Why is there STILL no strip silence in Ableton 11???

Share what you’d like to see added to Ableton Live.
Nyyx

Why is there STILL no strip silence in Ableton 11???

Post by Nyyx » Mon Apr 12, 2021 12:57 pm

It its absolutely mind boggling to me that Ableton 11 shipped with no strip silence feature. And after a quick search, it appears from a post on twitter that Ableton added strip silence to their user wishlist FOUR YEARS AGO. Like, what???? Personally, I think you could take half of what came with Ableton 11 and throw it in the fucking trash can. Where are the quality of life upgrades??? Where is the stuff people have been literally begging for for years now? I would instantly upgrade to 11 just for this one feature. I don't know, I just don't get it.

slow.robot

Re: Why is there STILL no strip silence in Ableton 11???

Post by slow.robot » Mon Apr 12, 2021 3:32 pm

I’m new to Ableton, but comp editing, and linked editing seem like pretty huge quality of life improvements to me—but I digress... I’ve been recording and producing music for almost 25 years now, and I’ve never used a strip silence feature, and more importantly haven’t ever needed it. what’s the use case for that being a quality of life feature? I’m not suggesting it’s not useful—just genuinely curious as to why it is.

Tarekith

Post by Tarekith » Mon Apr 12, 2021 5:54 pm

I like it when doing mixdowns for clients, it cleans up all the dead space allowing me to get a better idea of someone else's arrangement. It might also help if you have a LOT of tracks and you're getting drop outs from your disk access being too slow.
Tarekith
Ableton Forum Administrator
https://tarekith.com

slow.robot

Post by slow.robot » Mon Apr 12, 2021 6:37 pm

Tarekith wrote:
Mon Apr 12, 2021 5:54 pm