Midi record- Wait for note

Share your wishes for the future of Ableton Live
Eventful
Posts: 187
Joined: Sat Dec 22, 2012 4:27 am
Location: Are you a cop?

Re: Midi record- Wait for note

Post by Eventful » Wed Dec 26, 2012 12:24 am

+.5
While useful on occasion, I'd never use this.
funken wrote: The whipping must put air in and this stops it exploding.

abletony84
Posts: 267
Joined: Mon Sep 28, 2009 8:18 am

Re: Midi record- Wait for note

Post by abletony84 » Mon May 13, 2013 4:43 am

Anybody tried Live 9 and know if it supports this?

ttilberg
Posts: 587
Joined: Wed Oct 05, 2011 4:55 pm
Contact:

Re: Midi record- Wait for note

Post by ttilberg » Mon May 13, 2013 1:44 pm

It does not.
Tim Tilberg - Duluth, MN | SoundCloud - Arsenal
2011 13" MBP w/8GB ram | Live 9 Suite, Reason 6.5, FXPansion DCAM/Etch/Maul, Izotope Ozone 5

miekwave
Posts: 752
Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2012 8:49 pm
Location: Austin, TX
Contact:

Re: Midi record- Wait for note

Post by miekwave » Tue May 14, 2013 7:00 pm

Brookwood wrote:I'm absolutely flummoxed that I can't set the record mode to wait for a midi note to start recording. I was doing this with Vision in the MID EIGHTIES!! So for the rest of my life I have to either wait for a countoff and/or edit the beginning of the bar? That is extremely poor work-flow, and SO SIMPLE to implement. Please tell me I'm wrong and there is such a feature.

MIDIMAP note #n to rec button or clicp rec launch, tah daw
Check out some of my soundtracks. Also Ableton Live Performance video.

ImageImage

JuanSOLO
Posts: 3236
Joined: Sun Jul 15, 2007 8:21 am
Location: Shreveport LA, sometimes Dallas/Ft Worth TX

Re: Midi record- Wait for note

Post by JuanSOLO » Tue May 14, 2013 7:32 pm

miekwave wrote:MIDIMAP note #n to rec button or clicp rec launch, tah daw
how does this wait for you to play a note to start recording?

miekwave
Posts: 752
Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2012 8:49 pm
Location: Austin, TX
Contact:

Re: Midi record- Wait for note

Post by miekwave » Wed May 15, 2013 4:42 am

JuanSOLO wrote:
miekwave wrote:MIDIMAP note #n to rec button or clicp rec launch, tah daw
how does this wait for you to play a note to start recording?
This is a cheap workaround, but not a perm solution. If you want to Midi Note record wait for note, assign your FIRST midi note (that you wont be actually playing) to the rec launch button, and set count in to instant. For example, if you have a 2 octive keyboard, and you are not playing bottom C, assign C to rec launch on instant rec mode.
Check out some of my soundtracks. Also Ableton Live Performance video.

ImageImage

ttilberg
Posts: 587
Joined: Wed Oct 05, 2011 4:55 pm
Contact:

Re: Midi record- Wait for note

Post by ttilberg » Wed May 15, 2013 3:12 pm

Well, I guess that's better than nothing at all -- but I think a proper implementation would be welcomed. Nice hack, miekwave.
Tim Tilberg - Duluth, MN | SoundCloud - Arsenal
2011 13" MBP w/8GB ram | Live 9 Suite, Reason 6.5, FXPansion DCAM/Etch/Maul, Izotope Ozone 5

JuanSOLO
Posts: 3236
Joined: Sun Jul 15, 2007 8:21 am
Location: Shreveport LA, sometimes Dallas/Ft Worth TX

Re: Midi record- Wait for note

Post by JuanSOLO » Wed May 15, 2013 3:19 pm

Thanks for the idea, but I dont see that as even a feasible workaround.
The note you map is not the one you play, because mapping a note disables it's ability to play. I understand you'd use it as a trigger so to speak, but the idea of wait for note is that the first note you actually play is the trigger.
I'd rather map some other knob or button, or better yet use M4L or Bomes to "wait for note/trigger"

Nevertheless, seeing Ableton implement such a feature would be the best option.

trevox
Posts: 659
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2011 12:58 am

Re: Midi record- Wait for note

Post by trevox » Wed May 15, 2013 5:10 pm

I'm not in my studio, but think this should work. Place the device as the first device in your effect chain on a midi track. Arm the track. Set the "Slot No" to whatever slot you want to record into and toggle the device on. Start playing. I set it so that immediately after recording is armed, the device will turn itself off and become totally transparent. I tried sending some midi into Live internally from Logic to test and it appears it begins recording slightly after the note is played in, but at very worst, the first note may need to be moved after recording. Hope it helps...

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/302 ... _Note.amxd

imagineowl
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2013 10:04 pm
Location: San Diego
Contact:

Re: Midi record- Wait for note

Post by imagineowl » Fri May 17, 2013 5:40 pm

+1
Macbook Pro Retina | 2.7 Ghz i7 | 8GB Ram | 512 SSD
soundcloud.com/locs

10110101
Posts: 31
Joined: Tue Jul 16, 2013 5:43 am

Re: Midi record- Wait for note

Post by 10110101 » Tue Jul 16, 2013 5:54 am

+1
I brought a Push and started using Live hoping to do just this. I'm Very disappointed that it doesn't work.

JuanSOLO
Posts: 3236
Joined: Sun Jul 15, 2007 8:21 am
Location: Shreveport LA, sometimes Dallas/Ft Worth TX

Re: Midi record- Wait for note

Post by JuanSOLO » Tue Jul 16, 2013 5:58 am

10110101 wrote:+1
I brought a Push and started using Live hoping to do just this. I'm Very disappointed that it doesn't work.
you should have bought M4L instead.

10110101
Posts: 31
Joined: Tue Jul 16, 2013 5:43 am

Re: Midi record- Wait for note

Post by 10110101 » Tue Jul 16, 2013 7:39 am

Helpfull

chase
Posts: 33
Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2004 10:51 pm

Re: Midi record- Wait for note

Post by chase » Mon Nov 25, 2013 7:52 pm

Coming up on two years, still no sign of this basic, extremely useful feature.

ansolas
Posts: 379
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2013 11:01 pm
Location: Earth ~ Europe ~ Germany ~ Cuxheaven

Re: Midi record- Wait for note

Post by ansolas » Sat Aug 16, 2014 9:56 am

There is no wait for MIDI in Live 9 yet ?

Post Reply