+ / E-mu 0404 / Aphex207D / yellow lefty Danelectro / CZ-101 / E-Bow / Genius
Mink15 - Downtempo Triphop Indie Lo-Fi- Spookydirt - ambient space music - Far Black Furlong - ambientmedievalclassicalfolkdrone


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Freeze/Flatten to MONO
PostPosted: Wed Jul 20, 2011 8:19 pm 

Joined: Thu Nov 05, 2009 12:15 am
Posts: 10
+ 1 !


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Freeze/Flatten to MONO
PostPosted: Sun Jul 24, 2011 9:29 pm 

Joined: Mon May 29, 2006 10:10 pm
Posts: 2264
+10

_________________
soundcloud - electronic and shit.
me+you - EP01 - electronic/jazz/rock/postrock and shit.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Freeze/Flatten to MONO
PostPosted: Sun Mar 17, 2013 7:08 pm 

Joined: Wed May 18, 2011 11:46 pm
Posts: 10
So how do we do it. I'm just a newb but I'm pretty sure having a full set of all stereo tracks "aint quite right."


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Freeze/Flatten to MONO
PostPosted: Mon Mar 18, 2013 1:23 pm 

Joined: Sat Feb 28, 2009 4:29 pm
Posts: 513
Location: NYC
For now, user the "Utility" audio effect and set 'width' to 0%. That makes it mono. Now you can copy that effect to each track, or put in on a send track and set each track output to 'sends only'. Boom.

_________________
rMBP Quad 2.8GHz, 16GB, 1TB SSD | UAD Apollo 8
JBlongz YouTube


Last edited by JBlongz on Wed Mar 20, 2013 1:43 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Freeze/Flatten to MONO
PostPosted: Wed Mar 20, 2013 1:24 pm 

Joined: Tue Dec 18, 2012 4:54 am
Posts: 19
+1


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Freeze/Flatten to MONO
PostPosted: Fri Jun 05, 2015 3:17 am 

Joined: Thu Aug 02, 2012 4:16 am
Posts: 3
Location: New York
+1


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Freeze/Flatten to MONO
PostPosted: Sun Mar 12, 2017 11:05 pm 

Joined: Thu Oct 01, 2009 3:35 pm
Posts: 6
+1 :x

_________________
Live 9, MOTU 1248, iMac 3.3 GHz Intel Core i5, 24 GB 1600, OS Sierra http://www.breakingforms.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Freeze/Flatten to MONO
PostPosted: Sun Mar 12, 2017 11:12 pm 

Joined: Thu Oct 01, 2009 3:35 pm
Posts: 6
The most frustrating part of all this is that I start with a mono vocal track, mono waves tuner, mono SSL channel strip, mono limiter and alas... stereo flattened track. Makes no sense. Please ableton, fix this soon.

_________________
Live 9, MOTU 1248, iMac 3.3 GHz Intel Core i5, 24 GB 1600, OS Sierra http://www.breakingforms.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Freeze/Flatten to MONO
PostPosted: Sun Mar 12, 2017 11:57 pm 

Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2014 11:34 am
Posts: 5470
juanneco wrote:
The most frustrating part of all this is that I start with a mono vocal track, mono waves tuner, mono SSL channel strip, mono limiter and alas... stereo flattened track. Makes no sense. Please ableton, fix this soon.


I agree this is confusing at best. But it's much worse IMO. Live doesn't even record mono input sources consistently. What's that about?

_________________
Waves: 10% off coupon via this link

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Freeze/Flatten to MONO
PostPosted: Mon Mar 13, 2017 6:52 am 

Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2007 7:02 pm
Posts: 109
Location: Warsaw, Poland
juanneco wrote:
The most frustrating part of all this is that I start with a mono vocal track, mono waves tuner, mono SSL channel strip, mono limiter and alas... stereo flattened track. Makes no sense. Please ableton, fix this soon.

Good point, +1

_________________
Trance DJ, producer, sound engineer, synth programmer
My blog
Soundcloud
Mixcloud


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Freeze/Flatten to MONO
PostPosted: Mon Apr 03, 2017 12:02 pm 

Joined: Mon Dec 27, 2010 3:50 pm
Posts: 2
I'd love this.

+ 1


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Freeze/Flatten to MONO
PostPosted: Mon Apr 03, 2017 2:03 pm 

Joined: Thu Oct 01, 2009 3:35 pm
Posts: 6
Any updates Ableton?

_________________
Live 9, MOTU 1248, iMac 3.3 GHz Intel Core i5, 24 GB 1600, OS Sierra http://www.breakingforms.com


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 

All times are UTC

 
 

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group