Add a polyphony limit to instrument rack

Share your wishes for the future of Ableton Live
Post Reply
chapelier fou
Posts: 5034
Joined: Mon May 15, 2006 12:15 pm

Add a polyphony limit to instrument rack

Post by chapelier fou » Tue Feb 09, 2016 12:26 pm

That's it.
When creating large instruments with lots of simplers for instance, it's impossible to limit the effective polyphony. This annoys me.
MacBook Pro 13" Retina i7 2.8 GHz OS 10.13, L10.0.1, M4L.
iMac 27" Retina i5 3,2 GHz OS 10.11.3 L10.0.1 M4L.

downfader
Posts: 824
Joined: Sat Jun 09, 2007 6:21 pm
Location: Southampton, UK
Contact:

Re: Add a polyphony limit to instrument rack

Post by downfader » Sat Feb 13, 2016 4:33 pm

Good idea
Official Streams
The Tired Horizon

miekwave
Posts: 752
Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2012 8:49 pm
Location: Austin, TX
Contact:

Re: Add a polyphony limit to instrument rack

Post by miekwave » Sun Feb 14, 2016 11:18 pm

Simpler/Sampler has a polyphony limiter, analog has a poly limiter, kontact has a poly limiter, ewql play has poly limiter, almost all 'analog' vst's has a poly limiter especially for mono patches (1 voice or 2-4 unison voices), I am wonder which MIDI instrument vst or hardware is giving you poly limit issue?

The only Ableton can natively address this for 3rd party Software (VST) or Hardware (Module/Keyboard) is to create a new poly limit MIDI Effects rack which limits the number of simutanious midi not on messages and has note on/off gate definitions to define voice
Check out some of my soundtracks. Also Ableton Live Performance video.

ImageImage

downfader
Posts: 824
Joined: Sat Jun 09, 2007 6:21 pm
Location: Southampton, UK
Contact:

Re: Add a polyphony limit to instrument rack

Post by downfader » Mon Feb 15, 2016 3:54 pm

It would be quite good, Miekwave to have a universal setting in the rack to override though
Official Streams
The Tired Horizon

chapelier fou
Posts: 5034
Joined: Mon May 15, 2006 12:15 pm

Re: Add a polyphony limit to instrument rack

Post by chapelier fou » Tue Feb 16, 2016 8:20 am

miekwave wrote:
The only Ableton can natively address this for 3rd party Software (VST) or Hardware (Module/Keyboard) is to create a new poly limit MIDI Effects rack which limits the number of simutanious midi not on messages and has note on/off gate definitions to define voice
Yeah, well i have to use m4l for this. I wish it could be handled by live.
MacBook Pro 13" Retina i7 2.8 GHz OS 10.13, L10.0.1, M4L.
iMac 27" Retina i5 3,2 GHz OS 10.11.3 L10.0.1 M4L.

Kristijonas
Posts: 110
Joined: Mon Sep 26, 2005 2:48 pm
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

Re: Add a polyphony limit to instrument rack

Post by Kristijonas » Wed Jan 04, 2017 1:42 pm

What m4l plugin did you use for this? Please, share your experience.
chapelier fou wrote: Yeah, well i have to use m4l for this. I wish it could be handled by live.

Post Reply