Instant rendering of MIDI clips...

Share your wishes for the future of Ableton Live
Urbem
Posts: 20
Joined: Sat Mar 12, 2005 7:46 pm
Location: Quebec

Instant rendering of MIDI clips...

Post by Urbem » Mon Oct 17, 2005 4:33 pm

Instant rendering of MIDI clips when dragged to an Audio slot!
AthlonXP 2700+, WinXP SP2, Live 5.2.2, M-Audio Audiophile 2496, MalletKat Pro, Evolution MK-449c...

wilxon
Posts: 1256
Joined: Thu Oct 13, 2005 10:24 am
Location: North Wales
Contact:

Post by wilxon » Mon Oct 17, 2005 4:59 pm

how would this work?

by using operator or somthing internal to LIVE?

poshook
Posts: 467
Joined: Fri Dec 03, 2004 4:31 pm
Location: Slovakia
Contact:

Re: Instant rendering of MIDI clips...

Post by poshook » Tue Oct 18, 2005 2:04 pm

Urbem wrote:Instant rendering of MIDI clips when dragged to an Audio slot!
great idea, it is very similar to "Render in place" function mentioned here in the past :)

http://www.ableton.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=27751

eyeknow
Posts: 5822
Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2005 6:16 am

Post by eyeknow » Fri Oct 21, 2005 5:21 am

I think this is paramount.

If not the very excellent suggestion of drag into audio/render auto.....A little right click to do "render as audio".............killer.........! :D

poshook
Posts: 467
Joined: Fri Dec 03, 2004 4:31 pm
Location: Slovakia
Contact:

Post by poshook » Fri Oct 21, 2005 10:32 am

eyeknow wrote:I think this is paramount.

If not the very excellent suggestion of drag into audio/render auto.....A little right click to do "render as audio".............killer.........! :D
I prefere Urbem's design

eyeknow
Posts: 5822
Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2005 6:16 am

Post by eyeknow » Tue Oct 25, 2005 9:46 pm

yes, but something is better than nothing!

poshook
Posts: 467
Joined: Fri Dec 03, 2004 4:31 pm
Location: Slovakia
Contact:

Post by poshook » Tue Oct 25, 2005 10:00 pm

eyeknow wrote:yes, but something is better than nothing!
of course :)

Nixon
Posts: 700
Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2005 12:48 pm
Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands
Contact:

Post by Nixon » Wed Oct 26, 2005 10:08 am

Yes! Super great! I render my midi clips a lot to audio, and it's such an irritating step...this is a very nice plan guys! 8)
macbook 2Ghz 2GB, uc33, bcf2000, triggerfinger, monomachine, live 5.2/6.0.1, ozone 3, pure data, ultralite,
http://www.myspace.com/moderndancing

JeffX
Posts: 74
Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2005 10:18 am
Location: France

Post by JeffX » Wed Oct 26, 2005 11:06 am

I say yes.. yes and YES!!!!

This would be a fantastic and very useful feature!!!

:D
Mac Pro Octocore 8x2,16GHz "Nehalem"
TC Electronic Studio Konnekt 48
Novation X-station 25
APC40
Live 8

Obineg
Posts: 317
Joined: Mon Jan 17, 2005 9:57 pm

Post by Obineg » Wed Nov 02, 2005 10:10 am

bump

alot more practical and usefull than the current freeze function . . .

JeffX
Posts: 74
Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2005 10:18 am
Location: France

Post by JeffX » Wed Nov 02, 2005 10:40 am

Yes! and i think it could be also a solution for all users who ask for "offline processing" here: http://www.ableton.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=24360

Please Ableton implement this function!! :D
Mac Pro Octocore 8x2,16GHz "Nehalem"
TC Electronic Studio Konnekt 48
Novation X-station 25
APC40
Live 8

kineticUk
Posts: 1531
Joined: Tue Jul 12, 2005 2:37 am

Post by kineticUk » Wed Nov 02, 2005 10:18 pm

Drag midi - drop audio
Class idea
MacBook MacOS Live 9.7.1 Max for Live Push Logic

eyeknow
Posts: 5822
Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2005 6:16 am

Post by eyeknow » Fri Nov 04, 2005 9:15 pm

Let's just make sure that someone from the inside is paying attention.............eh heeem.........

This would make a really nice xmas gift to us users!........

JeffX
Posts: 74
Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2005 10:18 am
Location: France

Post by JeffX » Sat Nov 05, 2005 8:28 am

This would make a really nice xmas gift to us users!........

Yes! A little Live 5.1 version..... :D
Mac Pro Octocore 8x2,16GHz "Nehalem"
TC Electronic Studio Konnekt 48
Novation X-station 25
APC40
Live 8

yannxou
Posts: 148
Joined: Fri Feb 27, 2004 8:39 pm
Location: Barcelona

Post by yannxou » Sat Nov 05, 2005 10:31 am

This could be extended and have other options that could be used also when dragging audio clips.

When draggin a clip with the right button to an audio track, there could appear a context menu with the following options (just like in windows when you copy a file):

A) if the dragged clip is an audio clip:
- Copy clip here
- Move clip here
- Render clip here (post-effects)

B) if the dragged clip is a midi clip:
- Render clip here (pre-effects) - instrument only
- Render clip here (post-effects) - instrument + fx

This would really rock!

Post Reply