Make Operator much more usable

Share your wishes for the future of Ableton Live
Post Reply
chapelier fou
Posts: 4928
Joined: Mon May 15, 2006 12:15 pm

Make Operator much more usable

Post by chapelier fou » Thu Jan 21, 2016 7:30 am

Add negative detune.
Add a global envelope.

Add a 2nd LFO. And crosspatching LFOs.
Route LFOs to any destination.
MacBook Pro 13" Retina i7 2.8 GHz OS 10.13, L10.0.1, M4L.
iMac 27" Retina i5 3,2 GHz OS 10.11.3 L10.0.1 M4L.

Thomasch
Posts: 47
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2011 1:32 am

Re: Make Operator much more usable

Post by Thomasch » Fri Jan 22, 2016 3:30 am

I'd like to add some points to chapelier fours wishlist:
Envelope Sections:
-Add slope parameters to the envelopestages of the ADSR envelopes.
-Add more envelope types (complex multistage envelopes with temposync/timesync option)
Oscillator Section:
-Add more oscillators and algorithms (8 oscillators instead of the 4 we have now)
-Enhance the oscillators (samples, wavetables, granular etc).
Maybe release it as a separate instrument and leave the Operator instrument as it is for compatibility reasons.

chapelier fou
Posts: 4928
Joined: Mon May 15, 2006 12:15 pm

Re: Make Operator much more usable

Post by chapelier fou » Fri Jan 22, 2016 11:18 am

+1 for the envelopes.
Regarding oscs, 4 seems to be enough to me, though.
MacBook Pro 13" Retina i7 2.8 GHz OS 10.13, L10.0.1, M4L.
iMac 27" Retina i5 3,2 GHz OS 10.11.3 L10.0.1 M4L.

[jur]
Site Admin
Posts: 1689
Joined: Mon Jun 01, 2015 3:04 pm
Location: Ableton

Re: Make Operator much more usable

Post by [jur] » Fri Jan 22, 2016 3:45 pm

+ 1000
Ableton Forum Moderator

Angstrom
Posts: 14662
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2004 2:22 pm
Contact:

Re: Make Operator much more usable

Post by Angstrom » Fri Jan 22, 2016 8:24 pm

I'd like one of the operator oscillators to be switchable to "audio in" or alternatively to have a sidechain input UI like the effect devices - that way we could route one Operator into another or use a sample as a modulator. Etc.

chapelier fou
Posts: 4928
Joined: Mon May 15, 2006 12:15 pm

Re: Make Operator much more usable

Post by chapelier fou » Sat Jan 23, 2016 1:15 am

Great suggestion Angstrom.
MacBook Pro 13" Retina i7 2.8 GHz OS 10.13, L10.0.1, M4L.
iMac 27" Retina i5 3,2 GHz OS 10.11.3 L10.0.1 M4L.

downfader
Posts: 808
Joined: Sat Jun 09, 2007 6:21 pm
Location: Southampton, UK
Contact:

Re: Make Operator much more usable

Post by downfader » Sat Feb 06, 2016 11:06 am

Angstrom wrote:I'd like one of the operator oscillators to be switchable to "audio in" or alternatively to have a sidechain input UI like the effect devices - that way we could route one Operator into another or use a sample as a modulator. Etc.
This.

Also agree with the other ideas. It seems a good idea to me to be able to add in or delete operators in a chain, too, or perhaps to be able to route/split/mix them somehow.

The basic design of this thing hasnt changed much in a few years. Would be very cool if it could be given an overhaul.
Official Streams
The Tired Horizon

skttrbrn
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Feb 08, 2016 11:05 pm

Re: Make Operator much more usable

Post by skttrbrn » Wed Feb 10, 2016 11:13 am

All great suggestions!

With the addition of four more oscillators, I'd love to see some sort of compatibility with DX7 presets (or a way to convert/approximate them) akin to the functionality of FM8.

Idonotlikebroccoli
Posts: 1202
Joined: Thu Aug 11, 2005 12:29 pm
Location: Norway

Re: Make Operator much more usable

Post by Idonotlikebroccoli » Wed Feb 10, 2016 12:12 pm

Audio in would be so cool! 8O
Please vote! Live 10's "multi" clip editing should allow selection+editing of multiple clips in one action:

(L10-SUG-0228) Multiple MIDI transpose

viewtopic.php?f=3&t=228094

NoSonic822
Posts: 700
Joined: Sat Jun 01, 2013 8:38 am

Re: Make Operator much more usable

Post by NoSonic822 » Thu Feb 11, 2016 7:43 am

or add a pitch tracker like in the vocoder....so you can use it like a theremin

ie. use operator as the audio output but have some sort of envelope follower that would track midi and or audio input

j hubez
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Nov 19, 2015 11:35 am

Re: Make Operator much more usable

Post by j hubez » Mon Mar 14, 2016 10:17 am

It would be nice if, when using the 'low' and 'high' modes in the LFO section, the knob displayed rate in Hz, rather than the practically useless 1-127 value range. Currently you can only see the corresponding Hz rate in the status bar at the bottom while clicking/hovering on the knob. This is better than nothing, but it is not great for some situations, like when trying to map multiple Hz rate parameters from different devices to a macro knob.

I understand that it may be this way because the Rate<Key function acts as a multiplier on the 1-127 range to produce the final Hz value. It would be ideal if the Hz value could be calculated and displayed on the knob in real time. And personally I don't get much use out of the Rate<Key function (and it's something that can theoretically always be automated in note by note), so if it had to be one or the other, I'd take the Hz display.

chapelier fou
Posts: 4928
Joined: Mon May 15, 2006 12:15 pm

Re: Make Operator much more usable

Post by chapelier fou » Fri Nov 04, 2016 11:19 am

Please please please !!!!!

The lack of negative detune is just currently ruining something i was working on :

Simply be able to play keys over a DJ set.

The only workaround is to add a Pitch Midi FX (-1st) and then pitch up. That's insanely unintuitive.
MacBook Pro 13" Retina i7 2.8 GHz OS 10.13, L10.0.1, M4L.
iMac 27" Retina i5 3,2 GHz OS 10.11.3 L10.0.1 M4L.

NoSonic822
Posts: 700
Joined: Sat Jun 01, 2013 8:38 am

Re: Make Operator much more usable

Post by NoSonic822 » Mon Nov 07, 2016 4:30 am

Add a global envelope
thats what the "time" knob is for...it lets you control the global envelope.

chapelier fou
Posts: 4928
Joined: Mon May 15, 2006 12:15 pm

Re: Make Operator much more usable

Post by chapelier fou » Mon Nov 07, 2016 9:02 am

Not really.
I mean a global envelope for the final stage VCA. With the "time" knob, you cannot for instance, adjust only the Release for all operators.
MacBook Pro 13" Retina i7 2.8 GHz OS 10.13, L10.0.1, M4L.
iMac 27" Retina i5 3,2 GHz OS 10.11.3 L10.0.1 M4L.

downfader
Posts: 808
Joined: Sat Jun 09, 2007 6:21 pm
Location: Southampton, UK
Contact:

Re: Make Operator much more usable

Post by downfader » Mon Nov 07, 2016 7:32 pm

chapelier fou wrote:Not really.
I mean a global envelope for the final stage VCA. With the "time" knob, you cannot for instance, adjust only the Release for all operators.
I think this is a worthwhile idea. Time adjustment is OK but it could be more intricate.

I also use Operator in stacked modes and layer up in Instrument Racks to get the effect I want. I'm sure with 2-4 extra operators the whole thing could become more efficient for both composer and the dreaded CPU.
Official Streams
The Tired Horizon

Post Reply