Update LIVE 9 for RETINA !!!

Share your wishes for the future of Ableton Live
Monstar
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 5:27 am

Re: Update LIVE 9 for RETINA !!!

Post by Monstar » Tue Dec 24, 2013 1:07 pm

+1 for RETINA display support.

H20nly
Posts: 15844
Joined: Sat Oct 27, 2007 9:15 pm
Location: The Wild West

Re: Update LIVE 9 for RETINA !!!

Post by H20nly » Tue Dec 24, 2013 9:25 pm

HamHat wrote:What's everyone gonna ask for after Retina display? If it ever happens that is.
well, that depends on what the new unavailable feature de jour is at the time. demanding and bemoaning is only fun when something is slightly out of reach; otherwise reason, understanding, and patience make a mess of it.

+1 for voice commands

pencilrocket
Posts: 1718
Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2010 10:46 am

Re: Update LIVE 9 for RETINA !!!

Post by pencilrocket » Wed Dec 25, 2013 10:45 pm

Kriippaa wrote:The point is not customer's fault for not checking the compatibility. The point is that ableton's visual features are becoming outdated to our technology (higher dpi in most new computers in near future). And that's why the whole thread is for. Seriously you must be trolling or some kind troubled mind for blaming people here asking retina support.
I didn't reply to you. I replied to a man who think they can't work on it and requesting maximum priority fix even if they bought their own decision and there have been tons of more important FR left for years.
Image

H20nly
Posts: 15844
Joined: Sat Oct 27, 2007 9:15 pm
Location: The Wild West

Re: Update LIVE 9 for RETINA !!!

Post by H20nly » Thu Dec 26, 2013 5:14 pm

^ you do realize that both sides of this argument are correct, right?

peniclrocket is just saying that Live made no promises of Retina when you purchased it and that just because you changed your equipment it does not mean Ableton owes you anything.

the other side of the table says... but Retina is the new 1024 x 768 so therefore it's a standard.

but it's a NEW standard at best and a future standard at worst at this point in time.

all of this is akin to saying that when Apple switched from Motorola to Intel processors that any software you had should have then been re-coded or patched up and sent to you in an update to install on your new computer... OR... that because you bought a 64 bit CPU that any software you had on your old 32 bit laptop should be updated for your new configuration.

i agree that Live and every other piece of software on the planet needs to have this enhancement... but harshly demanding it is just an exercise in futility that borders on entitlement. new technology always creates a rift until it becomes a standard... right now, Retina isn't even a standard across the board at Apple yet. so patience and "please" is your only path of virtue. this is because you made the choice to upgrade to Retina. the software on your computer did not make it for you.

/bump

halblaine
Posts: 48
Joined: Sat Feb 13, 2010 11:27 am

Re: Update LIVE 9 for RETINA !!!

Post by halblaine » Sun Dec 29, 2013 7:03 pm

Retina Macbooks came out 18 months ago. That's a long time in the tech world. And it's far from a niche product - Ableton use Macs in all their promotional material, so feeling entitled to this baffingly easy-to-implement update is not strange at all.

fargo100
Posts: 39
Joined: Fri Nov 20, 2009 11:03 pm

Re: Update LIVE 9 for RETINA !!!

Post by fargo100 » Sun Dec 29, 2013 7:51 pm

halblaine wrote:Retina Macbooks came out 18 months ago. That's a long time in the tech world. And it's far from a niche product - Ableton use Macs in all their promotional material, so feeling entitled to this baffingly easy-to-implement update is not strange at all.
My thoughts aswell... :roll:

ino-01
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Nov 06, 2009 10:34 am

Re: Update LIVE 9 for RETINA !!!

Post by ino-01 » Mon Dec 30, 2013 5:22 am

Thank you for Retina-Support in 9.2, Ableton.

halblaine
Posts: 48
Joined: Sat Feb 13, 2010 11:27 am

Re: Update LIVE 9 for RETINA !!!

Post by halblaine » Tue Dec 31, 2013 2:31 pm

Confirmed?

Tarekith
Posts: 17576
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2005 11:46 pm
Location: Ableton Forum Administrator
Contact:

Re: Update LIVE 9 for RETINA !!!

Post by Tarekith » Tue Dec 31, 2013 3:17 pm

No.

HamHat
Posts: 126
Joined: Sun Sep 08, 2013 6:31 pm

Re: Update LIVE 9 for RETINA !!!

Post by HamHat » Wed Jan 01, 2014 7:15 am

ino-01 wrote:Thank you for Retina-Support in 9.2, Ableton.
Why you lie???

loydb
Posts: 178
Joined: Wed Jan 06, 2010 9:28 pm

Re: Update LIVE 9 for RETINA !!!

Post by loydb » Tue Jan 07, 2014 4:49 pm

ino-01 wrote:Thank you for Retina-Support in 9.2, Ableton.
The disappointment in my soul that you were trolling can only be warmed by the bonfire created by setting you alight, preferably on the top of a hill of old tires.

I get so sad every time I have to squint at the UI...
MFOS Ultimate Expand-o-tron Build Log: http://www.electro-music.com/forum/view ... 797#308797
MFOS Mini-Controller Build Log [FINISHED!]: http://www.electro-music.com/forum/view ... hp?t=42968

chapelier fou
Posts: 5147
Joined: Mon May 15, 2006 12:15 pm

Re: Update LIVE 9 for RETINA !!!

Post by chapelier fou » Wed Jan 08, 2014 10:15 am

Damn, i am considering buying a new laptop just for production (mainly ableton). Please allow me to spend all my money in a retina macbook.
MacBook Pro 13" Retina i7 2.8 GHz OS 10.13, L10.0.1, M4L.
iMac 27" Retina i5 3,2 GHz OS 10.11.3 L10.0.1 M4L.

loydb
Posts: 178
Joined: Wed Jan 06, 2010 9:28 pm

Re: Update LIVE 9 for RETINA !!!

Post by loydb » Wed Jan 08, 2014 1:37 pm

MFOS Ultimate Expand-o-tron Build Log: http://www.electro-music.com/forum/view ... 797#308797
MFOS Mini-Controller Build Log [FINISHED!]: http://www.electro-music.com/forum/view ... hp?t=42968

H20nly
Posts: 15844
Joined: Sat Oct 27, 2007 9:15 pm
Location: The Wild West

Re: Update LIVE 9 for RETINA !!!

Post by H20nly » Wed Jan 08, 2014 7:25 pm

loydb wrote:I get so sad every time I have to squint at the UI...
just read in another thread that you can turn off retina. :idea:

Tarekith
Posts: 17576
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2005 11:46 pm
Location: Ableton Forum Administrator
Contact:

Re: Update LIVE 9 for RETINA !!!

Post by Tarekith » Wed Jan 08, 2014 9:10 pm

The other thread wasn't quite right. You can change the resolution to mimic non retina resolutions, but scales the graphics when you do so. So you might be able to get rid of the fuzziness people see here, but at the expense of all the graphics being twice as big, including your mouse pointer.

Post Reply