Page 1 of 1

Cycle Record (Loop Record)

Posted: Tue Mar 14, 2017 4:00 am
by lucaspottersky
I wish Live provided some way to Cycle Record (Loop Record), ideally just like Logic Pro X. Otherwise, maybe an option to make "Record button" overwrite the existing clip, as opposed to overdubbing it.

Re: Cycle Record (Loop Record)

Posted: Tue Mar 14, 2017 2:23 pm
by Stromkraft
lucaspottersky wrote:I wish Live provided some way to Cycle Record (Loop Record), ideally just like Logic Pro X. Otherwise, maybe an option to make "Record button" overwrite the existing clip, as opposed to overdubbing it.
As if we all use Logic. Care to elaborate?

Re: Cycle Record (Loop Record)

Posted: Tue Mar 14, 2017 2:39 pm
by lucaspottersky
Stromkraft wrote:
lucaspottersky wrote:I wish Live provided some way to Cycle Record (Loop Record), ideally just like Logic Pro X. Otherwise, maybe an option to make "Record button" overwrite the existing clip, as opposed to overdubbing it.
As if we all use Logic. Care to elaborate?

Sorry about that. I'm new to this. I mentioned Logic, but I believe it's a standard feature across other DAWs.

I mean, I'd like Live to have some ability to record a Clip in multiple takes, so if I mess up the 1st time, I can try a 2nd, 3rd take endlessly, until I get it right.

Right now here's my workflow:
  • I play a Scene and want to record a new Clip for a Track
  • Enable Arm Record/Record for a Clip
  • then I mess up
  • stop everything I was doing
  • delete the Clip
  • repeat

Example: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8XYaxtomss8

Re: Cycle Record (Loop Record)

Posted: Sat Mar 18, 2017 5:20 pm
by lucaspottersky
These workflows work for me, I think:
Is this the most efficient way to do this sort of thing?

Re: Cycle Record (Loop Record)

Posted: Sat Mar 18, 2017 6:02 pm
by Stromkraft
lucaspottersky wrote: Right now here's my workflow:
  • I play a Scene and want to record a new Clip for a Track
  • Enable Arm Record/Record for a Clip
  • then I mess up
Here's a possible future work flow:
  • You play a scene and want to record a new Clip for one of the tracks in this scene
  • Enable Arm Record for this track
  • Press the Overdub button and start recording
  • When you are just before the clip length you want press the play button of the clip. Overdub will remain active and clip will start to loop so you can continue playing and recording.
  • then you mess up
  • Select undo (Ctrl/Cmd-z). Only the last addition will be removed, clip continues to play back and recording in overdub mode.
  • Repeat until satisfied. While playing back you can still quantize and move notes around.
[/list]