Please fix the automation/latency buffer sync issue...

Share your wishes for the future of Ableton Live
rchrdnsh
Posts: 107
Joined: Mon Mar 01, 2010 10:23 am
Location: Los Angeles, USA
Contact:

Please fix the automation/latency buffer sync issue...

Post by rchrdnsh » Fri Apr 13, 2012 10:17 pm

:-( :-( :-(

Please fix Ableton Live so that automation stays in time with the music no matter what the buffer setting!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I'm losing my mind over this!!!!!!!!!!!

AHHHHHHHH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Can't take it anymore!!!!!!!!!!!

Please please please please please please please please fix this!!!!!!

:-( :-( :-(




that is all.
Last edited by rchrdnsh on Fri Apr 20, 2012 11:32 pm, edited 4 times in total.

ze2be
Posts: 3454
Joined: Mon Apr 12, 2004 2:17 am
Location: Mos Eisley

Re: AAARRRRGHH!!!! Dear god please fix this!!!!!!!!!

Post by ze2be » Sat Apr 14, 2012 2:03 am

first!

:x (tm)
? ? ? ? ?


The Philosopher King
Posts: 190
Joined: Sun Oct 26, 2008 7:56 pm

Re: AAARRRRGHH!!!! Dear god please fix this!!!!!!!!!

Post by The Philosopher King » Sat Apr 14, 2012 9:10 am

+ 2

madlab
Posts: 1381
Joined: Fri May 02, 2003 6:38 am
Location: France

Re: AAARRRRGHH!!!! Dear god please fix this!!!!!!!!!

Post by madlab » Sat Apr 14, 2012 11:29 am

I had never noticed that... Probably because I almost never change my buffer setting. Are you on a mac ? And what is your soundcard ?
Aboard from V. 1
MBP 2.5 Ghz I7 16 Go SSD OSX 10.12
MBP 2.3 ghz I7 16 Go SSD + HD 10.8.5 iPad2+Mira+Lemur/PadKontrol/BCR2000/ Livid Code+DS1
RME FF UC Live 9.7.7 MFL Max 8 + Max 7.3.5
Madlab sound unit / objects, guitar, electronics / end_of_transmission

rchrdnsh
Posts: 107
Joined: Mon Mar 01, 2010 10:23 am
Location: Los Angeles, USA
Contact:

Re: AAARRRRGHH!!!! Dear god please fix this!!!!!!!!!

Post by rchrdnsh » Sat Apr 14, 2012 7:23 pm

Yeah, sorry about all the :-('s I was caught in a moment of extreme frustration.

Yeah, I'm on a mac, running through an MBox 3

I use automation a lot and my projects get big and my buffer setting will make it's way all the way up to 1,000 samples sometimes. At that point, Live is almost unusable due to the fact that the automation doesn't stay in sync with the music.

Ableton say they are aware of the problem, but it's not a high priority, which seems a little crazy to me, as sound quality should be number one on their list, imho.

I have a slight workaround but it's by no means perfect. When I do my bounce I set the buffer back to it's lowest setting (14 samples) and render the track. The sound difference is huge. It's amazing, but...

The problem is I can't work on a mix effectively when the sample buffer is too high because all my automation gets thrown so far out of sync that I can't accurately hear what my automation is doing when I'm editing it.

Plus, when you bounce at the lowest buffer setting it can take a couple hours to bounce a intense mix as my computer (8 Core) will have to run at 400% to 600% of it's capacity.

I wanna create a lot of noise about the issue so that Ableton will prioritize it, as it is increasingly rendering Live almost usable for me at this point.

And Bitwig haven't started their beta testing yet....

Thanks for listening people :-)


Christian Witt
Posts: 61
Joined: Tue May 24, 2011 3:57 pm
Location: Berlin

Re: AAARRRRGHH!!!! Pleeeeeeeeeeeease fix this!!!!!!!!!

Post by Christian Witt » Mon Apr 16, 2012 4:10 pm

maybe this is the wrong place in the board!

but i have the same problem on Ableton 8.3:

Macbook Pro 2012 / 8 GB RAM / 2.2 GHz i7

Soundcard:
MBOX3 MINI

problem exit also with my other soundcard:
Mackie Onyx 1220i


xxx

rchrdnsh
Posts: 107
Joined: Mon Mar 01, 2010 10:23 am
Location: Los Angeles, USA
Contact:

Re: AAARRRRGHH!!!! Pleeeeeeeeeeeease fix this!!!!!!!!!

Post by rchrdnsh » Wed Apr 18, 2012 5:41 pm

Yeah, I'm not sure this is a feature request either.

I just want it fixed/changed/added soooooo bad.

doghouse
Posts: 1387
Joined: Fri Aug 29, 2008 5:30 pm

Re: AAARRRRGHH!!!! Pleeeeeeeeeeeease fix this!!!!!!!!!

Post by doghouse » Wed Apr 18, 2012 8:58 pm

Buffer settings of 1000 samples? WTF are you doing that you need such a high setting? I'm on a much slower Mac than you but don't ever push the buffer above 128 samples.

H20nly
Posts: 15834
Joined: Sat Oct 27, 2007 9:15 pm
Location: The Wild West

Re: AAARRRRGHH!!!! Pleeeeeeeeeeeease fix this!!!!!!!!!

Post by H20nly » Wed Apr 18, 2012 10:12 pm

^ uh huh. lowering the buffer would eliminate the opportunity

rchrdnsh
Posts: 107
Joined: Mon Mar 01, 2010 10:23 am
Location: Los Angeles, USA
Contact:

Re: AAARRRRGHH!!!! Pleeeeeeeeeeeease fix this!!!!!!!!!

Post by rchrdnsh » Thu Apr 19, 2012 8:42 am

yeah man.

by the time I have 50+ tracks with crazy automation and layer after layer of effects and processing all over the place... not to mention using processor intensive sample libraries and power hungry synths up the ying yang... all WITHOUT 64-BIT SUPPORT... still mad about that one *smh*... I can get up to 1000 samples of latency pretty quickly, even on an 8-core Mac Pro Tower from 2008 (me want 16 cores reeeeeal bad right about now.)

The problem is solved of course when I bounce the track at 14 samples (which can take up to two hours to do one bounce!), which is the lowest buffer setting in Live, but trying to work on the track at 1000 samples to get it just right...

is hell.

pure hell.

so depressing.

...*sigh*...


I want to put up an audio A/B comparison of an 8 bar loop bounced at 2048 samples and 14 samples so you guys and gals could hear the difference but I dunno how on here :-( This forum seems rather...old.

Peace :-)

RYKR

Bagatell
Posts: 620
Joined: Thu Jul 14, 2005 3:33 pm
Location: Sierra Nevada, Spain

Re: AAARRRRGHH!!!! Pleeeeeeeeeeeease fix this!!!!!!!!!

Post by Bagatell » Thu Apr 19, 2012 9:00 am

rchrdnsh wrote:yeah man.

by the time I have 50+ tracks with crazy automation and layer after layer of effects and processing all over the place...
Do any of your soundcloud tunes have 50+ tracks?

rchrdnsh
Posts: 107
Joined: Mon Mar 01, 2010 10:23 am
Location: Los Angeles, USA
Contact:

Re: AAARRRRGHH!!!! Pleeeeeeeeeeeease fix this!!!!!!!!!

Post by rchrdnsh » Thu Apr 19, 2012 9:17 am

yeah, most of them.

rchrdnsh
Posts: 107
Joined: Mon Mar 01, 2010 10:23 am
Location: Los Angeles, USA
Contact:

Re: AAARRRRGHH!!!! Pleeeeeeeeeeeease fix this!!!!!!!!!

Post by rchrdnsh » Thu Apr 19, 2012 9:24 am

my music tends to be similar to artists like Wolfgang Gartner, Zedd, Porter Robinson, BT, Lazy Rich, etc... and I know that they can work up quite the track counts as well, all things considered.

I do my own mastering inside the projects also, which doesn't help my poor CPU's, of course :-)

Post Reply