All times are UTC

 
 



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Scene Splitting
PostPosted: Fri Mar 22, 2013 1:26 am 

Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2012 8:49 pm
Posts: 506
Location: Austin, TX
It would be very handy to have "Scene Split A" and "Scene Split B"

Basicially, let's say I'm working on a live set. This set contains 70+ tracks. (Audio/Samples/Midi/Effects/Busses/etc).

Then I have 128 scenes for this set, where each "song" is divided up into 16 scenes.
I take issue with transitioning into a new "song" in the Ableton session.

Introducing Scene Splitting-
Now say I have two Novation Launchpads. Launchpad A triggers clips and scenes from Scene Split A, while Launchpad B triggers clips and scenes from Scene Split B.
Scene Split A and Scene Split B contain identical clips and scenes. The difference is Scene split A is routed to the Output 1-2 and Scene split B is routed to Output 3-4.

Using Scene Split A and B, I can trigger events from two scenes simultaneously/ but mostly for "song transitions"

_________________
Check out some of my soundtracks. Also Ableton Live Performance video.

ImageImage


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Scene Splitting
PostPosted: Fri Mar 22, 2013 8:47 am 

Joined: Mon May 15, 2006 12:15 pm
Posts: 3457
Why not copying your 'A block' and paste it from scene 129, on empty tracks, thus creating you 'B block'. Remove all stop buttons in the two empty zones. Offset your second launchpad so it starts on you 'B block'.

_________________
http://www.chapelierfou.com
Mac OS 10.6, L8 and L9, M4L.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Scene Splitting
PostPosted: Fri Mar 22, 2013 7:04 pm 

Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2012 8:49 pm
Posts: 506
Location: Austin, TX
chapelier fou wrote:
Why not copying your 'A block' and paste it from scene 129, on empty tracks, thus creating you 'B block'. Remove all stop buttons in the two empty zones. Offset your second launchpad so it starts on you 'B block'.


I already do this, but it requires double track count.

_________________
Check out some of my soundtracks. Also Ableton Live Performance video.

ImageImage


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Scene Splitting
PostPosted: Fri Mar 22, 2013 7:16 pm 

Joined: Mon May 15, 2006 12:15 pm
Posts: 3457
Do you mean scene count ?
Sorry i think i don't get it.

_________________
http://www.chapelierfou.com
Mac OS 10.6, L8 and L9, M4L.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Scene Splitting
PostPosted: Fri Mar 22, 2013 8:13 pm 

Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2012 8:49 pm
Posts: 506
Location: Austin, TX
chapelier fou wrote:
Do you mean scene count ?
Sorry i think i don't get it.


Basically, I want to play two "Master" scenes at the same time, independent of each other. Currently, Ableton only allows to trigger one scene at a time.

_________________
Check out some of my soundtracks. Also Ableton Live Performance video.

ImageImage


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Scene Splitting
PostPosted: Sat Mar 23, 2013 8:20 am 

Joined: Mon May 15, 2006 12:15 pm
Posts: 3457
miekwave wrote:
Currently, Ableton only allows to trigger one scene at a time.

Not if you remove all stop buttons. Sorry if i'm missing something obvious.

_________________
http://www.chapelierfou.com
Mac OS 10.6, L8 and L9, M4L.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Scene Splitting
PostPosted: Sat Mar 23, 2013 9:04 am 

Joined: Tue Aug 30, 2011 8:51 pm
Posts: 257
I don't know if this will work for you but if you use 2 grouped tracks you can use the group launch buttons as a sort of scene launch for each.. but I'm not sure I fully understand what you're really going for

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Scene Splitting
PostPosted: Sat Mar 23, 2013 5:58 pm 

Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2012 8:49 pm
Posts: 506
Location: Austin, TX
TYLRbass wrote:
I don't know if this will work for you but if you use 2 grouped tracks you can use the group launch buttons as a sort of scene launch for each.. but I'm not sure I fully understand what you're really going for


Lets say I have 16 Scenes. Normally triggering those scenes goes to output 1-2 and 3-4.

I I want to play SCENE A On output 1-2 and SCENE F on output 3-4. Without creating more tracks or scenes with stop or blank buttons .

_________________
Check out some of my soundtracks. Also Ableton Live Performance video.

ImageImage


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Scene Splitting
PostPosted: Sat Mar 23, 2013 6:07 pm 

Joined: Mon May 15, 2006 12:15 pm
Posts: 3457
Why does it annoy you to create more tracks or scenes ? You already have duplicated each track, don't you ?
Let's take an example with 16 tracks and 16 scenes.
Scenes 1 to 16 and tracks 1 to 16, block A. Routed to 1/2.
Scenes 17 to 32 and tracks 17 to 32, block B (copy of block A). Routed to 3/4.
Remove all stop buttons in the clip slots on scenes 1-16/tracks 17-32 and scenes 17-32/tracks 1-16.
Offset your 2nd launchpad so it's focusing on block B.
Here you go, you can trigger 2 scenes at the same time.

_________________
http://www.chapelierfou.com
Mac OS 10.6, L8 and L9, M4L.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Scene Splitting
PostPosted: Sat Mar 23, 2013 6:08 pm 

Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2012 1:34 am
Posts: 822
So you want to play 2 clips on the same track simultaneously and then want them to send their audio to different outputs?

That's like saying you want the gas pedal on your car to accelerate AND brake simultaneously. Just double up your tracks!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Scene Splitting
PostPosted: Sat Mar 23, 2013 6:43 pm 

Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2012 8:49 pm
Posts: 506
Location: Austin, TX
infernal.machine wrote:
So you want to play 2 clips on the same track simultaneously and then want them to send their audio to different outputs?

That's like saying you want the gas pedal on your car to accelerate AND brake simultaneously. Just double up your tracks!


Yes that exactly what I'm saying lol.

_________________
Check out some of my soundtracks. Also Ableton Live Performance video.

ImageImage


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Scene Splitting
PostPosted: Sat Mar 23, 2013 6:47 pm 

Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2012 1:34 am
Posts: 822
1 pump for GO, 2 pumps for STOP! :lol:


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 

All times are UTC

 
 

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group