Automation snap-to-grid & breakpoint values

Share your wishes for the future of Ableton Live
Post Reply
Saragn
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Jul 01, 2012 3:00 pm

Automation snap-to-grid & breakpoint values

Post by Saragn » Mon Jan 04, 2016 4:57 am

Hi there,

There are two automation features I would like to see in Live. These features are:

1) Snap-to-grid automation breakpoints. Why do I have to select a section first and drag that entire selection to move to how I need it? Why can't I just click on an automation breakpoint and have it snap to the same global timing grid? Imagine if I could select a breakpoint, drag it to the left or right and have it snap to each grid line as I drag that breakpoint across those lines. This is VERY powerful and will save an epic amount of time in terms of workflow especially for us OCD types.

2) The second feature also related to automation breakpoints is to have each breakpoint, when you mouse over it, display a clickable tool-tip from which you can either edit OR copy the value (right-click edit) to allow you to change the value of the parameter OR paste that value to another breakpoint somewhere else. That is equally powerful.

Thanks for reading, and happy new year to everyone.

Regards,
Alain

WildOak
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Nov 25, 2015 7:26 am

Re: Automation snap-to-grid & breakpoint values

Post by WildOak » Mon Jan 04, 2016 6:25 pm

Saragn wrote: 1) Snap-to-grid automation breakpoints. Why do I have to select a section first and drag that entire selection to move to how I need it? Why can't I just click on an automation breakpoint and have it snap to the same global timing grid? Imagine if I could select a breakpoint, drag it to the left or right and have it snap to each grid line as I drag that breakpoint across those lines. This is VERY powerful and will save an epic amount of time in terms of workflow especially for us OCD types.

Yes please!
DAW-
Ableton 9.6

System-
MacBook Pro Intel Core i7
2.9 Ghz 8 GB
OSX 10.8.5

Interface-
Apollo Twin DUO

Monitors-
Yamaha HS7

pencilrocket
Posts: 1718
Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2010 10:46 am

Re: Automation snap-to-grid & breakpoint values

Post by pencilrocket » Mon Jan 04, 2016 11:32 pm

its been suggested for 20 years.... :evil:
Image

Idonotlikebroccoli
Posts: 1202
Joined: Thu Aug 11, 2005 12:29 pm
Location: Norway

Re: Automation snap-to-grid & breakpoint values

Post by Idonotlikebroccoli » Wed Jan 06, 2016 10:31 pm

+ 1 million
Please vote! Live 10's "multi" clip editing should allow selection+editing of multiple clips in one action:

(L10-SUG-0228) Multiple MIDI transpose

viewtopic.php?f=3&t=228094

Logic8807
Posts: 169
Joined: Sat Dec 03, 2011 1:25 pm

Re: Automation snap-to-grid & breakpoint values

Post by Logic8807 » Sat Jan 09, 2016 8:25 pm

WHY HAS THIS NOT BEEN ADDRESSED?!?!?!?
https://soundcloud.com/thegraysmith/asp ... itch-remix

Check me out...let me know what ya'll think.

Post Reply