All times are UTC

 
 



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Real-time export (with Access Virus and TotalControl) Solved
PostPosted: Wed Apr 17, 2013 2:30 pm 

Joined: Wed Mar 06, 2013 12:54 pm
Posts: 6
Hi,

Please consider adding real-time export.

I use lots of external gear and now I need to arm the tracks, record them, set in to auto and export, then set all the external channels to in again. If you have a lot of external gear then it's a bit of a pain in the ass ;) just to export an audio file. Which I do a lot, as I have a habit playing the song in a bunch of different equipment and settings just to get a feel for the song.

I also use Cubase (although not for electronic music) which is a lot smoother in this regard and I would love to have this option in Ableton Live as well.

(I also hope people from Ableton reads this forum.)


Last edited by Electrodaimon on Thu Apr 18, 2013 9:20 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Real-time export
PostPosted: Wed Apr 17, 2013 4:28 pm 

Joined: Mon May 15, 2006 12:15 pm
Posts: 3457
Not sure i understand your concern but did you check the external instrument device ?

_________________
http://www.chapelierfou.com
Mac OS 10.6, L8 and L9, M4L.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Real-time export
PostPosted: Wed Apr 17, 2013 6:35 pm 

Joined: Wed Mar 06, 2013 12:54 pm
Posts: 6
Yes, I use that device.

But my drum machine and my synths have to be recorded to audio tracks before exporting or else they won't produce any sound, because they are external devices that must run in real-time.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Real-time export
PostPosted: Wed Apr 17, 2013 8:09 pm 

Joined: Mon May 15, 2006 12:15 pm
Posts: 3457
Electrodaimon wrote:
Yes, I use that device.

But my drum machine and my synths have to be recorded to audio tracks before exporting or else they won't produce any sound, because they are external devices that must run in real-time.

I thought that when a set uses external instruments, it necessarily renders real time.

_________________
http://www.chapelierfou.com
Mac OS 10.6, L8 and L9, M4L.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Real-time export
PostPosted: Wed Apr 17, 2013 8:29 pm 

Joined: Wed Mar 06, 2013 12:54 pm
Posts: 6
chapelier fou wrote:
I thought that when a set uses external instruments, it necessarily renders real time.

Unfortunately not.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Real-time export
PostPosted: Thu Apr 18, 2013 9:09 am 

Joined: Wed Mar 06, 2013 12:54 pm
Posts: 6
Turns out it can.

I use the TotalControl for my Virus which is what messed the whole thing up, but I have found a workaround which I will try out.

Thanks for the suggestion.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Real-time export (with Access Virus and TotalControl) Solved
PostPosted: Thu Apr 18, 2013 9:21 am 

Joined: Wed Mar 06, 2013 12:54 pm
Posts: 6
Found this which is the workaround if anyone else have the problem. It works perfectly.

http://virus.info/forum/index.php?page= ... eadID=2066


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC

 
 

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group