All times are UTC

 
 



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

VOTE!
Poll runs till Tue Dec 24, 2019 12:12 am
5 Stars 100%  100%  [ 1 ]
4 Stars 0%  0%  [ 0 ]
3 Stars 0%  0%  [ 0 ]
2 Stars 0%  0%  [ 0 ]
1 Star 0%  0%  [ 0 ]
Total votes : 1
Author Message
 Post subject: Save VST data with the clips
PostPosted: Sun Dec 23, 2018 11:59 pm 

Joined: Fri Oct 28, 2016 6:11 pm
Posts: 120
Location: Outside the Universe
When live loads a session, data is loaded in to the vst synths.

So, please ableton it should be possible to load data on the fly with each clip change too?

Or is there something i'm missing? unlimited clips but not sounds, just a single sound preset for each track?

Come on now team, live is 10 years old , I may sound unbelievable but creating an entire album in a single live session is too frustrating...

If you say loading data from a clip in to a vst will have a delay then have a time setting to load the data before the clip plays.
There's no excuses now to have unlimited clip sounds :) and ill be ever so happy! x


Last edited by Paul G Griffiths on Mon Dec 24, 2018 5:45 am, edited 2 times in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Save VST data with the clips
PostPosted: Mon Dec 24, 2018 4:55 am 

Joined: Fri Oct 28, 2016 6:11 pm
Posts: 120
Location: Outside the Universe
Here's how it is, it's almost 5 in the morning and I start making music, have a decent sound and I want to blow peoples minds, but sigh, live is like a 10 second tape glued in a loop.

Should we call it loopy live? Some things don't roll right, I aint smoking your shit no more... later...


Seeing live as a spread sheet and yourself making money is a mist in your mind when you could have a decent piece of software and change the world of music..

Never mind... what am I saying, get out of bed and make your punters happy :)


"T H E D R U G S D O W O R K A N D A B L E T O N W A N T S T O S E E Y O U R F A C E A G A I N"


Only ableton would put a spoiler, go faster stripes, chrome dust caps, fluffy dice and everything else on to a washing mangle.
Now I know the word "spoiler".

I do understand why live intro has only 8 clips, it's all live is capable of and suite is only in ableton's wallet... Suite I'm making money.


Some of may remember me as AVA, remember disco light plugin crap I was creating.... well I'm off the drugs now and I'm creating my own processor/computer... Clever shit... and been playing with robotics... would like to do some lighting again thoh but live is too loopy - loopy - loopy - loopy - loopy - loop - loo - lo - l - - - - . .


Happy Christmas everyone one, and ableton have a happy excrement, I can't afford you the coal...Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Save VST data with the clips
PostPosted: Mon Dec 24, 2018 5:59 am 

Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2005 11:46 pm
Posts: 17189
Location: Ableton Forum Administrator
Step away from the computa.

:lol:

_________________
Erik M.
InnerPortalStudio.com - Professional Audio Mastering


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Save VST data with the clips
PostPosted: Mon Dec 24, 2018 8:52 am 

Joined: Mon May 04, 2009 1:02 pm
Posts: 525
If the VST supports program change messages (most instruments do in my experience) you can do this via the pgm change boxes at the bottom left of the clip. You would have to save custom sounds as a VST preset (not an Ableton preset).

It also turns out that if you automate a parameter in one clip but not another it will return to the initial setting rather than stay on the automated value when you go toa non-automated clip. Someone posted complaining about this but to me it's a highly useful feature and gives some aspects of what you want (i.e. you cna automate one clip in a set without having to put automation in all the others returning them to a default value, and you can use this to change the sound in a clip)

So...you could use this feature to e.g. have multiple instances of the VST in a rack with differnet sounds (or even complete chains) and use the clips to switch between them by automating the chain selector. Less useful if the VST is a CPU hog like Omnisphere I suppose.

I agree it would be good to be able to save settings per clip without using automation or creating .fxp files but there are workarounds.......


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Save VST data with the clips
PostPosted: Mon Dec 24, 2018 9:58 am 

Joined: Fri Oct 28, 2016 6:11 pm
Posts: 120
Location: Outside the Universe
timday wrote:
If the VST supports program change messages (most instruments do in my experience) you can do this via the pgm change boxes at the bottom left of the clip. You would have to save custom sounds as a VST preset (not an Ableton preset).

It also turns out that if you automate a parameter in one clip but not another it will return to the initial setting rather than stay on the automated value when you go toa non-automated clip. Someone posted complaining about this but to me it's a highly useful feature and gives some aspects of what you want (i.e. you cna automate one clip in a set without having to put automation in all the others returning them to a default value, and you can use this to change the sound in a clip)

So...you could use this feature to e.g. have multiple instances of the VST in a rack with differnet sounds (or even complete chains) and use the clips to switch between them by automating the chain selector. Less useful if the VST is a CPU hog like Omnisphere I suppose.

I agree it would be good to be able to save settings per clip without using automation or creating .fxp files but there are workarounds.......



Timday, your a god bro! Thanks for your pgm change info! x


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Save VST data with the clips
PostPosted: Mon Dec 24, 2018 10:27 am 

Joined: Fri Oct 28, 2016 6:11 pm
Posts: 120
Location: Outside the Universe
Thanks again Timday!


Ill post something soon, your be amassed!


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC

 
 

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group