Strip silence would be handy

Share your wishes for the future of Ableton Live
aviavi
Posts: 203
Joined: Fri May 09, 2003 2:21 am
Location: New York
Contact:

Strip silence would be handy

Post by aviavi » Sun Jan 29, 2006 7:40 pm

It would be great if Live could strip away "silence" from a clip, and leave a bunch of new short hit clips. Then one could easily drag the hit clips into an Impulse device. Currently, you have to do this manually, but this is a common and useful feature in other DAWs.

Avi

noahbird
Posts: 32
Joined: Mon Jan 29, 2007 8:25 am
Location: San Francisco
Contact:

Re: Strip silence would be handy

Post by noahbird » Sat Aug 08, 2009 6:35 pm

+1 on strip silences. It's such a useful shortcut for trimming noise out and for quickly making shorter, usable clips from a performance. Just look at ProTool's version for inspiration.

h4nc0
Posts: 141
Joined: Fri Dec 05, 2008 10:58 pm

Re: Strip silence would be handy

Post by h4nc0 » Wed Sep 30, 2009 11:50 am

+1 This would save me a lot of time.

Richard Ellis
Posts: 62
Joined: Sat Apr 11, 2009 11:27 am

Re: Strip silence would be handy

Post by Richard Ellis » Fri Nov 13, 2009 11:31 am

Another plus one here.

i was just given a track to mix down from another DAW and it's proving very difficult to navigate as I can't tell what starts and when given the number of track on the screen and the extended silences.
Richard

Macbook Core 2 Duo 2Ghz
2Gb RAM
OSX 10.6.2
Ableton Live Suite 8
Reason 4
Logic 9

Genelec 8020s
Technics 1210's
Ecler Nuo 4
NI A8DJ
VCI-100

789lwnm2
Posts: 45
Joined: Wed Aug 26, 2009 10:37 am

Re: Strip silence would be handy

Post by 789lwnm2 » Fri Nov 13, 2009 12:25 pm

+1

posssu
Posts: 1117
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2006 12:58 am

Re: Strip silence would be handy

Post by posssu » Fri Nov 13, 2009 6:47 pm

+1 and possibility to adjust the automatic fade-in/out for each new small clip at once when applying the function.
Juhana Lehtiniemi - Film composer with Ableton Live

garyboozy
Posts: 2588
Joined: Mon Jul 16, 2007 12:27 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Strip silence would be handy

Post by garyboozy » Fri Apr 23, 2010 11:32 am

+1

been working with another artist who doesnt use Live, so importing 20+ tracks into arrange and then cutting all the silent bits out in each track becomes a real pain in the arse.

also really handy: when drag-dropping a file/clip/part into arrange, a "re-name tracks after clip names? Y/N" pop-up appears, so track titles can be renamed according to whatever is dropped in place.

wehkah
Posts: 496
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2008 4:19 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Strip silence would be handy

Post by wehkah » Sat Apr 24, 2010 6:58 pm

+1

"strip to audio" ! :)
Motto: sharing knowledge...

https://soundcloud.com/bytechop

8O
Posts: 5502
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2008 9:29 am
Location: Berlin

Re: Strip silence would be handy

Post by 8O » Sat Apr 24, 2010 6:59 pm

+1 would be occasionally very handy
Image

DivineCo
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Dec 22, 2006 10:16 am

Re: Strip silence would be handy

Post by DivineCo » Tue Jun 22, 2010 1:55 pm

Totaly agree

DivineCo
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Dec 22, 2006 10:16 am

Re: Strip silence would be handy

Post by DivineCo » Tue Jun 22, 2010 3:31 pm

I have been reading feature requests and I become a little bit worried. Everyone knows that featuritis can wreck a product completely. I see so much really redundant request and I am afraid that trying to include all rubish might really lessen the impact of a truly great product. Ableton Live i.e.
A strip silence feature like the one in Logic is however a godsend time saver and one of the reall top tens as far as I am conserned.

garyboozy
Posts: 2588
Joined: Mon Jul 16, 2007 12:27 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Strip silence would be handy

Post by garyboozy » Mon Aug 16, 2010 12:49 pm

bump

PHY6
Posts: 286
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2009 2:42 pm

Re: Strip silence would be handy

Post by PHY6 » Fri Sep 20, 2013 11:37 pm

+1000000

watermelon
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2014 3:48 am

Re: Strip silence would be handy

Post by watermelon » Thu Jul 31, 2014 3:14 pm

Sorry to bump this old thread. But, my goodness, Strip Silence is a feature that almost every user could use in Live.

Tarekith
Posts: 17364
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2005 11:46 pm
Location: Ableton Forum Administrator
Contact:

Re: Strip silence would be handy

Post by Tarekith » Thu Jul 31, 2014 8:38 pm

Agreed, I would use that a LOT if Live had it.

Post Reply