Change the quality of all reverbs at once

Share your wishes for the future of Ableton Live
Post Reply
5dn
Posts: 57
Joined: Tue Aug 28, 2018 11:04 am

Change the quality of all reverbs at once

Post by 5dn » Sun Dec 22, 2019 5:26 pm

Dear Ableton,

My suggestion is some functionality to save alot of clicking around if you have many reverbs at once and want to save CPU power but being able to change all reverbs' quality with one control.

Admittedly I haven't read the manual or scanned forums so what I'm hoping right now is someone says: "Hey you CAN do that, this is how..." LOL

But props btw for making such an amazing program. It's been my DAW of choice and DJ program for over 10 years now and its the bollox (UK SLANG: means amazing).

Thanks

5D

jonljacobi
Posts: 548
Joined: Sat Dec 30, 2017 3:36 am

Re: Change the quality of all reverbs at once

Post by jonljacobi » Mon Dec 23, 2019 3:00 am

Put the reverb on a return channel, then you can adjust it throughout, and save a lot of CPU to boot.

5dn
Posts: 57
Joined: Tue Aug 28, 2018 11:04 am

Re: Change the quality of all reverbs at once

Post by 5dn » Mon Dec 23, 2019 7:12 am

gotcha. just sometimes you have multiple different reverbs for different FX.

jonljacobi
Posts: 548
Joined: Sat Dec 30, 2017 3:36 am

Re: Change the quality of all reverbs at once

Post by jonljacobi » Mon Dec 23, 2019 6:50 pm

Well, my next answer would be too obvious. Maybe there's something in Max4Live that allows mapping one key to multiple controls.

jestermgee
Posts: 3914
Joined: Mon Apr 26, 2010 6:38 am
Contact:

Re: Change the quality of all reverbs at once

Post by jestermgee » Wed Dec 25, 2019 11:40 pm

5dn wrote:
Mon Dec 23, 2019 7:12 am
gotcha. just sometimes you have multiple different reverbs for different FX.
Not normally a good idea in a track. Maybe a couple of different effects but anymore than that I feel you are doing things a bit wrong and as mentioned, reverbs should be on a return and sent to not on each track so as to keep the feeling of space uniform and free from mudiness

scheffkoch
Posts: 522
Joined: Thu Jan 08, 2015 12:37 pm

Re: Change the quality of all reverbs at once

Post by scheffkoch » Thu Dec 26, 2019 9:32 am

…but if the general reverb settings are the same it shouldn‘t matter if the reverb is on a buss or on single tracks…
macbook pro late 2018, osx 10.14.6, rme multiface via sonnet thunderbolt expresscard adapter + thunderbolt to usb-c adapter, ableton live 10.1.7, push 2, komplete 9, maschine 2.9.2, touchable

jonljacobi
Posts: 548
Joined: Sat Dec 30, 2017 3:36 am

Re: Change the quality of all reverbs at once

Post by jonljacobi » Thu Dec 26, 2019 4:30 pm

Yes, you can use different reverbs on different tracks. If you can get this to sound good, more power to you. The reason to use one on a return bus is to make a more harmonious sound while being able to vary the amount applied on a per track basis. Not to mention saving CPU cycles.

This is kind of mixing 101. Sound design? Have at it.

Post Reply