Let us edit clip volume straight on the timeline

Share your wishes for the future of Ableton Live
Post Reply
Puddi
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2018 10:08 pm

Let us edit clip volume straight on the timeline

Post by Puddi » Fri Jun 14, 2019 9:30 pm

Jumping between Reaper and Ableton it's painful how slow it is to edit clip volume in Ableton. In Reaper I drag a handle straight on the audio clip in the timeline whereas in Ableton you have to double-click the clip, move the mouse to the bottom left and drag the fader. It's just clunky and slow.

I did a quick test comparing the two where I lowered the volume on each clip and then reset it back to zero:

Image

Image

I'd love to see this get improved in the future.

Cheers!

pottering
Posts: 640
Joined: Sat Dec 06, 2014 4:41 am

Re: Let us edit clip volume straight on the timeline

Post by pottering » Fri Jun 14, 2019 9:39 pm

Not exactly the same, but if you have a MIDI controller with knobs and you MIDI Assign a Clip's Clip Gain slider, it actually works for any selected Clip afterwards.

ToneShop
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Jul 07, 2016 3:18 pm

Re: Let us edit clip volume straight on the timeline

Post by ToneShop » Mon Jun 17, 2019 3:13 pm

+1

Post Reply