why must parameters lose their value when mapped to a macro?

Share your wishes for the future of Ableton Live
Post Reply
illinx
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Oct 23, 2009 7:38 pm

why must parameters lose their value when mapped to a macro?

Post by illinx » Thu Feb 08, 2018 8:04 pm

hello,

in a rack, when you map a parameter to a macro-knob, the current parameter-value is overwritten because the "macro-morphing-range" is set to full range: is there any way to change this behaviour?

macro-controllers would be so much more fun if you didn't have to remember the current value and punch it in manually.
on the other hand, if you WANT the mapped parameter to be macro-controlled full range and lose it's current value, it's only one click.

i have done a quick search for this topic on the forum but couldn't find a related thread.
anyway, i apologize if this has been asked before. i was hoping that this might change with live 10, but didn't ...

all the best from vienna
illinx
Last edited by illinx on Fri Feb 09, 2018 4:25 pm, edited 1 time in total.

S4racen
Posts: 5377
Joined: Fri Aug 24, 2007 4:08 pm
Location: Dunstable
Contact:

Re: why do parameters lose their value when mapped to a macro?

Post by S4racen » Thu Feb 08, 2018 9:47 pm

Thats how it works....

Cheers
D

illinx
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Oct 23, 2009 7:38 pm

Re: why must parameters lose their value when mapped to a macro?

Post by illinx » Sun Feb 11, 2018 7:17 am

that's pretty accurate ...

but does it have to be this way ? : )

greetings!

Tarekith
Posts: 17576
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2005 11:46 pm
Location: Ableton Forum Administrator
Contact:

Re: why must parameters lose their value when mapped to a macro?

Post by Tarekith » Sun Feb 11, 2018 3:56 pm

I’d love to see this changed myself.

Warmonger
Posts: 130
Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2007 7:02 pm
Location: Warsaw, Poland
Contact:

Re: why must parameters lose their value when mapped to a macro?

Post by Warmonger » Mon Feb 12, 2018 8:14 am

This is very annoying and shouldn't happen. Ideally on first map macro knob shoudl align to target.

Post Reply