Ableton 10 needs some serious revision

Share what you’d like to see added to Ableton Live.
SiLi

Ableton 10 needs some serious revision

Post by SiLi » Wed Feb 28, 2018 12:51 am

Hi Ableton Crew :)

I want to share my thoughts about Ableton Live 10.

I've been using it for over 7 years now and there are still missing some in my eyes very essential features. To be honest, I wouldn't have upgraded to 10, but I really want to use the ConvolutionReverb from Max, which made my Live 9 crash all the time (I still think it's because I'm using a new CPU from AMD). The "groups in groups" is great, aswell as the multiple midi clip edit. The "audio effect rack" tool is still the greatest thing ever!

But in my eyes some essential features are way more important than a new innovative echo delay for example... so why not get the fundamentals first?

1. Direct sidechain input for vst plugins:
This is a standard in pretty much every other DAW. In music nowadays everything gets sidechained (kick to bass, dry to reverb...). I don't want to have to create a new audio channel everytime I need to sidechain something. It would be great to have a separate dropdown available in the vst window (like the one from logic) to input audio tracks aswell as midi tracks (take the midi from the kick as a trigger for the LFO-Tool for example). Of course I have found a workaround (I use multiple "external instrument"-tools grouped with the kick simpler to send the midi to the LFO-Tools on the affected tracks. But it would be way simpler to just choose the external input from a dropdown.

2. Use the mouse wheel button to pan (arrangement- and sessionview):
Everytime I need to switch from zooming to panning, I need to press the alt key and let go of it again. Either make the zoom-scroll function also work with Ctrl + Alt or add the feature to use the mouse wheel button for panning.

3. Select multiple clips by ctrl+clicking (arrangement view):