32 bit bridge support please!

Share your wishes for the future of Ableton Live
square7
Posts: 29
Joined: Mon Jun 18, 2012 9:59 pm

Re: 32 bit bridge support please!

Post by square7 » Sat Jul 28, 2012 2:12 am

TabSel wrote: Ableton's had 3 years since everyone else came up with their 64-bit updates and sucky bridges..

I mean come on at least a sucky one would have been nice, I rather have to click on an extra window like Logic's bridge instead of going back and forth between two DAWs

and jBridge is cool but doesn't support AUs which would be be a huge pain in the ass for me since I don't have any VSTs installed
Completely agree. At least somebody gets it. Logic's bridge works quite nicely. Too bad it's workflow is so sloooow.

Doesn't seem like the Abes care about this one at all. It would probably take them another 3 years for a bridge anyway. Guess that's why they're saying "fuck it"

Bitwig's looking better and better everyday. Sucks to have to say goodbye to software you've used for years though.

And to those who don't know how to read: Jbridge doesn't support AU, stupid.

pencilrocket
Posts: 1718
Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2010 10:46 am

Re: 32 bit bridge support please!

Post by pencilrocket » Sat Jul 28, 2012 4:30 am

because AU is shit.....
Image

square7
Posts: 29
Joined: Mon Jun 18, 2012 9:59 pm

Re: 32 bit bridge support please!

Post by square7 » Sat Jul 28, 2012 7:32 am

pencilrocket wrote:because AU is shit.....
Yeah ok.. because you said so :roll:

square7
Posts: 29
Joined: Mon Jun 18, 2012 9:59 pm

Re: 32 bit bridge support please!

Post by square7 » Tue Jul 31, 2012 4:54 am

Because Jbridge is shit.... AND a lazy excuse for Ableton to not make their own bridge

Le sigh

deanthomastunes
Posts: 75
Joined: Mon Feb 22, 2010 6:58 pm
Location: Norwich, UK

Re: 32 bit bridge support please!

Post by deanthomastunes » Wed Aug 01, 2012 7:47 pm

Even FL Studio has a bit-bridge for crying-out-loud!
Progressive/Tech/Uplifting Trance
Soundcloud | Facebook | Twitter

LATEST RELEASES
BUY HERE

square7
Posts: 29
Joined: Mon Jun 18, 2012 9:59 pm

Re: 32 bit bridge support please!

Post by square7 » Thu Aug 02, 2012 12:32 am

/\ WOW.. I'm sure it works good too.

Ableton's really missing the plot on this one.

Simbosan
Posts: 301
Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2008 11:35 am
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Contact:

Re: 32 bit bridge support please!

Post by Simbosan » Wed Aug 15, 2012 10:29 pm

This is in the jBridge readme file

*If you're using a VST host without jBridge support, run the jBridger tool ( Start Menu->Programs->jBridge->jBridger )
and follow the on-screen instructions. Your host will need to scan the bridging files created by the jBridger tool instead
of the original plugins.

Now I will happily bet good money that many VST will never be 64bit, many will take a LONG time to get to 64 bit. This is an issue that Ableton are going to be struggling with for a while, probably years, why wouldn't support for jBridge be added? Gotta be easier than writing your own bridging code.

S
Ableton 9 Suite - Ozone 5
Room full of guitars!
Akai EWI USB : Loads of Sample Modeling instruments (the best ever!)
M-Audio FastTrack Pro
Turbo Nutter B*stard >>>> WINDOWS <<<< PC
Simbosan on Soundcloud

Angstrom
Posts: 14672
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2004 2:22 pm
Contact:

Re: 32 bit bridge support please!

Post by Angstrom » Wed Aug 15, 2012 11:51 pm

square7 wrote: Doesn't seem like the Abes care about this one at all. It would probably take them another 3 years for a bridge anyway. Guess that's why they're saying "fuck it"

Bitwig's looking better and better everyday. Sucks to have to say goodbye to software you've used for years though.

And to those who don't know how to read: Jbridge doesn't support AU, stupid.
Good luck with that
Bitwig wrote:AU plugins (OSX)? Bitwig Studio won’t support AU in version 1.0. We will consider supporting AU at a later stage.
http://bitwig.com/faqs.php

square7
Posts: 29
Joined: Mon Jun 18, 2012 9:59 pm

Re: 32 bit bridge support please!

Post by square7 » Fri Aug 17, 2012 7:47 am

Still hoping for some type of 32 bit plugin support from Ableton. Or AU support from Jbridge.... I guess....

8.3.3 has been causing weird CPU problems lately. Would like to use 64bit Live but not without my beloved plugins

Post Reply