STRIP SILENCE

Share your wishes for the future of Ableton Live
Post Reply
swingsetcommittee
Posts: 19
Joined: Sat Jun 13, 2009 2:19 pm

STRIP SILENCE

Post by swingsetcommittee » Tue Jul 17, 2018 10:55 pm

I'm sure anyone coming from literally any other DAW misses this feature, especially if you ever remix or collaborate using stems from another session. Please give us this basic short cut to save us from having to manually chop up and delete silence on every individual track manually when we import them into Ableton.

Tarekith
Posts: 17875
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2005 11:46 pm
Location: Ableton Forum Administrator
Contact:

Re: STRIP SILENCE

Post by Tarekith » Tue Jul 17, 2018 11:10 pm

+1 for me, this is something I use constantly for client mixdowns.
Tarekith
Ableton Forum Administrator
Inner Portal Studio - Professional Audio Mastering

H20nly
Posts: 15857
Joined: Sat Oct 27, 2007 9:15 pm
Location: The Wild West

Re: STRIP SILENCE

Post by H20nly » Wed Jul 18, 2018 11:45 pm

i'd like it too. bouncing stems from DAW to DAW this would save time. also with vocal takes where there is just enough line noise to add mud when the vocalist is in between verses or parts.

vido
Posts: 238
Joined: Wed May 06, 2009 8:39 pm
Location: Oslo, Norway
Contact:

Re: STRIP SILENCE

Post by vido » Tue Aug 21, 2018 1:12 am

Yes why not. Even some times recording is done on the wrong track and ends up in total silence. Getting rid of all silence would be great.
Collab with Jeremy Blake of Red Means Recording:

Blake and Axe; "All The Light I Do Not See"
Spotify: https://goo.gl/MR8Wjr
Tidal: https://goo.gl/s35W33
Google Play: https://goo.gl/HQ1g7E
Amazon: https://goo.gl/cx5dUL

Not the usual stuff.

andres.yuhnke
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Jun 29, 2019 8:44 pm

Re: STRIP SILENCE

Post by andres.yuhnke » Sat Jun 29, 2019 8:45 pm

Upvote +1000

kewadubz
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Dec 17, 2019 9:04 pm

Re: STRIP SILENCE

Post by kewadubz » Tue Dec 17, 2019 9:06 pm

just here to bump/upvote. much needed feature

jonljacobi
Posts: 685
Joined: Sat Dec 30, 2017 3:36 am

Re: STRIP SILENCE

Post by jonljacobi » Tue Dec 17, 2019 9:27 pm

Real question. Why exactly are you stripping the silence?

Tarekith
Posts: 17875
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2005 11:46 pm
Location: Ableton Forum Administrator
Contact:

Re: STRIP SILENCE

Post by Tarekith » Tue Dec 17, 2019 11:25 pm

For me it's just a visual thing. When someone sends me tracks to mix, it can be hard to get a handle on the overall structure of the song when everything is a song length clip of color. With a quick strip silence command, I can very easily see where the breaks are, the ending wind down, the drop, build ups, etc. It also makes it easier to find things when the client tells me to turn up the last 4 kicks before the break down, stuff like that.
Tarekith
Ableton Forum Administrator
Inner Portal Studio - Professional Audio Mastering

Mr.Cello
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Oct 05, 2020 12:43 am

Re: STRIP SILENCE

Post by Mr.Cello » Mon Oct 05, 2020 12:45 am

Bumping this. I agree what it would be super useful, and seems like a relatively trivial thing to add. Anyone know if this has gotten traction. People have been asking for over 10 years from what I can tell with a cursory search.

doctor_bower
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Nov 14, 2009 2:38 am

Re: STRIP SILENCE

Post by doctor_bower » Sat Dec 26, 2020 12:32 pm

This is absolutely essential. I spent 5 hours today on a project due to this missing feature, where I had top combine several projects with over 100 +tracks each. Unacceptable not to have it!

Post Reply