Lock MIDI

Share your wishes for the future of Ableton Live
Post Reply
8E
Posts: 388
Joined: Sun May 05, 2013 11:25 am
Location: +ICXC·NIKA+

Lock MIDI

Post by 8E » Fri Jan 22, 2016 9:48 am

Hello.
I work with MIDI only (no audio), in Arrangement view.
I have recorded a MIDI clip. Now, I want to "lock" it somehow, so that when I change the master tempo, the SPEED of that clip is retained. This "lock" affects the length and position of the MIDI values when the tempo is changed.
(that option is available in Logic).

Possible?
MacOS Mojave MacBook Pro (15", Mid 2015), 2,5 GHz i7, 16GB RAM
Live Suite 10.1.15 + Push 1
U-PHORIA UMC204HD

David.L
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Nov 25, 2009 9:31 pm

Re: Lock MIDI

Post by David.L » Tue Nov 05, 2019 2:16 pm

Hi,
did you find a way ?
thx

8E
Posts: 388
Joined: Sun May 05, 2013 11:25 am
Location: +ICXC·NIKA+

Re: Lock MIDI

Post by 8E » Tue Nov 05, 2019 2:33 pm

David.L wrote:
Tue Nov 05, 2019 2:16 pm
Hi,
did you find a way ?
thx
The only way is to use another software. I use Logic.
MacOS Mojave MacBook Pro (15", Mid 2015), 2,5 GHz i7, 16GB RAM
Live Suite 10.1.15 + Push 1
U-PHORIA UMC204HD

Da hand
Posts: 1653
Joined: Sat Jan 18, 2003 8:38 pm
Location: Montreal, Canada

Re: Lock MIDI

Post by Da hand » Tue Nov 05, 2019 6:49 pm

ShelLuser wrote:
Tue Nov 05, 2019 4:27 pm
Depending on the end goal you probably could have achieved this by using session mode.
Not sure that is very helpful. How would you propose to achieve that? I don't see how Session would work differently from Arrangement in this case.

jonljacobi
Posts: 529
Joined: Sat Dec 30, 2017 3:36 am

Re: Lock MIDI

Post by jonljacobi » Tue Nov 05, 2019 9:40 pm

No way that I have heard of to lock MIDI notes to time. However, you can use the stretch notes feature to spread them over a shorter or larger number of bars if you don't mind a bit of math. I wouldn't want to try this live, but it should probably give you the desired effect though it affects note lengths as well. You can easily adjust those though.

If you don't know what I'm talking about, open the clip editor, deselect loop, change the end of the clip if you need more room, select all the notes and expand or contract their bar range using the two markers above the first and last notes in the selection. Without deselecting the notes, drag the right end of one to change all their durations.

Da hand
Posts: 1653
Joined: Sat Jan 18, 2003 8:38 pm
Location: Montreal, Canada

Re: Lock MIDI

Post by Da hand » Mon Nov 11, 2019 8:18 am

ShelLuser wrote:
Wed Nov 06, 2019 9:41 am
Da hand wrote:
Tue Nov 05, 2019 6:49 pm
ShelLuser wrote:
Tue Nov 05, 2019 4:27 pm
Depending on the end goal you probably could have achieved this by using session mode.
Not sure that is very helpful. How would you propose to achieve that? I don't see how Session would work differently from Arrangement in this case.
It depends on their definition of locking, my interpretation would be to prevent midi clips getting moved into other locations. Which is most likely to happen in the arrangement view, not the session view.

As always with these issues it's much better to also specify why you're asking so that others might be able to find other ways to solve the initial problem but of course most people don't bother with that because they already determined that their question is the only thing which can 'solve' things.

(edit) IMO it seems pretty normal for midi clips to change their tempo based on the main tempo but ey... ;)
For sure, things can sometimes be understood in different ways. In this instance I just thought that, if you read their entire sentence, the person explained quite clearly what they meant by locking. But that was my view of it. So I was just trying to avoid them going on a hunt down the wrong path or for you to explain more form your side what you propose they do. I agree that giving other perspectives or understandings of the problem is good too ;)

8E
Posts: 388
Joined: Sun May 05, 2013 11:25 am
Location: +ICXC·NIKA+

Re: Lock MIDI

Post by 8E » Fri Nov 15, 2019 2:30 pm

ShelLuser wrote:
Wed Nov 06, 2019 9:41 am
Da hand wrote:
Tue Nov 05, 2019 6:49 pm
ShelLuser wrote:
Tue Nov 05, 2019 4:27 pm
Depending on the end goal you probably could have achieved this by using session mode.
Not sure that is very helpful. How would you propose to achieve that? I don't see how Session would work differently from Arrangement in this case.
It depends on their definition of locking, my interpretation would be to prevent midi clips getting moved into other locations. Which is most likely to happen in the arrangement view, not the session view.

As always with these issues it's much better to also specify why you're asking so that others might be able to find other ways to solve the initial problem but of course most people don't bother with that because they already determined that their question is the only thing which can 'solve' things.

(edit) IMO it seems pretty normal for midi clips to change their tempo based on the main tempo but ey... ;)
No, the Session mode has nothing to do with locking the MIDI clip tempo (as with SMPTE lock). The question is specified very clearly, please don't answer to the title but to the post.
It is perfectly valid to have a MIDI clip locked to the internal tempo, separated from the main tempo. Live just can't do it.
MacOS Mojave MacBook Pro (15", Mid 2015), 2,5 GHz i7, 16GB RAM
Live Suite 10.1.15 + Push 1
U-PHORIA UMC204HD

8E
Posts: 388
Joined: Sun May 05, 2013 11:25 am
Location: +ICXC·NIKA+

Re: Lock MIDI

Post by 8E » Fri Nov 15, 2019 2:33 pm

jonljacobi wrote:
Tue Nov 05, 2019 9:40 pm
No way that I have heard of to lock MIDI notes to time. However, you can use the stretch notes feature to spread them over a shorter or larger number of bars if you don't mind a bit of math. I wouldn't want to try this live, but it should probably give you the desired effect though it affects note lengths as well. You can easily adjust those though.
That would be a simple solution so far you don't have increasing or decreasing of tempo values. Than it is a nightmare.

MIDI-tempo-lock is the feature we need.
MacOS Mojave MacBook Pro (15", Mid 2015), 2,5 GHz i7, 16GB RAM
Live Suite 10.1.15 + Push 1
U-PHORIA UMC204HD

jonljacobi
Posts: 529
Joined: Sat Dec 30, 2017 3:36 am

Re: Lock MIDI

Post by jonljacobi » Fri Nov 15, 2019 2:42 pm

Well, then the only solution at the moment is to render it to audio and turn warp off

8E
Posts: 388
Joined: Sun May 05, 2013 11:25 am
Location: +ICXC·NIKA+

Re: Lock MIDI

Post by 8E » Fri Dec 06, 2019 6:15 am

jonljacobi wrote:
Fri Nov 15, 2019 2:42 pm
Well, then the only solution at the moment is to render it to audio and turn warp off
That is not a solution if you need to further edit MIDI notes.
MacOS Mojave MacBook Pro (15", Mid 2015), 2,5 GHz i7, 16GB RAM
Live Suite 10.1.15 + Push 1
U-PHORIA UMC204HD

[jur]
Site Admin
Posts: 2152
Joined: Mon Jun 01, 2015 3:04 pm
Location: Ableton

Re: Lock MIDI

Post by [jur] » Fri Dec 06, 2019 7:31 am

You could render your midi clip to audio > place warp markers on it > adjust your tempo > convert this audi back to midi. :?
This could work with very simple sounds coming out of your midi instrument, but yeah, that's just not a realistic workaround.

I'm moving this topic to the Feature Wishlist forum.
Ableton Forum Moderator

jonljacobi
Posts: 529
Joined: Sat Dec 30, 2017 3:36 am

Re: Lock MIDI

Post by jonljacobi » Fri Dec 06, 2019 3:50 pm

8E wrote:
Fri Dec 06, 2019 6:15 am
jonljacobi wrote:
Fri Nov 15, 2019 2:42 pm
Well, then the only solution at the moment is to render it to audio and turn warp off
That is not a solution if you need to further edit MIDI notes.
Obviously, but you can always repeat the process. Not optimal, but the only game in town.

8E
Posts: 388
Joined: Sun May 05, 2013 11:25 am
Location: +ICXC·NIKA+

Re: Lock MIDI

Post by 8E » Sun Dec 08, 2019 10:23 am

jonljacobi wrote:
Fri Dec 06, 2019 3:50 pm
8E wrote:
Fri Dec 06, 2019 6:15 am
jonljacobi wrote:
Fri Nov 15, 2019 2:42 pm
Well, then the only solution at the moment is to render it to audio and turn warp off
That is not a solution if you need to further edit MIDI notes.
Obviously, but you can always repeat the process. Not optimal, but the only game in town.
As said, that is not solution. We need MIDI lock.
MacOS Mojave MacBook Pro (15", Mid 2015), 2,5 GHz i7, 16GB RAM
Live Suite 10.1.15 + Push 1
U-PHORIA UMC204HD

diegux
Posts: 39
Joined: Sat Oct 16, 2010 9:16 pm

Re: Lock MIDI

Post by diegux » Thu May 21, 2020 9:57 pm

We need this. I really hope it will be included in 10.2
hard to score to video without an option to lock clips

Post Reply