Apply LFO to automation parameters

Share your wishes for the future of Ableton Live
Post Reply
robojam
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2005 1:43 am

Apply LFO to automation parameters

Post by robojam » Fri Apr 10, 2015 1:18 pm

Probably the one thing I would like to see above anything else in Live is the ability to apply an LFO to automation parameters.

So often I have had to draw the automation or manually record it, but all I want is a saw wave, or sine wave, or square wave applied.

Just wondering if anyone else would like to see this too? I can't be the only one who would like to see this.

timday
Posts: 548
Joined: Mon May 04, 2009 1:02 pm

Re: Apply LFO to automation parameters

Post by timday » Fri Apr 10, 2015 3:31 pm

Max for Live LFO does this.

infernal.machine
Posts: 1051
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2012 1:34 am

Re: Apply LFO to automation parameters

Post by infernal.machine » Fri Apr 10, 2015 3:51 pm

Yeah M4L's LFO is the way to go.

Also, some instruments already have this functionality. In operator, for example, you can set a bunch of stuff to be controlled by the built in LFO.

Angstrom
Posts: 14671
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2004 2:22 pm
Contact:

Re: Apply LFO to automation parameters

Post by Angstrom » Fri Apr 10, 2015 5:38 pm

The drawback of the M4L LFO is it will completely take over the absolute automation, rather than being a relative modulation. Also it will probably crash your live set.

robojam
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2005 1:43 am

Re: Apply LFO to automation parameters

Post by robojam » Fri Apr 10, 2015 8:14 pm

I was more thinking native rather than through M4L so that I didn't need a M4L device every time I wanted to automate a parameter with a sine wave.

Matech
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat Oct 18, 2014 12:20 pm

Re: Apply LFO to automation parameters

Post by Matech » Mon Apr 13, 2015 9:32 pm

I have noticed noise when modulating volume 100% with M4L lfo

Also there is a delay. This is bad :/

Idonotlikebroccoli
Posts: 1202
Joined: Thu Aug 11, 2005 12:29 pm
Location: Norway

Re: Apply LFO to automation parameters

Post by Idonotlikebroccoli » Tue Apr 14, 2015 6:00 am

Angstrom wrote:The drawback of the M4L LFO is it will completely take over the absolute automation, rather than being a relative modulation. Also it will probably crash your live set.
Yes. We need a native solution for this.
Please vote! Live 10's "multi" clip editing should allow selection+editing of multiple clips in one action:

(L10-SUG-0228) Multiple MIDI transpose

viewtopic.php?f=3&t=228094

re:dream
Posts: 4554
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2007 9:42 am
Location: Hoerikwaggo's sunset side...
Contact:

Re: Apply LFO to automation parameters

Post by re:dream » Tue Apr 14, 2015 8:00 am

+1

S-N-S
Posts: 267
Joined: Tue Apr 10, 2007 9:22 am
Location: denmark
Contact:

Re: Apply LFO to automation parameters

Post by S-N-S » Sun Apr 26, 2015 9:36 pm

would also love to see this

setzer_
Posts: 32
Joined: Wed Jul 22, 2009 9:12 am
Contact:

Re: Apply LFO to automation parameters

Post by setzer_ » Mon Apr 27, 2015 1:06 pm

+1

Would very much love this. And most certainly would love a random waveform as a modulator as well. This would be amazing.

- Dan

tedlogan
Posts: 1343
Joined: Thu Dec 20, 2012 7:23 pm
Location: Leamington Spa, UK
Contact:

Re: Apply LFO to automation parameters

Post by tedlogan » Mon Apr 27, 2015 1:19 pm

While M4L LFO works fine for me most of the time, I too would prefer a native one with relative automation.

In the meantime, in my Clips folder within Places, I've saved a bunch of empty MIDI clips with pre-drawn oscillating automation. From the usual sine shape through to Square, from 1/2 to 1/16 time, and a few unusual ones, each in their own labeled clip. These I can just copy and paste into other clips or use them in a dummy clip matrix to route audio through.

I must admit I never use those anymore as LFO does the job.

Might be useful to someone without M4L or who doesn't want to use it though.

oblique strategies
Posts: 3578
Joined: Thu Nov 02, 2006 9:57 pm
Location: Another Green World

Re: Apply LFO to automation parameters

Post by oblique strategies » Tue May 19, 2015 7:04 am

Native LFO is a must.

M4L LFO is a bust.

:|

tedlogan
Posts: 1343
Joined: Thu Dec 20, 2012 7:23 pm
Location: Leamington Spa, UK
Contact:

Re: Apply LFO to automation parameters

Post by tedlogan » Tue May 19, 2015 11:51 am

Yes, it is vital. Such a useful and versatile function needs to be native. Envelope and Envelope follower too. All these basic building blocks.

The CPU use of just one LFO is the mad notes.

Stromkraft
Posts: 7033
Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2014 11:34 am

Re: Apply LFO to automation parameters

Post by Stromkraft » Tue May 19, 2015 3:11 pm

There seems to be a PC-only VST LFO plug-in at http://lfox8.0fees.net/ amde by KVRAudio mmbet towncat. I haven't tried it, so have no idea if it's a useful concept.
Make some music!

Post Reply