Page 2 of 2

Re: Freeze clips (rather than the entire track)

Posted: Thu May 17, 2018 2:35 pm
by Nokatus
antic604 wrote:Yes, but that was just a typical use case.

You can for example send the sound to Reverb, but then use Time Shift to delay the actual sound source so you're reverb will sound before the signal it responds to.
That's very cool :) and also a technique I use in Live using Max based routing (and perfectly possible, so not what I was talking about -- but cool).

Re: Freeze clips (rather than the entire track)

Posted: Fri May 18, 2018 3:10 pm
by Stromkraft
Stromkraft wrote:@antic604, I'm not following. As I understood the suggestion it's about freezing everything in a few clips rather than all clips in a track.

While freezing just the instruments would be very welcome I think that's a different suggestion? I assume I missed something, so please clarify.
Yeah… Though I think of this as "freeze in place" (like the original "Bounce in place"). At the moment Live tracks are either MIDI or audio, so it's not a trivial change that is requested then, coming to think of it.

I do think this could be a very useful feature indeed.

Re: Freeze clips (rather than the entire track)

Posted: Sat Jun 23, 2018 5:14 pm
by Siika
Wowza, back a year later. @Antic604, you get me. @Stromkraft, I agree that this feature is at odds with the current nature of Live's audio and midi tracks. The Bounce clip to audio context menu option sounds like a suitable solution. I am, however, intrigued by the possibility of having one track capable of handling midi and audio like antic showed us was possible in Bitwig and Reaper.

I hope this feature gets pushed.

Cheers!

Re: Freeze clips (rather than the entire track)

Posted: Mon Feb 11, 2019 7:23 pm
by Siika
BUMP!