All times are UTC

 
 



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Drag & Drop From Windows Explorer (Lost Feature or Bug?)
PostPosted: Tue Apr 23, 2013 9:07 pm 

Joined: Sat Jun 13, 2009 6:33 pm
Posts: 39
It would be nice to be able to drag your audio files from anywhere on your computer again...without getting one of these Image

Im not the one to really moan about stuff but wth, there's so much lost with Ableton 9...I let no sample disk support in 9 slide that live 8 once had.

This is just killing my workflow though...Do I really have to add the folder to the browser for it to show a spinning circle... honestly all I'm doing is trying to test my mix against a song I have on my computer...I feel no need to move and mess up my music library or duplicate something I'm not keeping in the project nor want in my library. Live 8 it was like drag, drop, ready to go.

Even something simple like getting onshots or audio samples were easier...download the file go into that folder and just drag the file/folder into live in the taskbar hover over your folder in the browser drop and its there added/imported ready for sequencing, manipulation, mangling, etc.


Last edited by THA-REAPER on Tue Apr 23, 2013 10:40 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Drag & Drop From Windows Explorer (Lost Feature)
PostPosted: Tue Apr 23, 2013 9:14 pm 

Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2012 1:34 am
Posts: 829
I can drag audio files from explorer with no problem. :?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Drag & Drop From Windows Explorer (Lost Feature)
PostPosted: Tue Apr 23, 2013 10:22 pm 

Joined: Sat Jun 13, 2009 6:33 pm
Posts: 39
Which version of Live and version of Windows are you using? I'm using (9.0.1 x86) on (Windows 8 E x64). I don't bother with betas at all.

This is what I get on Live 8.4 x86

Image

This is what I get on Live 9.0.1 x86

Image

In both versions of Live I'm trying to drop onto an audio track in arrangement view. Same project at that.

So perhaps a bug or am I missing something here?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Drag & Drop From Windows Explorer (Lost Feature or Bug?)
PostPosted: Fri Apr 26, 2013 12:52 am 

Joined: Sat Jun 13, 2009 6:33 pm
Posts: 39
Anyone else get that?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Drag & Drop From Windows Explorer (Lost Feature or Bug?)
PostPosted: Fri Apr 26, 2013 3:10 am 

Joined: Tue Nov 16, 2004 6:27 pm
Posts: 1764
Location: Here and There
Why dont u try upgrading to 9.02?

_________________
Some Music


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Drag & Drop From Windows Explorer (Lost Feature or Bug?)
PostPosted: Tue Aug 13, 2013 11:12 pm 

Joined: Tue Jul 16, 2013 11:51 pm
Posts: 2
I know this is a pretty old thread, but I've had the same problem for months. I haven't been able to drag and drop .wav files from explorer to ableton since I upgraded from live 8 to live 9. Its killing my work flow. Please Help!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Drag & Drop From Windows Explorer (Lost Feature or Bug?)
PostPosted: Wed Aug 14, 2013 3:50 pm 

Joined: Fri Dec 14, 2012 11:53 am
Posts: 12
When I open Ableton as Administrator I have the same problem you describe, maybe this is the problem. Also as Administrator, Ableton cant see my mapped network drives.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Drag & Drop From Windows Explorer (Lost Feature or Bug?)
PostPosted: Wed Aug 14, 2013 4:00 pm 

Joined: Fri May 27, 2011 8:52 am
Posts: 1575
Location: South London
there was some noise on the beta about this which I was involved in - I think I was trying to drag into a directory I had added and it didn't work.

I don't do it that way any more - I just drag into the user library and from there I can do what I want with it.

This issue doesn't bother me any more - not sure it exists in my version but word was at the time that it only affected the 64 bit version.

_________________
My Music:

https://soundcloud.com/ian_halsall/sets/mhtrtf


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Drag & Drop From Windows Explorer (Lost Feature or Bug?)
PostPosted: Sat Aug 31, 2013 10:03 am 

Joined: Fri Jul 09, 2004 8:01 am
Posts: 112
Yeah, its a known that you cant drag and drop from the OS when running Live as Admin on Windows


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 

All times are UTC

 
 

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group