Page 6 of 8

Re: MPE support.

Posted: Thu Sep 20, 2018 1:07 am
by Sargentpilcher
annihilator.1 wrote:Hi

I don't use a ROLI or other MPE input device but,
I do often create instrument racks with instrument(s) per note, so can see the need for a MPE capable synth &/or lives current synths needing to add support, in my use case changing a preset & automation of chords would be far simpler.

Lee
You seriously hit the nail on the head. I DO have a ROLI and I like the idea of MPE compatibility, so I got bitwig, and you can program in some really cool stuff very easily with their per note automation. It's actually REALLY cool.

Re: MPE support.

Posted: Sun Oct 07, 2018 11:55 am
by marlasky
I am new to this topic. A few years ago I started out experimenting with 'electronic music' and after some research settled on Ableton Live as my DAW. I have been learning slowly, and been very happy so far.
That is until now...my interest has changed/expanded somewhat, and thanks to some increase in budget, I have been able to dive into hardware synthesis. For next year, I am looking into the Linnstrument to control my synth, and that is how I came across MPE, and the lack of support in Ableton.
Apart from that, my old mac mini will be needing a replacement in the (near) future, and as I do not intend to buy any mac that is not user-upgradeable, and want to avoid windows as much as possible, Linux looks perfect. Now if only Ableton could match Bitwig on MPE and Linux support...

Re: MPE support.

Posted: Thu Oct 18, 2018 2:11 am
by Worldpeace
i really, REALLY HOPE AND WISH, ableton will release an update for LiVE 10 that has MPE support.
My setup is based around the PUSH 2 and a roli seaboard. its a total disaster.

The current state of affairs has essentially ruined my workflow. Its a nightmare, period. Even beyond the cumbersome workarounds of setting up 16 MIDI tracks with a host, and having to arm them all and disarm them all individual, and beyond the fact that that only gets you one track of an MPE instrument, within a track that will definitely have many layers of different MPE tracks.
one is then in the possibly worse position where editing is nearly impossible, and most definitely not functional in session view.

Please ableton. please. Help us. Give us some indication if we should hold our breath or not.

:?: :?: :?: :?: :?: :?: :?: :?: :?: :?: :?: :?: :?: :?: :?:

Re: MPE support.

Posted: Sat Oct 20, 2018 7:57 am
by chapelier fou
+1 as I’m waiting for my seaboard to arrive today.
The “16 tracks” workaround is not a real solution since it makes midi effects unusable. And automation editing a nightmare.

Re: MPE support.

Posted: Mon Oct 22, 2018 1:44 pm
by thomashalp
another +321932 from me.
Eagerly but also anxiously searching for information on this every single day :cry:

Re: MPE support.

Posted: Tue Oct 23, 2018 9:44 am
by zerfranzt
I HOPE AND WISH, ableton will release an update for LiVE 10 that has MPE Support!!!!!!!

Re: MPE support.

Posted: Mon Nov 12, 2018 8:16 am
by thomashalp
this is getting weirder and weirder

http://www.synthtopia.com/content/2018/ ... e-of-midi/

the positive me says that this means they're waiting for the mpe or other midi standard to be formed before they decide to implement it.
The negative me says that they are being hypocrits and have to intention of implementing any of this ever

They should at least start by allowing certain messages to pass trough in the first place, without actively stripping them from the midi signals....

Re: MPE support.

Posted: Mon Nov 12, 2018 10:40 pm
by Allphil4
Bitwig implements it really well. I've been using Ableton for around 10 years now so would prefer not to switch at this stage. Hopefully Ableton and NI joining MMA means that MPE will be in there in the future. It's a bit frustrating how silent Ableton is about things. All they need to say is that they're looking into it and working out how to implement, and a number of people will at least be slightly comforted.

Re: MPE support.

Posted: Wed Nov 14, 2018 8:06 pm
by H20nly
Allphil4 wrote: All they need to say is that they're looking into it and working out how to implement, and a number of people will at least be slightly comforted.
and an even larger number of people will spit outraged vitriol... there's no appeasing an end user who flippantly demands that coders just...

Re: MPE support.

Posted: Mon Nov 19, 2018 4:26 pm
by thomashalp
Have been in touch with the artist relation team, and they said the following

- Are aware of the need for mpe
- Are working on it
- Dont want to rush its implementation because when not done properly it will result in a poor user experienc

I'm also guessing they are taking it slow because the actual format seems to be still developing and might be consolidated into midi 3.0

Re: MPE support.

Posted: Sat Nov 24, 2018 3:53 pm
by Phende
Just another frustrated +1

Re: MPE support.

Posted: Sun Nov 25, 2018 9:35 pm
by alec.tron
thomashalp wrote:this is getting weirder and weirder
http://www.synthtopia.com/content/2018/ ... e-of-midi/
Interesting...!
thomashalp wrote:the positive me says
My semi positive take - there could also be a push3 in the works with fully formed MPE capabilities... marketing wise, if seen from that angle it would also make sense to hold back releasing MPE for Live... so Ableton users are hesitant buying into MPE devices from other manufacturers for now.

c.

Re: MPE support.

Posted: Mon Nov 26, 2018 3:17 pm
by thomashalp
alec.tron wrote:
thomashalp wrote:the positive me says
marketing wise, if seen from that angle it would also make sense to hold back releasing MPE for Live... so Ableton users are hesitant buying into MPE devices from other manufacturers for now.

c.
thats actually a good point.

They did tell me they were working on it..
So lets be patient a couple of more months and then get out our pitchforks again lol

Re: MPE support.

Posted: Sat Dec 22, 2018 2:36 pm
by spitfire31
thomashalp wrote:Have been in touch with the artist relation team, and they said the following

- Are aware of the need for mpe
- Are working on it
- Dont want to rush its implementation because when not done properly it will result in a poor user experienc

I'm also guessing they are taking it slow because the actual format seems to be still developing and might be consolidated into midi 3.0
Well, MPE seems to be mature enough for Apple to include it in Logic, so…

In February, I'm going to get me a Seaboard 25 Rise for my Audio Modeling saxes and strings, so I guess I'll have to put Live 10 in the freezer and re-learn Logic… ;-)

Seriously, it's high time for Ableton to show some leadership here.

/Joachim

Re: MPE support.

Posted: Tue Jan 22, 2019 8:59 pm
by thomashalp
bump

installed bitwig today i've had enough