Show device slots

Share your wishes for the future of Ableton Live
Post Reply
nikuser
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Dec 14, 2019 4:31 am

Show device slots

Post by nikuser » Tue Dec 17, 2019 2:51 pm

When you add a plugin to a track in session view, there are no plugin names in ShowDeviceSlots. You have to resize the track to see the plugin names.
I know that ShowDeviceSlots is an experimental feature. But this little feature opens up new possibilities and can be easily implemented. I don't know why Ableton would bury such an amazing feature. With this feature session view could be easily used as mixing tool. At the moment session view is practically useless, unless you do live perfomance. And also it would be nice to open third party plugins from ShowDeviceSlots by double clicking them or with wrench icon. And also ability to unfold Audio effect rack plugin to view devices that it contains.

Image
Bugged device slots

Image
how this could be implemented

cybercharles
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Jul 25, 2009 10:14 am
Location: lyon (Fr)
Contact:

Re: Show device slots

Post by cybercharles » Mon Apr 20, 2020 9:30 am

+1 +1 +1 +1 +1 !!!!!
a simple wrench buton in the slots whith third party plugin....
this would be amazing !!!!
Please, implement it ! Our lifes will be better :)
ifa :: in fluxu audio

www.i-f-a.net

Follow me on SoundCloud

S4racen
Posts: 5453
Joined: Fri Aug 24, 2007 4:08 pm
Location: Dunstable
Contact:

Re: Show device slots

Post by S4racen » Mon Apr 20, 2020 12:31 pm

It's an unsupported feature that's been available for years, I think the chance of any improvements to it are zero to none...

Cheers
D

Tarekith
Posts: 17641
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2005 11:46 pm
Location: Ableton Forum Administrator
Contact:

Re: Show device slots

Post by Tarekith » Mon Apr 20, 2020 2:45 pm

None, Ableton has already said this will not be improved going forward. My guess is that it gets removed entirely soon, there's too many conflicts with other ways plug ins get used like racks and stacked chains.

jonljacobi
Posts: 548
Joined: Sat Dec 30, 2017 3:36 am

Re: Show device slots

Post by jonljacobi » Mon Apr 20, 2020 5:15 pm

Tarekith wrote:
Mon Apr 20, 2020 2:45 pm
None, Ableton has already said this will not be improved going forward. My guess is that it gets removed entirely soon, there's too many conflicts with other ways plug ins get used like racks and stacked chains.
Legit interest here, not trying to be cute. Where did they say that? I'd really like to hear about the philosophy and decision chain behind some of this stuff.

And what are the conflicts? It basically seems to be just a list that could be used as an overview and to quickly get to the effect you want. It does seem sometimes that they got halfway to being a bit studio friendlier and changed their minds. Not that I've used it recently. They could easily relegate these options to a "Studio features" pane in preferences where it wouldn't impact live performers at all.

Tarekith
Posts: 17641
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2005 11:46 pm
Location: Ableton Forum Administrator
Contact:

Re: Show device slots

Post by Tarekith » Mon Apr 20, 2020 6:28 pm

It was either in these forums or the beta ones, I’m not going to spend the time looking it up. It was a test idea from way back around Live 4, it didn’t do what we wanted so it was never taken further. As always people are free to use the options text things they discover, but we reserve the right to remove them at any time. Many are just ways for us to trial new ideas among certain users.

jonljacobi
Posts: 548
Joined: Sat Dec 30, 2017 3:36 am

Re: Show device slots

Post by jonljacobi » Mon Apr 20, 2020 11:25 pm

Thanks.

Post Reply